We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel would stay here every time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
La Prima Fashion Hotel
Ranked #52 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Thanks to trip advisor we have just returned from a week at the hotel, we loved the location 30 mtrs from Vaci Ucta, lean out of the window and the Danube can be seen 200 mtrs away, hotel is a 8 min stroll to Chain Bridge,and 2 min to Elizabeth Bridge.
This is a new hotel so everything is in very good condition, the room (203) was more than large enough massive king bed with mattress (slightly on the hard side) plenty of pillows, desk & chair, easy chair, free room safe, reception staff really helpful.
Bathroom excellent massive bath, plenty of hot water towels changed every day, only downside for us no bidet, and a warning if you are not to flexible the bath has a fixed glass shower screen on half the bath making turning the water on and off a bit difficult.
Breakfast room too small for 80 rooms breakfast more than adequate just get down before 9.30am or you will queue for a table.
Free internet 2 computers, TV in room only news channels in english.
Tip: We had never been to Budapest before and booked the Red bus tour for 4000 Huf to get our bearings, 2 bus tours 21 hop on hop off stops and 1 boat 3 stops 48 hour ticket usage we used it like a taxi to take us where we wanted to go, both bus stops and boat landing are 3 mins walk from La Prima.
If you want a large hotel with great bar and in house entertainment book another hotel, if you want great location, great room and value for money book La Prima Fashion and enjoy Budapest as we did.

Room Tip: Room 203 front of the building largest windows very well double glazed, right above a restaurant so...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TrevorWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,497)
There are newer reviews for La Prima Fashion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

798 - 804 of 1,497 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2011

On the whole the hotel is very good, and certainly has the basics covered for a clean and comfortable stay. The hotel is an excellent location - short walks to the Ferenciek Tere metro and also the main interchange metro Deak Ter. It is located just off the main shopping street Vaci Ucta and also off the riverfront, right by the Elizabeth bridge which will take you across to the Gellert Monument and Rudas Baths. It is a pleasant walk around the riverfront to Parliament and to the Chain Bridge which takes you to Castle Hill via the funicular also Vaci Ucta, Vorosmarty Square and Fashion Street to St Stephens Basilica. I would highly recommend a walk along the river front on the Pest side to overlook the Royal Palace, and a meal in one of the terraces along here (Intercontinental and Marriott restaurants are highly recommended).

Reception provided a professional arrival service, and our room was available when we arrived at 2pm. The hotel lobby is pleasant and colour co-ordinated, and has a small bar area. WiFi is available in all guest rooms and lobby, but not the breakfast room in the basement. The room was well appointed with minibar/fridge, complimentary safe (which was temperamental and resulted in the hotel engineer being called) and well appointed bathroom, however the room was somewhat on the small side. There was also only a shower and no bath. English channels on the television is also limited to CNN and BBC World, again not reflecting the 4* rating in my opinion, compared to other 4* properties I have stayed in.

Despite reviews on here otherwise, breakfast is what I would say really lets this hotel down, and hence the 3* review, juices were not freshly squeezed and resembled fruit squash from a machine. Hot choice was extremely limited, and was mostly Hungarian, I like to see local specialities available, but for an international hotel, in the 4* calibre (as per corporates) one now expects a choice of international dishes. The continental selection was better with croissants, pain au chocolat and bread rolls, cereals, yoghurts and fruit along with hams and cheeses. However some pastries would also be a welcome addition. Coffee is of good quality from the machine.

In room cleaning was on the whole very good, however a few marks remained throughout the stay on the mirror and check out service was professional, with them holding luggage in their secure store and also calling a taxi.

This hotel on the whole is very good, clean and comfortable and attentive and friendly staff, but a few tweaks are needed (i.e. breakfast and TV channels) to deliver the 4* experience the international traveller has come to expect when staying in the corporate chains.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeckenhamTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights with a friend in a twin room, on a bed and breakfast rate booked through Expedia for excellent value with Malev flights included.

Check-in was borderline OK - the staff seemed friendly enough and there were no language issues, but the desk felt a little disorganised and the receptionist insisted on answering the phone before serving us. The staff do not have a standard uniform, and could be seen smoking outside the hotel - a big no-no for any establishment.

The room was very small, as was the bathroom, and the view was of a brick wall, but was clean and fairly comfortable, and nicely decorated (as was the rest of the hotel). The hotel is in near immaculate condition as it has recently opened, and although the turquoise and brown decor may not be to everyone's taste, it is certainly quite unique, or 'boutique'.

There was a problem with the safe in our room which was quickly rectified, but I was disappointed that complimentary mineral water was not provided and that one had to pay for tea and coffee, although there were facilities in the room. The bathroom was nicely equipped, although the shower cubicle tiny and water pressure somewhat lacking for the shower. The beds weren't particularly comfortable, although the pillows were quite adequate.

The breakfast left a little to be desired, served in a windowless room, and with no fresh juices (they came from a horrid machine). The couple of hot options didn't look at all appetizing, but the pastries were fresh, and the tables nicely laid.

In summary, the hotel is trying hard to be 4 star, but is really 3.5 star standard. There is no room service and the room size severely lets the hotel down. But overall, one can't complain for the excellent location, free wifi, value for money and seeming willingness of the staff to please.

Room Tip: Book via Expedia for the best price.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Genius12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

The hotel had only been open for a few weeks when I spent my 4 nights Easter break here in April.

Highlights
- Location: In a side street just off Váci utca – I walked everywhere I wanted in this lovely city. Public transport also easily available.
- Chic decorations and designs: The same theme throughout the hotel.
- Breakfast selection.
- Very quiet at night: My room was facing the backyard and I had no problems with noise even with the window open (I’m a light sleeper and always use my ear plugs).
- Free high speed wifi in the room.
- 2 computers for free use in the reception area.
- Cleanliness.

Lowlights:
- Hard beds.
- Upon check out not possible to pay using the local currency when paying with credit card even if I specifically said I wanted to. I was charged in Euros.
- The breakfast room is too small it does not have the capacity it should have compared to the number of rooms in the hotel.
- No wifi in the breakfast room.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pippi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Friendly welcome on check in, comfortable rooms, perfect location for business and tourists along with varied breakfast offering. The hotel is a few paces off the main shopping street and five minutes stroll in the opposite direction and you're on the banks of the Danube and on a very hot June afternoon the air-con in the room was very much appreciated. My two requirements of a comfy bed and a shower that wakes me up in the morning were well catered for and I will certainly be staying here next time I'm in Budapest and have recommended to my colleagues.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 66Hawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

No laundry facilities, no ice or ice machine available to rooms, tiny rooms.Good Breakfast.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank pat0046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

On the one hand, the hotel is nicely decorated, has an excellent location in the centre of the city, free wireless and tasty strawberry jam in the breakfast buffet.
On the other hand, the shower did not drain, the shower cap package was stained and the receptionist made me feel uncomfortable, as if I had been late for our check-in appointment.
Certainly not a bad hotel, actually rather good, but I still most likely will look for something else next time I visit Budapest.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _xKeu_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
District V / Inner City
Promenade City Hotel
Promenade City Hotel
#75 of 333 in Budapest
868 reviews
District V / Inner City
Estilo Fashion Hotel
Estilo Fashion Hotel
#48 of 333 in Budapest
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 333 in Budapest
2,448 reviews
District V / Inner City
Millennium Court, Budapest - Marriott Executive Apartments
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Prima Fashion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Prima Fashion Hotel

Address: Piarista utca 6. | (previous street name: Pesti Barnabas utca 6.), Budapest 1052, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: $105 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Prima Fashion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylishly appointed trendy hotel, La Prima Fashion Hotel Budapest offers modern 4-star hotel facilities from 1st March 2011 in the heart of Budapest, as a member of the Fashion Hotels brand, dedicated to Mellow Mood Hotels.La Prima Fashion Hotel Budapest offers 80 fashionably decorated rooms, incorporating the latest trends in hotel facilities, high-tech conference installations and a cool breakfast restaurant ensuring a relaxing and comfortable stay whether travelling for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Prima Fashion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing