We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor food and service - won't be back”
Review of Cafe Pausa

Cafe Pausa
Ranked #2,578 of 3,234 Restaurants in Budapest
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Terézváros
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Poor food and service - won't be back”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Note that if you're a tourist and you go to Liszt Ferenc ter, you may just end up somewhere that has free seats as this is a popular area, but if you have a choice, try to avoid Cafe Pausa.
We live here and wanted to eat at Cafe Vian but there were no free tables so we went to Pausa. We waited to be served, once seated, but had to call over a waiter after 15 minutes. The waiter took an order of wine, starters and main courses for 6 people without writing anything down. All the food came out at random times, and two orders didn't come out at all until we asked (twice) and the waiter admitted he'd forgotten. I got my meal 10 minutes after the last person had finished eating - and it was terrible so we had it packed up for my friends' dog.
I don't think anyone was satisfied with their food so all in all it was a bit of a waste - overpriced for what we got (and with the undeserved tip included).

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    13
    23
    16
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, UK
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Distinctly average”
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Evening meal on a Thursday night took almost an hour to arrive. I had the carbonara which was the saltiest food I've ever had. Husband had steak which was ok. Overall, nothing special and would definitely not go back before trying other places first.

Helpful?
Thank PaulaNorwich_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burscough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worst Steak Ever !!”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Main course steak was the worst my wife and I had ever had. Complained and was offered no discount. Wish we had gone on Trip Adviser first.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cbrad68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Visited twice for lunch - never gain!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

First time, food - pizza etc were good with friendly service but yesterday it was awful. they took over an hour to produce poor quality and burnt food with a staff member who seemed at best overloaded or at worst not caring! One pizza yesterday was charred. Sorry folks for the venue, cost and what should be provided, this place needs a real management shake up!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tourist review”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Ate around 9pm, heaters were on and blankets were offered as it was chilly. food was ok, fairly good atmosphere.
Ordering beers for the group we were offered local hungarian beer or staropramen. we all agreed on hungarian and the waitress went away, only to come back and say that they recommend not having local beer due to it not being what we would expect and insisted on us having staropramen.
thinking about we should of stuck with our first choice as surprise surprise staropramen was more expensive.
they forgot part of our food order, as we have ordered a side dish, i asked the waitress who then went inside to ask the chef.
The waitress said the chef had put the side dish with the main meal and shouted at her.... not wanting to cause an issue for ( such a british thing to do now i think about it) i said dont worry and carried on with meal.
coffees at the end of the meal also never turned up.
pretty bad overall

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank casual_carlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Pausa also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Cafe Pausa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing