We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For all those looking for a friendly, laid back ambiance”
Review of HometoHome Hostel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
HometoHome Hostel
Ranked #287 of 682 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Reviewed July 26, 2012

My friend booked this hostel and let me tell you I was grateful. Our friendly host, Jeno went out of his way to help me on matters way beyond ordinary hostel stuff. His friendly, warming personality only added to our enjoyment. With out hesitation, I will recommend this clean, well-situated (walking distance to two metros), and friendly hostel to all looking for a quiet stay in Budapest! Keep up the good work man!

Room Tip: Ask if you can stay in the back room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Untamedwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Clean, great location and cheap. However no showers allowed before 8am and only 2 for the entire hostel. Got asked for euros when checked out to leave bags a few hrs (although had this waivered eventually)

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gtewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

HometoHome is a very good hostel. The owners are friendly and welcoming, the beds comfortable, the atmosphere laid back, everywhere is clean. It's in a good central location very near a metro station, so getting around Budapest is easy. There are only two toilets and two showers which could be a problem in high season, when we were there the hostel wasn't full so it wasn't an issue. The other minor gripe is that there are a few too many rules and too little flexibility in bending them - for example we still had to check out at 10am even though there were no new guests checking in that day. Overall I'd recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hkwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

The staff was so helpful and kind! The beds were comphy and clean and the showers were great. Good location- next to a metro stop and a short walk from everything. I recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alowen2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#29 of 336 in Budapest
3,571 reviews
Hotel Chesscom
#108 of 336 in Budapest
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fraser Residence Budapest
#22 of 336 in Budapest
1,241 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 336 in Budapest
5,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HometoHome Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HometoHome Hostel

Address: Kossuth Lajos street 4, Budapest, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #287 of 682 Specialty Lodging in Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing