We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dining with music at Lado Cafe”
Review of Lado Cafe

Lado Cafe
Ranked #143 of 3,549 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $22
Cuisines: European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Description: We prepare the classic meals of the Hungarian cuisine. We recomend the popular goulash soup, the little bit spicy vegetable ragout "Lecso" and the city's popular "Budapest style beefsteak with goose liver". Besides the meals, there are live jazz concerts every evening from 20:00 till 22:00.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We recently spent a few days in Budapest and visited the Lado Cafe a couple of times. They have a form of jazz music on every night starting at 8pm, sometimes solo artists or groups. Both nights that we dined there was plenty of activity and very lucky to get in on the second night as a party of six were in front of us and they only had room for four. The service was good and food fine. We would definitely recommend a visit and maybe it would be wise to book in advance as the season gets into full swing

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wallyeastmids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lado1, Owner at Lado Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear "wallyeastmids" ,

Thank you for your visit. We were happy to had you as our guests and hope to see you again for another jazzy dinner.

Best regards,
Polgár László
Ladó Café

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,053)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

897 - 901 of 2,053 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2014

The menu is basically Hungarian. My wife, son and I had different dishes, none of which were familiar but all were tasty. None were expensive. The room is of pre war vintage which makes it cosy. Two courses each with drinks came to a total of approx £34, - very reasonable for three people. The restaurant specialises in live jazz. The night we went there was a 'smooth jazz' quartet, not quite my style but better than background musak. Definitely recommended.

Thank 52Asher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lado1, Owner at Lado Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear "52Asher" ,

Thank you for your kind words about Ladó Café. We are glad you have spent a nice time at our restaurant and you have found our dishes tasty. We are looking forward to seeing you again!

Best regards,
Polgár László
Ladó Café

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Had good Hungarian food here one Sunday evening, very satisfying fayre after a day of sightseeing. Seemed to be very popular choice, all tables taken and some customers had to be turned away as restaurant was full so may be worth booking earlier in the day if you are passing. There was jazz on at 8pm which was enjoyable. The only disappointment was as the restaurant got busier the service deteriorated. We had to ask to see the desert menu twice and then we had to go to the till to ask for the bill...all the while our glasses were empty and the offer of another round of drinks after a warm day would have been most welcome! Another table of diners, after being seated, had to get up and ask for menus and as no staff approached them for drink or food orders they got up and left. Don't let this put you off, just be prepared to work a little for staff's attention if restaurant is busy.

Thank RebeccaD80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lado1, Owner at Lado Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear "RebeccaD80" ,

Thank you for your visit to our restaurant. We are glad you enjoyed the jazz music and sorry for those little inattentions. We hope to see you again!

Best regards,
Polgár László
Ladó Café

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Six of us enjoyed great meals with excellent service and wonderful entertainment -- a jazz band. A short walk from the Marriott Courtyard.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lado1, Owner at Lado Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear "Terry L" ,

Thank you for your positive review. We are glad you enjoyed your time at Ladó Café. We hope to see you again!

Best regards,
Polgár László
Ladó Café

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We had been advised not to visit Lado by the hotel staff but we found it was quite good. They have jazz most evenings which is pretty lively. The décor however looks like the Lubyanka. It could really do with a good make-over. We chose the Gulash which was excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cairokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lado1, Owner at Lado Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear " Cairokid" ,

Thank you for taking your time to write about your experience at Ladó Café. It is an honour you have visited us and we are glad you have found the gulash tasty. We always try to cook something authentic and delicious, because the satisfaction of our guests is very important to us. We hope to see you again!

Best regards,
Polgár László
Ladó Café

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lado Cafe also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Lado Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing