We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for celebrate”

Araz Restaurant Budapest
Ranked #166 of 3,421 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $55
Cuisines: French, Hungarian, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I was here with my sweetheart for dinner. We celebrated our anniversary, so we ordered from the winter chef offer menu, I thought it would be more special for the day...and I was 100 % right about it!!! It was fantastic! elegant and special just like this certain day for us!
We ate tomato cream soup and chestnut cream soup. They were perfectly fine! For the main curse Beef Tenderloin with pumpkin and wild boar raviolli. They savor was in a great harmony. For dessert both of us ordered chestnut cake. Heavenly!
The service was good and care, allways offered some good drink for the menu.
We could enjoy our special day in a special way. The feeling of the restaurant clear-out with gold, black,beige colors. And i couldn't helped, but my eyes allways wandered up to the ceiling for look the Tom Dixon's lightings.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Igor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkosKovacs, Manager at Araz Restaurant Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Igor S,

I am very grateful for your review. First of all let me congratulate you for your anniversary. Thank you for sharing this awesome experience with the TripAdvisor readers and with us. Besides our a la carte offer, we always provide newer and newer specialties such as in February we organize a wine duet dinner, Valentine Dinner with live music, Sunday Brunch with children’s corner and live music, Restaurant Week and so on.
I really appreciate that you recognized our Tom Dixon’s lightings.
I hope you will soon come back to us and enjoy any of our programs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

324 - 328 of 718 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

The courses were delicate with special taste due to the modern technology and wide choice of spices. What is more the prices were reasonable, the portions sufficient, i could recommend that place for anybody who is for culinary experience, friendly and elegant atmosphere, motivated staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank nelson s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkosKovacs, Manager at Araz Restaurant Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Nelson S,

I am very delighted that our efforts to share the perfect harmony with our guests have achieved its goal. Thank you very much for your lovely words and your recommendation.
Please be our guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Araz means a real hiding place in the jungle of the city among the old and a bit rush-down houses. when u sit in u forget about the hectic life outside. The service is excellent, u are treated at a very good level, your glass is never empty, if u feel like u are given a little table- talk by staff members. The menu suggests surprise, or on sundays the tradition, inevitably the quality is the main point. All the time i ate there i experienced the quality of the great choice of dishes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank gillie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkosKovacs, Manager at Araz Restaurant Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Gillie G,

I am very happy to read a comment of a frequent guest. It’s our aim to make you forget about your problems and ignore the outside world for a while so that you can relax and charge and last but not least enjoy the special tastes.
Feel free to hide in our Araz Restaurant whenever you wish.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Had lunch there. It's not the Onyx, but The food was very good. beside, you really can't complain when you pay 1390 HUF for 3 dishes and a lemonade. I also ordered coffe and wine. the wine list is huge, and has wide range of prices. the coffe was good, and come with small glass of water (not sparkling for some reason), and few candies.

The place has a great design, and suitable for romantic dinner ot business meeting as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Reuven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkosKovacs, Manager at Araz Restaurant Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Reuven A,

Thank you for your review and for the 5 scores. As I understood you chose our daily menu offer which is not supposed to compete with the a la carte menu of Michelin star restaurants, but it is supposed to provide an exceptionally good quality for an affordable price.
According to baristas the served water needs to be still and consumed in advance in order to improve the tastes of the coffee.
I hope you will try our a la carte menu as well and I am sure that you won’t be disappointed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We went to the restaurant on weekly menu time (launch). the food was delicious, the wine card is full with great Hungarian wines and the service was flawless. We had a great time and surely we'll go to eat their again, next time in Budapest.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Moshi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkosKovacs, Manager at Araz Restaurant Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Moshi8,

It’s a great pleasure to make you a frequent guest even though you don’t live nearby. Our daily menu is definitely very delicious, but you must try our a la carte offer as well and we always organize special events such as Wine Duet dinner, Valentine Dinner with live music, Sunday Brunch with children’s corner and live music, Restaurant Week and so on.
We are looking forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Araz Restaurant Budapest also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Araz Restaurant Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing