We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be better”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of For Sale Pub

For Sale Pub
Ranked #241 of 3,092 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Bar, European, Pub, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bromley, Kent.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Could be better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

I have to agree with other disgruntled reviewers – this place is a tourist trap. Beer and wine was expensive compared with elsewhere. The Great Market across the road probably means this place has an endless supply of thirsty and hungry customers. I really wanted to like this place as the venue is quite funky and the dark beer delicious, but sadly, the unwelcoming service and inflated prices turned me off. It could do so much better.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ADifferentStation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,089
    826
    277
    135
    213
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

After a few days in Budapest I can say this is one of the most joyful place i went to in Budapest.
We ate goulash soup which was nice.
The atmosphere is GREAT, even if the place is empty.
Very recommended!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gumpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

This pub was 5 mins from our hotel, close to the market. It was very busy and we got the last seats in the place. They had a live band, which were fantastic. The best thing about this pub is the decor - all walls & ceilings are covered in scraps of paper - receipts, bus tickets, ripped pages out of note books etc etc with people leaving their names and messages after their night in the pub.

Well worth a visit!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ericaabikaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“They don't accept credit card.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I did ask before i ate if i can pay with credit card or € and i was pleased at first. The meal was good (a medium steak was more well then medium) and at the end i paid with € but the waiter somehow made a mistake with change .... Twice!!
Try and pay with Hungarian currency and you'll be better off.
Today at "The heros square" a pretzel peddler also had a mistake with the chage, this time with their own currency, count you change carefufy in Hungary !!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iany-erez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pula, Croatia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

New type of pub, with tables full of peanuts. The food is great, and unusual menu. Wery good experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RDelcaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed For Sale Pub also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to For Sale Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing