We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expectations met and exceeded”
Review of Brody House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brody House
Ranked #2 of 182 Budapest B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Expectations met and exceeded”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Like other guests here, I booked my trip to Budapest on the strength of wanting to visit Brody House. Neither Brody nor Budapest disappointed. A beautiful place to stay that feels more like a home - the staff were all excellent, the rooms beautifully decorated and each with their own unique characteristics, and the rooms in the general area are worth a visit themselves. As much an art gallery as a place to stay. I've gone home with some lovely memories, and a lovely painting to top it off!

Room Tip: The rooms are all unique, so the best thing is to have a chat with them on the phone first and expla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJeffcoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krisztina I, Public Relations Manager at Brody House, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Many thanks for letting us know your thoughts - we certainly take it to heart.

We are extremely happy to receive your kind words and hope to be able to welcome you back soon. Meanwhile, the painting you took should be a nice reminder!

All the best,

Krisztina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    52
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
49
349
43
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We found this hotel via a tremendous offer from Mr & Mrs Smith, so good we booked a trip to Budapest as a result. It's boho, shabby chic, great public spaces, tremendous staff, great location and just, a great feeling to be there. If you wanted to, you could mark it down, no telephone or toiletries in the room, no lift to the public area but, what's two very gradual floors and I didn't expect toiletries or need a telephone as there is free, strong, wi-fi, wherever you go.
Our room, Wilkinson, is not for the faint hearted, if you are unsure of your footing, or suffer vertigo as a steep, irregular (read arty) staircase up to the mezzanine bedroom would challenge the elderly. Breakfast was great, nibbles and lunch, honesty bar, nothing is too much trouble. The Mr & Mrs Smith offer is still live, do yourself a favour!

Room Tip: Ideally, on the second floor, adjacent to reception/public rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmpars7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krisztina I, Public Relations Manager at Brody House, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback which we appreciate very much. We are always happy to welcome guests via Mr and Mrs Smith and we are delighted to note you liked our chabby chic vibe and feel, location and staff.

Thank you for highlighting your thoughts concerning toiletries, unfortunately we will have to investigate this issue, as we pride ourselves in providing Pascal Morabito (Paris) toiletries to all of our guests. Apologies if they have not been put in your room for your arrival.

We hope to welcome you here again soon, and encourage you to try some of our other larger rooms as well for a different experience as all our rooms vary in style and size

Best regards,

Krisztina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

One of the most unique hotels I have ever been to! The Design is awesome, there is art everywhere you look and the staff is very friendly and welcomes you warmly! A MUST when you are staying in Budapest. It is located only a few minutes from the inner center, between two subway stations - so really easy to get there!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aries_Vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krisztina I, Public Relations Manager at Brody House, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for your kind words - we are glad you liked our design, art and staff.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

All the best,

Krisztina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

As a design conscious traveller I found this delightful retreat on Mr & Mrs Smith... and we loved it.

I admit, we struggled to find the entrance as there's no signage outside, but we liked that. Understated. On entry (be warned there are lots of stairs!!) we were welcomed by a lovely lady who explained our room wasn't ready but we could leave our luggage and they'd call us. We got given some juice and croissants when we returned.

We had the Tepper room, it was large and cool. There wasn't much natural light as only a small window but we think this kept it cool. We often had the door open which overlooked the courtyard and offered a nice breeze. We didn't have any trouble with heat at night, and it was 24 degrees during our stay. The bathroom was MASSIVE.

Breakfast was a lovely experience, sitting in the front room that's beautiful decorated with vintage finds and mid century furniture. There was crayons on tables to doodle on the placemats too. I opted for fresh fruit, coffee and cereal but my partner was offered fresh eggs everyday by the lovely staff.

It was a really enjoyable, intimate stay. We love staying in independent places and the building has so much character. There was live music and food one evening and we were invited to join if we wanted to.

Budapest is a beautiful city and I would recommend this hotel to everybody.

I've wrote a blog post on the city here, so if you're visiting - there's some recommendations! http://www.breadcircus.co.uk/2012/06/budapest.html

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chartley87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krisztina I, Public Relations Manager at Brody House, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Many thanks for your effort of jotting your thoughts on us down, moreover thank you very much for including us in your blog!

We are delighted to note you found our Tepper room highly enjoyable and that you found the breakfast offer was fulfilling and a lovely experience.

We note that the stairs can be challenging so we are working on this issue, but it is a bit tricky at the moment given its a historical building. So in the meantime rely on our fit young team to help with cases wherever possible.

We are so happy that you found Budapest beautiful and hope to welcome you back for more fun this city can offer.

Best Regards,

Krisztina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Brody House is an old building in transition, with great prospects for the future. It's not there yet, making it difficult to review.
Entry is into a dark hallway with little, if any signage directing one to a front desk. Once you find the reception area the staff is most bright, cheerful, and helpful. They make every effort to make you welcome and will do all they can to make your stay enjoyable.
Breakfast is served buffer style with ample to choose from. Fresh croissants, jams and jellies, granola, fruit, coffee, tea, or a complete menu with items available at extra charge.
The public area is large, very bright and cheerful with lots of morning sunshine
I would give Brody House five stars for their staff, breakfast, and inviting public area.
Our visit was in June and found there was no air conditioning and our room , The Droga Room, had no windows you could leave open at night. There is a patio door opening onto an open hallway over a very drab courtyard, however other guests are using that same hallway to access their rooms. We were offered a fan for cooling but the nighttime temperature in our room had to have been over 100 degrees making it impossible to sleep. After two nights we decided to check out and find another hotel with air conditioning.
In the Spring and Fall Beody House is probably a delightful experience .
In the summer, without some kind of air conditioning it is definitely not delightful.
While we applaud the owners for efforts to re-purpose this lovely old building they and their guests would be better served to add lighting and signage to their entry hall, clean and brighten the dingy courtyard, and make each room 100% usable for guests before renting them.

I really wanted to give Brody House give stars all around but it is impossible to do so given our experience.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Purrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krisztina I, Public Relations Manager at Brody House, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We appreciate the kind comments regarding our staff and concierge services and are glad to hear you like the look and feel of our club areas.

You did indeed have bad luck with the weather - it was an extraordinary heatwave and was, indeed, the hottest period for over 100 years. We have air-conditioning in 6 of our 9 rooms - historically the Droga room was cool enough and our fans worked well but this weather was too much and have installed a new A/C unit.

We are always reviewing the look and feel of our offering in terms of artwork, furniture, room fittings etc. We have debated the pros and cons of our low-key 'speakeasy' style entrance - many guests enjoy this but your comments have been taken onboard and encourage us to revisit this feature.

We hope to welcome you back to Budapest.

Best wishes,

Krisztina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Contrary to a few reviews I have read about Brody House in Budapest, I have to say that is truly one of the most sensational boutique hotels that I have stayed in! :-)

We both arrived after a late night flight and were greeted with a warm and welcoming atmosphere, that oozed charm and style in every way shape and form! The decor (a mixture of art-deco, neo-classical and vintage!!!) gives the hotel a truly warming and welcoming feel! After being greeted with Champagne, and some food we retired to our room which was the 'Tepper Room'...

...Highly recommendable (see pics), spacious, comfortable and unique! The artwork inside along with the timeless bathroom made the stay even better! The breakfast room/lounge was full of interesting reads, boutique antiques and all sorts of art and craft to keep your eyes and hands occupied! The breakfast (fresh fruit, cured meats, breads, juices and other great breakfast items) was perfect and gave us a great start to the day! ...

...Peter (one of the founders) is a truly great guy! He took time to explain to us the history behind the building, their passion for the arts and music and also gave us recommendations about where to go and what to do! He is welcoming and I can certainly see that with him spearheading such a genuine and authentic business, there is no wonder why it is as successful as it is....A pleasure meeting him and the staff who were extremely friendly and attentive as well! I would without hesitation a) go there again, which I can wait to do, b) recommend it to anyone looking for something special in Budapest and c) recommend heading to the Budapest Jazz Club which is a minute around the corner for an evening of fine wine and soulful, deep jazz! A definite must! ...

All in all, as with every trip advisor review, comments are situational, people experience things differently and conceptualise places differently. For me however, this is one place NOT to be missed in Hungary...

Anand

Room Tip: Book early, and book for an extra day than you want to as you will 100% wish to stay longer! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AnandMavani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krisztina I, Public Relations Manager at Brody House, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Anand,

Many thanks for all your kind words - we are extremely delighted that you chose to stay with us and enjoyed the uniqueness of Brody House and its services. All your kind words are much appreciated and we feel honoured.

We are already looking forward to your return to Budapest and Brody House.

All the best,

Krisztina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Pros: Beautiful property with very comfortable, clean attractive rooms. Great location and a good breakfast.
Cons: Almost non-existent and uninterested service, no air-conditioning (we were told an A/C unit would be fitted in our room after our first night and we should vacate our room by late morning so someone could come in to install it- this never happened and no apology was made). I found it very difficult to carry a reasonably heavy suitcase (I was halfway through a business and leisure trip covering 3 countries) up an initial short staircase, through a courtyard and then up another staircase to the second floor with no assistance. Also, the bathroom light in the Droga room isn't great and it's difficult to get close enough to the bathroom mirrors to put in contact lenses, etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hburford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krisztina I, Public Relations Manager at Brody House, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Many thanks for your comments which we take to heart. We are truly sorry you did not have the experience that everyone else seems to have but glad to note you found the place beautiful.

We have a well-attended reception (8am-8pm) and staff available 6am-10pm to assist our guests on anything they might need from concierge to laundry services.

Concerning the staircase there are indeed two flights of stairs to take so it can prove challenging with heavy suitcases, hence we always offer assistance on arrival which has been turned down on this occasion.

We have understood the need for A/C units in this current heat wave, so we are now installing A/C units into all our rooms. We were sorry to note that the service company has let us down on the date of your stay, but unfortunately we were not able to pass this unfortunate update on as you have been out in the city during our operation hours.

We are always so anxious to ensure that people have the best possible experience in Budapest - let us offer you a complimentary night on your return and hopefully you will experience what our services can offer to you.

Best wishes,

Krisztina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,637 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#6 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#5 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brody House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brody House

Property: Brody House
Address: Brody Sandor utca 10, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Brody House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brody House is Budapest's first private members' club and private guesthouse, offering international travellers (members & non-members) an intriguing hip place to stay. With eight individually designed double bedrooms and an apartment, each showcasing the work of young contemporary artists, Brody House offers something unique. With fairly priced room furnished in a ruggedly elegant style, Brody House is a hip yet intimate base in central downtown Pest, offering guests discreet personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Brody House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brody House Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing