We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If You are looking to eat well in affordable prices”

Araz Restaurant Budapest
Ranked #131 of 3,299 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $55
Cuisines: French, Hungarian, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Had lunch there. It's not the Onyx, but The food was very good. beside, you really can't complain when you pay 1390 HUF for 3 dishes and a lemonade. I also ordered coffe and wine. the wine list is huge, and has wide range of prices. the coffe was good, and come with small glass of water (not sparkling for some reason), and few candies.

The place has a great design, and suitable for romantic dinner ot business meeting as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Reuven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkosKovacs, Manager at Araz Restaurant Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Reuven A,

Thank you for your review and for the 5 scores. As I understood you chose our daily menu offer which is not supposed to compete with the a la carte menu of Michelin star restaurants, but it is supposed to provide an exceptionally good quality for an affordable price.
According to baristas the served water needs to be still and consumed in advance in order to improve the tastes of the coffee.
I hope you will try our a la carte menu as well and I am sure that you won’t be disappointed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (694)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 321 of 694 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

We went to the restaurant on weekly menu time (launch). the food was delicious, the wine card is full with great Hungarian wines and the service was flawless. We had a great time and surely we'll go to eat their again, next time in Budapest.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Moshi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkosKovacs, Manager at Araz Restaurant Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Moshi8,

It’s a great pleasure to make you a frequent guest even though you don’t live nearby. Our daily menu is definitely very delicious, but you must try our a la carte offer as well and we always organize special events such as Wine Duet dinner, Valentine Dinner with live music, Sunday Brunch with children’s corner and live music, Restaurant Week and so on.
We are looking forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Been to a Sunday brunch there, would visit again. For HUF 6,000 you could taste cca 3-4 starters, 2 soups, 5-6 main courses and 3-4 desserts on this themed brunch. This month's theme is Greek cuisine, so we had dolmata and moussaka, grilled feta of course but also some nice selections out of the 'top 10 Greek menu items'. What were missing: Greek coffee, olives, taramo, creme d'aubergine. Best dish by far is the lamb, which is really great.

Waiters are friendly and helpful in any way. Had live music, outperforming our expectations even though they played latin music.

It was a well spent money, but we could squeeze even more as brunch guests are now invited free to the hotel spa for the day.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank tomled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkosKovacs, Manager at Araz Restaurant Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Tomled,

Thank you for your very nice feedback. We always present wide selection of dishes from different countries month by month. We try to offer as much traditional courses as possible and hopefully the best ones. We gladly take any suggestion that our guests would like to taste.
In February there will be Tuscan theme and in March Mexican tastes will be offered.
Let me recommend you our Wine Dinners, our next event is the Wine Duet from Eger.

We are looking forward to meeting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

i could enjoy a beautiful dinner here with my friends. We chosed different meals from the á la carte offer . I was content with the serving despite we arrived very late. The food was totally tasteful. The mood was just perfect for our meeting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank stella c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkosKovacs, Manager at Araz Restaurant Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Stella C,

It was our honour to welcome you at our Araz Restaurant. We always aspire to keep the highest quality in every aspect, such as the service, food and the atmosphere.

We would be really happy if we could welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Any normal restaurant is a lot cheaper. We ate there because it was late at night and we were tired. Great waiters.

Thank Montse A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkosKovacs, Manager at Araz Restaurant Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear MontseCunillera,

We are pleased that we could provide high level service due to our great waiters even late at night. We would like to be more than a normal restaurant and we believe that we are. Our special value is that our chefs prepare the courses from the freshest ingredients. Furthermore, our guests are able to order anything he/she wishes and for which we have the necessary ingredients.

I hope you will have the possibility to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Araz Restaurant Budapest also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Araz Restaurant Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing