We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner in Budapest”
Review of Lado Cafe

Lado Cafe
Ranked #90 of 3,421 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $22
Cuisines: European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Description: We prepare the classic meals of the Hungarian cuisine. We recomend the popular goulash soup, the little bit spicy vegetable ragout "Lecso" and the city's popular "Budapest style beefsteak with goose liver". Besides the meals, there are live jazz concerts every evening from 20:00 till 22:00.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

The meals were reasonably priced and the portions were large. The server was English speaking but his understanding was limited. This caused some confusion with the orders but the food was good regardless.

Thank bjbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lado1, Owner at Lado Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear "bjbuddy" ,

Thank you for your positive review. We are sorry for the missunderstanding but glad you have found our food tasty. Hope to see you again!

Best regards,
Polgár László
Ladó Café

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,968)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

814 - 818 of 1,968 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2014

On a morning search for breakfast we came upon the Lado Café two mornings in a row. The staff were inviting, the orchids near the bar and by our table made me feel good towards the place. Breakfast was fine with good choices. This seemed a good choice compared to the prices at the Boscobel a block or so away.
A large breakfast for 2 was $23.20

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Travelwaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lado1, Owner at Lado Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear "Travelwaves" ,

Thank you for taking your time to write about your memories of Ladó Café. We are glad you have found our breakfast tasty and visited us several times. We are looking forward to seeing you again to try a jazzy dinner.

Best regards,
Polgár László
Ladó Café

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

was referred here by our hotel - attracted by the "free wine" coupon. A lovely, clean, example of Hungarian cuisine. Had chicken paprikash and hungarain stew. Great subtle flavors, wine was perfect. Bill came to 26 euros. Didn't get to stay for the music a bit later, but expected it to be fun. walkable from main street - safe neighborhood.

1  Thank Jerseycouple_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lado1, Owner at Lado Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear "Jerseycouple_10" ,

Thank you for your kind words about Ladó Café. We are glad to know you had a nice dinner at our restaurant. Hope to see you again!

Best regards,
Polgár László
Ladó Café

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

High quality food in a beautiful location. Personnel was kind and fast. Recommended to enjoy good Hungarian dishes

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank xarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lado1, Owner at Lado Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear "mikka00" ,

Thank you for your visit. We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,
Polgár László
Ladó Café

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We dined at the Lado Cafe for a evening meal, we tried hungarian food and it was very good indeed, they had a swing quartet on the night we were there so that made the evening. The service was very good and the food as well would recommend

Thank mollytheboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lado1, Owner at Lado Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear "mollytheboxer" ,

Thank you for your kind words about our restaurant. We are glad you enjoyed your time and have found our dishes tasty. If you visit Budapest again, we are looking forward to seeing you at Ladó.

Best regards,
Polgár László
Ladó Café

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lado Cafe also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Lado Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing