We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still love it”
Review of IL BASILICO - CLOSED

IL BASILICO
Price range: $3 - $17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Waitstaff
Description: Friendly family style Italian restaurant with optional outdoor seating. Meal are made from authentic recipes and original ingredients. Large selection of pizza (thin, crispy Napoletana style) and pasta.
San Gimignano, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Still love it”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Returned after more than one year. New menu since then with home made pasta meals. The decoration has become more friendly. Still very good pasta and pizza.. just like last time. Had the Chicken Ravioli which was excellent. Tiramisu is a must... very delicious but huge.. enough for two. Prices are still reasonable, waiters are friendly and flexible.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GP1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    12
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lier, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Okay”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Okay for having a quick/cheap pasta or pizza. The red wine was chilled. The food was basic.
The staff looked bored and uninterested. They also let us pay an additional 6 euros (not the 12% for the service) which we only figured out later at the hotel when we tried to calculate our expenses for the day (they showed us the receipt and then quickly threw it away). But overall it was cheap, so we didn't bother going back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debby V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“As an italian I must say the food was eccellent!”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Service was just about frindly in the beginning and as it went on it ended very friendly! If you are a fish lover you must try the SPAGHETTI ALLA MARINARA, which has a lot of muscles and for desert I had the Limoncello mousse!! absolutely a MUST!! the prices very reasonalble.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank STEMA30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great value!”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We ate here during our week stay in Budapest, and it was a great find!
We both ordered brushetta to start which was delicious! My partner then opted for a pizza, which he said was really tasty but so big he cldnt finish it! I chose one of the chefs specials which was fantastic! Four cheese ravioli mmmm! We were too full for desserts!
We were the only people in the restaurant (which I don't undestnd as it was great!) so service was very fast and our waiter was very helpful!
Our bill worked out to be 18 pounds approximately including a tip!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kelly7411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilbasilico1, Manager at IL BASILICO, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Dear Kelly7411,

Thank you very much for review. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with our restaurant. Hope you had a nice time in Budapest and see you next time you visit our country!

Kind regards,

Il Basilico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Skip it”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Food wasn't bad or particularly good. Service was a disaster. Food was served with 20 minute intervals for a party of six. Waiters were hiding or ignoring you. So no worthy addition to the Budapest restaurant scene (there are about a dozen equally bad restaurants nearby).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank altocumulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IL BASILICO also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing