We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Private tour from Budapest to a top hidden treasure region of Europe: Lake Balaton
30

Book in advance
from
$193.07
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience My Personal Budapest
from $193.07
More Info
from $80.17
More Info
from $159.12
More Info
from $58.34
More Info
Reviews (701)
Filter reviews
701 results
Traveler rating
655
38
2
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
655
38
2
4
2
See what travelers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 701 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2017

We booked the Hungarian Soul Tour many weeks ahead but were very clear in our understanding from the website and subsequent email from Andreas that it would not go ahead if no one else booked the same date (Andreas requires 4 people to make the tour viable). Unfortunately - 2 days before - there were no other bookings and as that was our only free day in Budapest Andras sent an email with a suggested revised itinerary which would also attract a small refund. We could also have had a full refund or asked for a different tour or itinerary but decided to go along with Andras's suggestions. Andras picked us up from our hotel in his car. Andreas truly loves this city and he has a great knowledge of a myriad of things. We went to markets and had tastings of local foods, we saw the best spas in town, we went to a beautiful lookout, we did a whole parliament tour with Andreas by our side, a river cruise, caught a tram to get to some of the local sites - but the most memorable and beautiful part was lunch. Andras's parents were away on holidays and so Andras had arranged for a gypsy lady friend of his, Magdi, to cook a traditional gypsy meal in her home for us. What a delightful lady. She spoke no English but we laughed a lot, ate a truly delicious meal, met her daughters and little granddaughter and saw how many people in Budapest live. Thank you Magdi and thank you Andreas for a wonderful local experience. It was a pleasure.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2017

According to your interest and time allocation, Andros will take you to and intelligently explain any of the many beautiful places on both sides of the river via a private luxury van all throughout the day. What might distinguish this tour from others, however, is the following. At the beginning of the day Andros introduced us to Hungarian history, which is essential to understanding the Hungarian soul, in an authentic coffee house. For lunch, he hosted a traditional meal at his family's home with his beautiful, gracious parents (his father is a Nazi concentration camp survivor). Finally, he arranged a private concert with an authentic Gypsy ensemble, whose members were as charming as they were talented musicians. By the end of the day, we felt like we had a good understanding and appreciation for the beautiful souls of the Hungarians people.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank bmorrison3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2017

Andras was a fantastic tour guide that will tailor the tour to your wants and needs. He loves his city and it is reflected in his tour. We did not have time to do his tour where he takes you to his parents' house for dinner, but it sounds wonderful! We chose the panaramic car tour and having the sunroof really did make a difference. We had a number of stops and could spend as much time as we needed to look around.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Lorie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2017

A amazing experience, not only thanks to our guide and mentor, Mr Andraz, but also to his lovely parents for giving us a wonderful time. We were picked from our apartment and taken to his home for a fabulous lunch. Learnt a lot of Hungarian culinary knowledge, apart from the general knowledge. Fabulous tour and worth it.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Munish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2017

This review is a little different as we are a boutique tour company that travels all over the world and we have the pleasure to work with some of the best guides in the business. Well let me tell you, Andras (Andrash) fits right into that category of super guide who truly cares.

Imagine a day where you start with coffee in a local coffee house and have time to talk politics, culture and history with a local history professor. After coffee and a better understanding, you have a wonderful overview tour of Budapest.

On most tours that would be enough, but you now have the option to go out into the suburbs, to a tree lined street and have lunch right in your guides family home, unforgettable! After lunch we went to a local dance studio for a private classical concert of Gypsy / Hungarian music including context and explanations. Magical.

After that, it's on foot for a walk through the historic quarter to feel the buzz and atmosphere of this ancient city. A full day of fun.

So without hesitation, we recommend if you want a truly a unique feel of the food, history, music and people of Budapest, book the Soul of Budapest experience. Andras and My personal Budapest is now our first stop when visiting the city with groups.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank M_Stewart68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews