We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely evening - thank you”
Review of Lado Cafe

Lado Cafe
Ranked #85 of 3,204 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $22
Cuisines: European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Description: We prepare the classic meals of the Hungarian cuisine. We recomend the popular goulash soup, the little bit spicy vegetable ragout "Lecso" and the city's popular "Budapest style beefsteak with goose liver". Besides the meals, there are live jazz concerts every evening from 20:00 till 22:00.
Fife, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely evening - thank you”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We fell across Lado by chance as we were staying in the Continental Zara just a few doors down the same street and was always busy when we passed.

We hadn't booked so we were really lucky to get a table - it was a Monday night- many others were turned away after we sat down.

The food was excellent value - the steak was beautiful and the cordon bleu chicken was delightful. The wine was lovely too. Followed by the apple with cinammon and ice cream/cream - it was really tasty- and one plate was enough for us both.

The girl came on to sing and she was delightful - so much so that we had coffees and a couple of liquers then another to finish of the evening. We really didn't want to leave.

It was a very lovely evening all round. The staff were so polite and helpful -nothing was too much trouble - it was all very old fashioned and really quite quaint in the most gentile way. In many ways it was as if time had stood still - we would highly recommend this cafe / restaurant but do please book.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank onlovewithparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lado1, Owner at Lado Cafe, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear "onlovewithparis",

Thank you for visiting us and we are very happy that you enjoyed the evening. We are looking forward, to seeing you again.

Best regrads,

László Polgár
owner
Ladó Café
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,797 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    973
    644
    139
    30
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice meal in a jazz restaurant”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had to book a table as this café is quite popular (or try to arrive by 7pm) Music starts at 8pm. Staff certainly friendly and looked after us. Pleasant meal. The jazz band gave the place a great atmosphere. Good value for an evening out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kitty635914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lado1, Owner at Lado Cafe, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Kitty,

Thank you for writing about your experience at Ladó Café Restaurant. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your evening with us.

Best regards,

László Polgár
Ladó Café
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very unique atmosphere. Nice jazz music. The service is very professional. I suggest you to try roasted goose liver,apple steamed in white wine with mashed potatoes.the hungarian wine is also very tasty. I'm very satisfied with this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lado1, Owner at Lado Cafe, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Anna,

I am very glad that you liked the dinner and the music in our Restaurant. Thank you for your visit and I hope to see you again.

Best regards,

László Polgár
Ladó Café
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“One of, if not the best in Budapest”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Been coming here for the past two years now, and again this year. Been 4 times this holiday. As usual the staff are very pleasant and friendly. I don't think there is anywhere in Budapest to better them! The food is always excellent (I would recommend the Duck with Goose Liver). On top of that there is entertainment on an evening. Best to book though! They get busy. I will be back next time I'm in Budapest. Probably next year. I really think they should have a higher rating. (Visited another restaurant not far away with a higher rating and was disappointed with the service). Oh yes, and their crème brulee is fantastic. Well done to owners and staff

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lado1, Owner at Lado Cafe, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Stephen,

Thank you for taking your time and writing your opinion. I am very glad that you enjoyed the visit at our restaurant.

We are looking forward to seeing you next time!

Best regards,

László Polgár
Ladó Café
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Hot jazz”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

As part of a tour we were taken to the Lado cafe for dinner at 7pm on Monday. It was a large group so we mostly filled the place with a buzz. Food was set with goulash as starter - alright, main was chicken escallope + salad + mash + dressing - all good, dessert was a sort of sponge cake with slight rum flavour covered in chocolate sauce + ice cream & cream - bland. We had a bottle if chardonnay wine - good. The jazz singer, laura hergos, was ok but homogenised all the spngs to sound the same. It wasnt bad but it wasnt good either. Each night is someone different so you may get better or worse. We left early because the place was uncomfortably too hot.
Overall the place was ok and drinks prices ok but i would not go back.

Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Lado Cafe also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Lado Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing