We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere, Great Food”
Review of Lado Cafe

Lado Cafe
Ranked #84 of 3,372 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $22
Cuisines: European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Description: We prepare the classic meals of the Hungarian cuisine. We recomend the popular goulash soup, the little bit spicy vegetable ragout "Lecso" and the city's popular "Budapest style beefsteak with goose liver". Besides the meals, there are live jazz concerts every evening from 20:00 till 22:00.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We were recommended this cafe by the hotel and it was absolutely lovely - we all go a free drink from the hotel recommendation and the food was delicious. I would recommend the Aubergine Cream and the Pork Medallions - but everything was lovely.

There is a live Jazz Band every night and the staff were exceedingly friendly - a lovely relaxed atmosphere - all in all a great experience

Thank Crystalfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lado1, Owner at Lado Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear "Crystalfox" ,

Thank you for your positive review. We are glad you have found our dishes tasty and spent a nice time in Ladó Café. We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,
Polgár László
Ladó Café

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,932)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

848 - 852 of 1,932 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Went twice once for breakfast once for dinner. The staff was nice and pretty attentive for Budapest. Food was spot on Hungarian, I preferred the breakfast and coffee to the dinner and wine. Music was a plus but they refused a couple larger groups we saw during primetime.

Thank Bob O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lado1, Owner at Lado Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear "Bob O" ,

Thank you for taking your time and write about your memories of Ladó Café. We are glad you visited our restaurant several times and hope to see you again.

Best regards,
Polgár László
Ladó Café

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We had an excellent meal, all six of us, at the Lado Café, and entertained by a four piece jazz group. Best to book, as this place gets very busy, seems very popular. The staff were excellent, the food was delicious and the red wine, bulls blood ? was really good.

Thank Madelaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lado1, Manager at Lado Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear " maddyann18" ,

Thank you for your visit to Ladó Café. We are happy to know you had a nice time and enjoyed the jazz music. We hope to see you again for another jazzy evening.

Best regards,
Polgár László
Ladó Café

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Went for wife's birthday, booked online direct, great service, great food, also went for breakfast twice! Staff were so helpful and efficient ! The rum pancakes were amazing, truly made a memorable trip, Thank you !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank St00zy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lado1, Owner at Lado Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear " St00zy" ,

Thank you for taking your time to write about your memories of Ladó Café. We are glad it was a nice experience and you have found our dishes tasty. We are looking forward to seeing you again in our restaurant.

Best regards,
Polgár László
Ladó Café

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We had chosen to dine at Lado Cafe due to the proximity of our hotel and were really pleased we did so.

We hadn't booked and upon arrival at around 830pm were told we could wait to see if a table became available. We were given menus and were quickly seated with a great view of the band within 10 minutes.

All of the staff were very friendly and attentive without being obtrusive and they appeared to genuinely care that everyone was enjoying themselves.

We didn't have to wait long for our food which was delicious, plentiful and very good value for money.

The swing band that were playing were brilliant and created a fantastic atmosphere. Despite not being jazz fans, we were disappointed when they finished as they were really very entertaining.

All in all, a great night at the Lado Cafe!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lado1, Owner at Lado Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear " Lesley M" ,

Thank you for your visit to Ladó Café. We are glad to know you spent a nice time here. If you visit Budapest another time we would be glad to see you again.

Best regards,
Polgár László
Ladó Café

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lado Cafe also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Lado Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing