We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful attention” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Borkonyha WineKitchen

Borkonyha WineKitchen
Ranked #38 of 3,044 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $60
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful attention”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Perfect, from start to finish. Our 13 year old son is a very picky eater, and I was somewhat worried that we wouldnt find anything to please him. The very knowledgeable and attentive waiter couldnt have been nicer, and we ended up with a simple steak and roasted potatoes for the boy. We had two of the specials (quail and beets/dumplings, and pork with risotto), which were so very good, especially with the recommended wines. We are generally light eaters, and this was more than enough to satisfy us. It was not cheap (my son's steak was a surprisingly expensive 7500 fts, almost twice the price of the specials), but so enjoyable and delicious that we were well satisfied. Would highly recommend this elegantly designed but casual restaurant.

Helpful?
1 Thank BigPnk01
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,310
    362
    98
    45
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
299 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Gourmet magic and max comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is the best restaurant in Budapest.
And one of the best in the world.
Why: Because they compose; an international kitchen minituously translated into Hungarian, the dishes are pieces of heaven, accompanied by an impressive winelist (featuring amongst others, the best red wine in Hungary - Takler Reserve, Szekszardi Bikavér, 2007).
The place is relaxingly stylish with a casual atmosphere - matching the waiters that are knowledgeable, helpful, highly attentive all the time without one noticing, giving one the feeling of ease and total comfort - this place is world class in it's succeeding to unite true gourmet with total comfort and lightness. The Michelin guide should invent a scale to describe this rare phenomenon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JeJeWe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
133 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“fine dining with a twist combined with top wines to match”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Borkonyha was even better than expected. Top notch food, with some twists that make it a great testing experience. Food choices listed on one page of menu, wines opposite. All available by the glass. Just trust the waiter's choice and you will enjoy fine Hungarian wines that perfectly match each course. Staff are professional whilst relaxed and with a good sense of humour. The coffee is good too!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank NoosaDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“High quality dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We booked a table out on the terrace and ate fabulous, beautifully presented food and drank some great Hungarian wine. Whilst it might be a bit more expensive than some other restaurants in Bucharest, it was also much better than many restaurants that would charge the same amount and a similar meal would have cost at least twice as much in London. Worth knowing that the wine measures are very small and the waiters up-sell, so you can end up spending quite a bit on drinks.
My mother and I went there as our special dinner in Budapest, had three courses each and a couple of small glasses of wine each and spent £70 (about $100). Well worth it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank AliceClaireLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Borkonyha wine restaurant in Budapest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We decided to book a table at the Borkonyha having seen so many good reviews on trip advisor , it turned out to be a very good choice.

It is a really good restaurant which concentrates on local dishes with a modern twist. The menu at first seems a bit "off the wall as it's so different to our normal choices" but stick with it as the food was stunning.

The menu is in Hungarian but was well translated by the waiters who spoke excellent English. The bill was no more expensive than you would expect to pay at home.

We sat inside as the outside was full , but we had a good table and the service was excellent.

This is a more upmarket restaurant than most in Budapest but go and try it - you will have a terrific evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank colin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borkonyha WineKitchen also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Borkonyha WineKitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing