We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but not so great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fraser Residence Budapest
Ranked #18 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We arrived in Budapest for the 2nd part of our trip after staying in a city hotel for 3 days before going to the country .
We booked these appartments 6 mths in advance , 2 couples 2 rooms
on arrival we were informed that due to the high volume of people we could not get one of the rooms booked and would have to move the next day if the room given was not ok, do not get a room on the 1 st floor facing over garage area this is a service floor and is very noisey from the outside and also inside
Next day given room on 7th floor facing over rear of property, great room good space problem was that after giving them th whole day to get room ready they still had to remove a bed from living area ? in the end we remved bed to hallway and help a lady to remove it via the lift later ?
all the rest of stay was good in all ways breakfast was great , central to shopping complex rnd cnr easy walking distance to public transport Front desk very helpful when partner had purse stolen / lost in shopping area last night , even though this happened always felt safe as we walked around the the whole of the city even at night, Back to appartments parking as we had a vehicle with us was safe but cost around 15 aud a night .

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your positive as well as constructive review on Tripadvisor. It's very important for us not just to keep our standards but to always be on the lookout to improve them!
I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay as well as our services at the Fraser Residence.
I’m especially proud that you recognized the reception team’s efficiency to assist.
Please accept my sincerest apologies for the mishap related to the delivery timing of the extra bed. Regarding the room allocation; it is correct that 2 (out of 50) of our apartments are not the best located ones in terms of view; but I’m happy at the end that we could move you to another one which corresponded to your expectations. We of course always first try to allocate the better situated rooms; but as you noted yourself we were running at 100% on those dates.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Fraser Residence Budapest in the future.

Sincerely,

Alain Goetschel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

738 - 744 of 1,219 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2012

The apartment we had was very well and modern equipped and decorated. We were with three
and got an apartment with a separate bedroom. There are television, fully equipped kitchen,
bath, shower, airco et cetera. About 200 mtrs from the Apart hotel (on your way to the subway)
there is an enormous shopping center where you can get everything you would like to drink or
eat. Breakfast is correct (not luxurious but enough and well organised)
One tip-off : we had a room on the first floor on the street side. Nothing wrong with that but it are the only ones without a balcony, so ask for the back side and all above the first floor.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fmoreijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRBudapestmanager, General Manager at Fraser Residence Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Dear “fmoreijn”,

I do very much appreciate your kind feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your stay with us at the Fraser Residence Budapest. I'm glad to see that you had a great experience and that you liked our well equipped apartment and our location.
The entire Fraser team would be happy to welcome you back anytime should your plans bring you to Budapest.

Kind regards,
Alain Goetschel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We'vd just stayed on residence for a few days. Really great apartment, love the modern simple style. Great bedrooms and toilets. The first couple of days, we didnt eat breakfest on the "hotel". But once we did, we were surprised. Well we could choose between some bread, some ham or cheese, yougurt, juice and a bit of fruit. Its a very cozy place, and you can eat out on the terrace. We had a balcony we didnt use. Because, first the sun didnt hit the balcony at all, the view was horribel, we could see down to the intrance street and look at a ruin. Even though, the mall was very close, so we could buy some food. One of the best supermarkets we'ved seen in budapest. Very clean and a various of products. Down side: the place isnt a attractive place, no one and locals cant speak english, only the staff on the hotel. When we ask to get somewhere, people were answering back on hungarian!!! And be careful with the taxies, you can get ripped, please ask them about price first. About food, we couldnt find a restaurant near by, but weve tried a really good pizza place, we order from 4 time. Its a family place, right on the corner besides a bar/pub. And we also order home delivery from leroy express so fast and good indian/wok food and the staff was so kind to help us to call them and order. I forgot to say, the cleaness was okay, there was dust in the corners but in general ok. The cleaning service, they maked you bed and we got new toilet paper and the garbage was out so good. BUT on the second day, i saw ived missed some of my makeup, i looked everywhere to find my blush, and its not small so it cant just dissipear. No no no, im pretty sure that one of the staff took or Stolen my makeup which is pretty sad!!! Since my brother or boyfriend dont use makeup, ived checked everywhere!!! But its gone now. And after that, ived lost my respect and locked my things away when the cleaning ladies came.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRBudapestmanager, General Manager at Fraser Residence Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Dear Valued guest,

I would like to thank you for your time and effort to put your findings about Fraser Residence, Budapest on Tripadvisor. Our Front Office team will be especially pleased to be recognized for their efforts. We take great pride in looking after the needs of our guests and it is indeed a pleasure to be of service.
Regarding the missing blush;. Fortunately (since we opened) we weren’t confronted to any kind of theft related problems; do to our strict security policies & control procedures.
That being said I will definitely look into this issue and contact you directly for more details in order for us to conduct a detailed investigation and accordingly to eventually revise some of our already very strict control policies.

Hopefully we will get the opportunity to welcome you once again in the future so that you can experience once again the true Fraser Residence hospitality

Kind regards,
Alain Goetechel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We took a two bedroom apartment as we were a family of four. Our stay was indeed very pleasant and a memorable one indeed. The apartment was exceptionally clean and very well equipped. Maybe the bedrooms were slightly small but it really didn't bother us since it had a very cosy feeling. All the staffs were very warm, pleasant and helpful especially Mr. Nanai Balazs who took care of our reservations very well. Our special thanks to him and his staff. The hotel is located very close to a shopping mall and that made it very convenient for us to shop or visit some local food court. The location is a little quiet but it was not too bad as the metro station was not too far for us to travel around. We will definitely return to this hotel again as it had a very warm, cosy and a homely feeling. By the way, the wi-fi service was excellent!

Stayed: December 2011
4  Thank Premilamohanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRBudapestmanager, General Manager at Fraser Residence Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for your nice comments on your Fraser Residence, Budapest experience! I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the facilities and services lived up to your expectations. Our team and especially Balazs will be very pleased to be recognized for their efforts.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Alain Goetschel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We spent Thanksgiving in Budapest and having a two bedroom apartment for our family of five was great. The hotel is modern, very clean and the apartments have all the comforts of home. They put an extra bed in the living room for my daughter. The kitchen and washer/dryer are very convenient when traveling with kids. The bathroom had a tub/shower and a shower. Not a lot of storage space in the bedrooms but there were a couple closets in the hall. The breakfast was great with lots of variety and well stocked. The housekeeping manager was very friendly and accommodating. Because it was so cold we came back early and they cleaned the apartment while still accommodating us. We didnt feel uncomfortable with that arrangement. The towels are huge and very soft. The pillows were perfect and the beds very comfortable. It is located a bit away from the center but it is convenient to the metro and there is large shopping mall with restaurants and a supermarket nearby. The front desk staff is a bit distant but friendly. No concierge or rec facilities but we used the city baths instead. Only a couple English channels but my kids enjoyed cartoons in Hungarian. They let us take the towels to the bath. They arranged for airport pick up. If we are ever back in Budapest I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else. I will probably try other Fraser hotels because of this great experience.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pandabear6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRBudapestmanager, General Manager at Fraser Residence Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2012

Dear pandabear6,

I take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable comments and the high scores you have awarded us on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to notice that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Fraser Residence Budapest.
We are truly happy that we’ve met your expectations; everything from the size and equipments of the apartment, the quality of our beds, the quality/ variety of our breakfast.
I’m especially pleased that our housekeeping manager could make your stay with us even easier and more relaxed by accommodating the cleaning according to your plans.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back anytime should your plans bring you to Budapest again.
Kind regards,
Alain Goetschel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

This apartment exceeded our expectations! The size of our one bedroom apartment was large and decorated really well. It was equipped with everything we needed including a full kitchen and DVD player. The bed was very comfortable and the toiletries in the bathroom were great quality. The breakfast that we had included with the room was very nice.
I would definitely recommend staying here, the location may not be central, but its close to tram and metro lines.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TianaandFrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRBudapestmanager, General Manager at Fraser Residence Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

Dear Valued Guest "TianaandFrankie”

Thank you very much for sharing your really kind feedback and recommendations to other travelers regarding your stay with us at the Fraser Residence Budapest. I'm delighted to see that your apartment and our services exceeded your expectations.

We would be glad to welcome you back anytime should your plans bring you to Budapest again.

With kind regards,

Alain Goetschel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Highly recommendable! Friendly staff, clean and nice rooms. We had an apartment for two with two rooms for 50€/day. Around the hotel many new apartment blocks are built, not very nice but the near Corvinus shopping center brings compensation.

Room Tip: We had room 605, very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRBudapestmanager, General Manager at Fraser Residence Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2012

Dear Clearer,
Thank you very much for your valued time spent on placing your kind comments and recommendation on Tripadvisor.com regarding your stay at Fraser Residence & apartment hotel, Budapest. I’m glad to read that our 1 bed room (with living room) apartment, exceeded your expectations, could fully benefit of our special winter promotional rates and I’m especially delighted to see that our services were at your satisfaction.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back anytime should your plans bring you to Budapest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 336 in Budapest
4,946 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#42 of 336 in Budapest
4,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#15 of 336 in Budapest
2,511 reviews
K+K Hotel Opera
#43 of 336 in Budapest
3,334 reviews
Bo18 Hotel Superior
#21 of 336 in Budapest
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Residence Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Residence Budapest

Address: 31 Nagytemplom utca, Budapest 1082, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Budapest
#5 Business Hotel in Budapest
#13 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#17 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#29 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $75 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Residence Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fraser Residence Budapest is centrally located on the Pest-side of the city, just off the Corvin Promenade, close to many bars, restaurants and shops. For short or long-term stays "Enjoy the flexibility of luxury apartment living with the services, advantages of a 4* superior hotel," including state-of-the-art technology and friendly, multilingual staff at your service 24/7. Both business and leisure guests will appreciate following facilities and services: - Free high-speed wireless internet - 24/7 reception and concierge. - Breakfast lounge serving continental buffet breakfast - Daily housekeeping service - Fast maintenance service - Welcome tray with tea and coffee - Welcome hamper for stays of 30 nights or more - Secure underground car park (subject to availability)* - Airport transfer* - Laundry and dry-cleaning services* - Order-in restaurant facility - menus available at reception* - Access to nearby fitness centre with swimming pool, saunas, Jacuzzis and day care for children* - Business facilities and services - Two air-conditioned meeting rooms in the penthouse, seating 15- 20 guests theatre-style or in a U-shape • both meeting rooms have large windows for natural daylight and can be darkened completely for presentations • Flipcharts, projectors, screens and other meeting equipment available • Roof terrace or indoor space available for coffee breaks or parties • Catering by arrangement - Business centre * Applicable charges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fraser Residence Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Residence Budapest Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing