We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit expensive for 3 rooms”

House of Hungarian Art Nouveau (Magyar Szecesszio Haza)
Book In Advance
More Info
$141.71*
and up
Private Art Nouveau Tour Budapest
Ranked #170 of 459 things to do in Budapest
Attraction details
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A bit expensive for 3 rooms”
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

I love this period of decorative art and design so was really looking forward to this visit. The 1,900 Ft ticket was a bit much compared to other places. The museum is actually composed of 3 levels (1 large room per level) with a flee market feel. The furniture is everywhere and just lined up along the wall without any explanation.

Helpful?
Thank nanaque
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    19
    12
    16
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Eclectic dispaly of art nouveau artifacts in a unique retail environment”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The museum consisted of a hodgepodge of objects from the art nouveau period, which are displayed on three levels. There is no apparent organization to the collection or consistent labeling. The objects are arranged as if in a used furniture store. In fact some of the items were for sale as there were occasional sales tags! I have never been in museum before where part of there collection was for sale. It was an unusual experience seeing the collection and for that reason memorable. There were several items that were quite beautiful. The exterior of the building is beautifully restored and is one of the most stunning examples of this period which I have ever seen. I learned from this experience, that part of being a good traveller is to have a sense of humor.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oyster, virginia, usa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This museum offers so little for the price of admission (around $15 including special exhibits)! I went primarily to see the Art Nouveau, having gone also to the Bedo Haz Museum (worth it). The staff were unfriendly and when I got a ticket, instead of asking me if I wanted the more expensive one that included the temporary Art Deco exhibition--not really--the woman just pointed at the cash register, which said 3,000 forints...many pieces were on loan or whatever, and I came away disappointed.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank savoystudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
182 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Not exactly a museum”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I enjoyed visiting many of the art nouveau buildings in Budapest. This is lovely from the outside and I would recommend visiting the cafe but not the "museum". I had expected to see the home furnished as it was during the heyday of the at nouveau period but I was disappointed. It is really just three floors crammed with furniture...it looks more like an antiques store than a musuem. There is no information provided about any of the pieces of furniture or art work, as such, it is not really a museum as much as it is a series of rooms with furniture crammed in. I think the price was way too expensive for this place.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank viajero5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
199 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Art Nouveau Heaven”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

If you like this period in art with all of it's natural origins and curves then this is the place for you. Spend sometime over the 3 floors of exhibits. There is also a cafe on the ground floor which you can buy drinks and home made snacks.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamGrape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Hungarian Art Nouveau (Magyar Szecesszio Haza) also viewed

 

Been to House of Hungarian Art Nouveau (Magyar Szecesszio Haza)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing