We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Restaurants are worth trying”

Araz Restaurant Budapest
Ranked #195 of 3,459 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $55
Cuisines: French, Hungarian, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Always been a little nervous about hotel Restaurants as in the past their focus has been on getting people to stay in the hotel and serving breakfast than providing a first class Restaurant. However, with sore feet from walking the city we decided we were going to be boring and showing a degree of bravery we decided that staying in for meal would be our choice.
The bravery stemmed from the Receptionists response as to whether we would need to reserve a table, it came across as 'Don't be silly, no-one eats there on a Saturday night!' however this might have been lost in translation and could have meant that as a privileged hotel guest we would be offered a table even if it meant throwing other people out. It turned out to be quiet but there was at least 20-30 people at all times throughout the evening.
The food was good, meat cooked very well and the rare steak was very tasty. Presentation was also very good and the overall impression was that there was someone in the kitchen who knew what they were doing. The only small let down was the stale croutons on the Roman(Caesar) salad which were provided in abundance as though they had come out of a packet. Sweets were tolerable and overall it represented excellent value for money. Drink was discounted by 20% because we were hotel guests so that brought another smile to my face. The service was extremely polite and we were not kept waiting.
The other encouraging sign was that there were a number of people coming in from outside to eat so it must have a pretty good reputation locally.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TonyC008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkosKovacs, Manager at Araz Restaurant Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear TonyC008!

It was a honour to welcome you at Araz Restaurant. We would like to thank you for this review. We are very happy that you enjoyed our meals. We hope that you will visit us again so that you can try and taste more meals from our delicious dishes.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (730)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 265 of 730 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

The service was fantastic, the personal was very attentive, they even serve me soja milk and fresh ginger. I want to say thanks to Najut, Joszef, Enrico, Adam and Attila!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ramoni99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkosKovacs, Manager at Araz Restaurant Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Ramoni99,

Thank you for sharing your experiences. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our restaurant. It's always nice to read such beautiful comments about our service and food.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Lovely food. Good prices. Nice friendly staff. Try it you won't be disappointed. Plus a few steps away from our hotel. Boutique hotel.

Thank Maldivesdiver68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkosKovacs, Manager at Araz Restaurant Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Maldivesdiver68,

Thank you for your review and for the 5 scores. We are very happy that you enjoyed our meals.It's always a great pleasure to hear that our guests are grateful because of the service.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were staying in the hotel and ate here as we'd arrived late. I'm not normally a fan of hotel restaurants but enjoyed eating here. They had a barbeque night where you could have fish, meats and kebabs grilled to order with a self service buffet of soup, veg and salad.
All the staff were friendly and efficient.

Thank Kommensiecake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkosKovacs, Manager at Araz Restaurant Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Kommensiecake,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your nice comment. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our BBQ night in Araz Restaurant. Your kind words are much appreciated by all the staff. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

I ate here a few nights ago, the food was ok but the service was arrogant. Although we are not hungarian he insisted he knew us... And spoke to us in hungarian... Imagine our distress... Its our first trip here as well to this restaurant.
He kept speaking in hungarian so we decided to skip dessert and go to another restaurant to finish our meal. Arrogant and rude, certainly not recommending this place

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank flor24e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkosKovacs, Manager at Araz Restaurant Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear flor24e,

I was really mournful as I was reading your review. I am very sorry beacuse of the waiter's attitude. I do apologize for this inconvencience. I must think that all of your bad experiences had to be a one-time incidents and I hope you will give us a second chance to prove the high quality and care of our ARAZ Restaurant to you.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Araz Restaurant Budapest also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Araz Restaurant Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing