We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Annoying...”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Nobu Restaurant

Nobu Restaurant
Ranked #223 of 3,080 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $34 - $135
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: Enjoy and explore Nobu Matsuhisa's New Style Japanese cuisine in the first Central-European member of Nobu's worldwide dining empire where traditional Japanese techniques are redefined by South American flavors. Nobu Budapest welcomes guests with 80-seats including a private room and the sushi bar while the Nobu Lounge Bar accommodates guests with separate menu card and a wide Nobu Signature Cocktail selection.
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Annoying...”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I am really not a NOBU fan,never been. But this place is just OBNOXIOUS!
The sake was too warm and you have only one kind they would warm up for you. The mochi is beyond disgusting ,the service is poor. The waiter will tell you (in a very robotic way) ,what you should know about your food,what you have already known like ages,and sometimes they are off with the info. Ppl taking pics in the restaurant ,and it is so dark in there i couldn't find my chopsticks.
I am very suprised that most people gave even 4 stars to this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hajnalka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    238
    109
    62
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“It is value for money in Budapest”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Is it the cheapest in Budapest? Certainly not. Check how much you pay in one of the many "traditional" Hungarian restaurants then look at the prices here, and you're not going to pay much more....unless you order a lot of drinks, which is where they get you. Is it value for money. What we paid for the flavors v the local places it was good.

Did we try sushi in Budapest? Not a chance, and if you expect it to be good, even here, you need to get out more.

The biggest surprise was the bento box for the kids. A nice touch and a great selection of food for them in there.

Miso soup...standard and nothing wrong with it. Shrimp with wasabi sauce (they have standard sauces) was good as was the duck. Rice was steamed well. All in all the flavors were good, nice atmosphere, not bad service. We stuck to beers to keep the price down. Desert was good value for money, banana split...hey got to keep the kids happy. Nice to have an opportunity to try this restaurant in a city where its less expensive than its other locations.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Purplesmartie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
92 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Absolutley amazing!”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We went here for dinner during our trip to Budapest and everything from the service to the food and wine was absolutely top-of-the-class. Are waitress was very helpful and accomodating, when we asked about sevral wines we were choosing from she did'nt recommend the most expensive ones and she let us take our time and order several times without questioning or seeming stressed even though the restaurant was full. The food was made to perfection, the alskan black cod in miso was one of the best dishes I have ever had - a must as everyone says! Expensive compared to the price level in the city but well under what you would pay for the same meal at Nobu in London or Dubai for example. Strongly recommend a visit!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Bevreus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“When i decide to go to Budapest i made sure i went to Nobu”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I had Nubu before. I always consider Nobu to be the best Japanese food in the world. When i decide to go to Budapest i made sure i went to Nobu. Well it was as good as the rest i have been. The food in was excellent; its more than just food is the top Japanese by far. They have a specials menu that the price is affordable. Now as far as the decoration, i will say that is average for that restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank three_Feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Simply Outstanding”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Amazing. It's hard to say anything else. Service, fantastic and attentive. Food. To die for. I'm not a major fish fan, however when it's produced with this attention to detail and flavor balance, you simply can't say no.

Attached to a world class hotel, I'd not hesitate in recommending Nobu.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank tonyblogging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nobu Restaurant also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Nobu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing