We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Michelin experience so far!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Costes

Costes
Ranked #14 of 3,080 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Central European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: It's Hungary's first Michelin Star restaurant
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best Michelin experience so far!”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

One Michelin star restaurant, it occurs in everething. Maybe even two stars some day? Reservation required, do it early enough. We got our table 3 weeks before, because of someones cancellation.
The service was top class, waiters and sommelier were very professional. Dignified atmosphere, which some other diners did not honour (there is dresscode mentioned in the restaurants website, you should respect that.) We felt like royalty and were very well served.
The food was excellent - absolutely exquisite!
Portion sizes were Michelin size so you are able to eat a multi-course dinner. Above all, the presentation of dishes was extremely beautiful.
Amuse-bouche and post dessert surprise are things that you can expect in a superior place like this. If you chooce aperitif drink you'll get another little fancy starter. We had champagne and it was kind of pricy, even for this type of restaurant. But that was the only small negative thing in the whole experience.

We can describe ourselves as foodies. We have dined in many Michelin restaurants in Europe and Costes have been the best - so far.
We definitely recommend Costes. (Unless you are looking for budget dining in Budapest. There are a lot of other fine places for that.)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tantanit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costes_Restaurant, Manager at Costes, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Tantanit,

Thank you for joining us. We are glad to be highly regarded by you. It always delights us when we are up to the high expectations.
We would be pleased to assist you with a new booking in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    633
    116
    27
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Too posh and too quiet for Budapest”
Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

Nice room, good food, attentive service. But something feels wrong about a $150 tasting menu in a city where no one could afford this. Every table was English or French speakers - no locals. They were gracious but just felt off. Maybe it was good a few years ago, but now feels like a fancy restaurant 10 years ago, way too self aware and WAY too quiet. Like eating in a church service. Nothing fun or festive about it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zac E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costes_Restaurant, Manager at Costes, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Zac E,

Thank you for joining us. It is positive that you enjoyed both the food and service.
Please bear in mind that August is the period of the year when holidays are given out all across Europe, therefore, wherever you go, you will be surrounded by visitors with mixed nationalities.
In fact fine dining scene in Hungary is yet to be discovered by the local people, but as per our experience, there are more and more of them showing interest in dining out in white tablecloth restaurants.
Once again, we were happy to welcome you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing meal and service!!!!”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

My husband had researched restaurants and when he discovered that the chef here used to work in the famed El Bulli in Madrid, he knew we had to go as we were never able to get in when we lived in Spain. I'm so glad that we did! We've dined at a lot of Michelin-starred restaurants, but this was by far the best! Each course was artistic, the service was impeccable...it was perfect! Our friends, who we dined with, said they would return to Budapest just to dine here again! While it was not inexpensive, we all agreed, it was worth every penny! We did the 4-course tasting menu, choosing the three course we wanted along with pre-dessert (cheese) and dessert. We didn't add the tasting menu as we had a 4-hour wine tasting the day before with Hungarian wine so we chose a wonderful Spanish bottle for our meal. The crayfish tails appetizer was a work of art. My husband and friends had the Foie Gras, which they raved about as well as the Ravioli, Our Garden salad and John Dory. The Pike Perch was delicious! I had the Sea Bass, which was another work of art as well as delicious, but my husband could not get over their Pressed Suckling Pig!Two of us had the chocolate dessert, which came in a cloud of dry ice, and as special as it was, it could not compare to their Peach Cheesecake! It looked like a peach, stone and all, but it was a cheesecake and the stone was chocolate! It was the most incredible dessert -- and this is coming from a chocoholic! They also give you a couple surprise courses -- starters of macarons and salmon-filled ice cream cones as well as a "magic" box at the end filled with an elixir and more chocolates. Although the courses are small, you do not go away hungry! It's perfect! Definitely book way ahead. We tried for a Saturday night two weeks ahead, but could only get in on a Sunday night.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RileyBF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costes_Restaurant, Vezető at Costes, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear RileyBF,

Your appreciation means a lot to us! We know that guests are arriving with high expectations, and we are most happy when we meet them. Would be great to have you back. Especially, because you should also try the tasting menu with the wine pairing option :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Palmas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“reservation canceled with 1 hour notice!!!!!!”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

What a shame. We made the reservation a month ago, confirmed again today. Oh, and don't be late, because they can only hold the table for 20 minutes. What a surprise when they canceled our 19.30h table one hour before, citing technical problems. It might be true, but even then it is a sign of an unconscionable lack of professionalism for a restaurant that would have you pay a few hundred euros for a dinner. Maybe the food is as good as some of the reviews report, maybe the service is wonderful. I will never know because I won't make the same mistake twice. At least it was not a "special occasion"... Couples with an anniversary or birthday beware!
Then they tried to book us in another restaurant (LouLou) which we gladly declined. If it is run by the same people, just imagine!
Because we dined (very well) at a nearby restaurant, we passed by this place at around 22.30h. Although it seems improbable, the restaurant was open and functioning. The maitre babbled something about rain, although everything seemed in order. The most probable explanation is that they overbooked for the hour we reserved and simply dumped the "excess".
In any case: who cares. There are plenty of restaurants in Budapest and if I want to go to a typical generic "Michelin-star gastrobusiness" restaurant, I have enough near home.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
13 Thank teetrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia, Usa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Pathetic Excuse for a Michelin-Starred Restaurant”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Haivng dined at a majority of the Michelin-starred restaurants in Europe, my wife and I went to Costes with high expectations. Sadly, it can be firmly stated that Costes does not deliver even an adequate dining experience. The food is quirky (cold crawfish?, chocolate with paprika?) and presented in bizarrely minuscule tasting portions - bring your own microscope to see what you are eating! The service is extremely awkward - unlike any seen elsewhere. Avoid Costes at all costs!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank Suchot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costes also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Costes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing