We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Expectation.”
Review of Costes

Costes
Ranked #24 of 3,162 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: It's Hungary's first Michelin Star restaurant
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beyond Expectation.”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Dining here was a wonderful experience and great value for what was provided. The staff were courteous, attentive and very efficient. Each food presentation was a work of art in itself. Dining here was a major highlight of our visit to Budapest.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HenryBl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Mihalik, General Manager at Costes, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Mr HenryBl,

Thank you very much for taking the time to detail your opinion with us.
Naturally, it is always good to hear that our guests had a pleasant time with us and they enjoyed the culinary delights of Costes Restaurant. Your feedback is cherished and highly appreciated even in the long line of positive comments.

Once again thank you very much for your feedback. We very much hope to be able to entertain you in the foreseeable future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    658
    120
    28
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
117 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had a 7 course meal dinner without wine pairing. 7 course meal included pre-desert and desert. Both of them were quite interesting!!
Actaully, all 7 small tasting menu was outstanding!!
Chose the Hungarian pinot noir, and too bad that the wine didn't open up even after decanting. However, enjoyed the wine anyway!! Nice aroma, balance and power!!
Would definitely go back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank irxraydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Mihalik, General Manager at Costes, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear irxraydoc!

Many thanks for your review, we do appreciate your satisfaction and rating. It is always a pleasure to read passionate feedback like yours.

The wine you have referred to is called St. Andrea Valóban méltó Pinot Noir, from Eger region. Our sommeliers try their best, but some of our highest quality wines can be a bit difficult to open up. We really hope you left with good memories of Hungarian wines from Tokaj region too.

We are delighted you have enjoyed our 7 course-menu this much and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Classy, Scrumptious and Smiles”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We try to find a special restaurant for the last night of a big trip. It can be tricky as we typically have to choose the place before we leave home to insure that we get a reservation. It came down to two in Budapest and my wife suggested we go with Costes. It was SO the right choice. We actually ended up going to both of our finalist. The other got a huge write-up in the NY Times just before we left so we had to try it. Costes blew them away. The feeling was warm and friendly and the food was outstanding. Even the adjustments we requested in the wine pairings were greeted as an adventure and not a burden.
Our pair of servers were terrific, each handled their part superbly (1 concentrated on food, the other on the wines). They exceeded our expectations throughout the evening. Both places had the excellent food required of a Michelin 1 Star but the two evenings felt so different and that was the people and their attention to our needs.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HBGsTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Mihalik, Manager at Costes, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear HBGsTraveller,

Thank you very much for taking the time to detail your flattering opinion on Tripadvisor.

Naturally, it is always good to hear that our guests had a pleasant moment with us and they enjoyed the culinary delights of Costes Restaurant. Your feedback is cherished and highly appreciated even in the long line of positive comments. Your review has made the staff of Costes proud.

We are looking forward to see you again.

Best Regards,

Costes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fab experience”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening here, lots of amazing dishes, fantastically charming staff and mind blowing (all Hungarian) wines. Extra points for friendliness, perfectly balanced with formality.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SquirrelMinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Mihalik, Manager at Costes, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear SquirrelMinx,

Thank you for your message. It is always good to hear that our guests had a pleasant time with us and they enjoyed the culinary delights of Costes Restaurant.
We always try to work accurately and in a formal manner but offer happiness to our guests also requires a good atmosphere and friendliness.


Once again thank you very much for your feedback.

Hope to see you again very soon

Best Regards,

Costes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“BEYOND EXPECTATIONS”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We say "beyond" because this restaurant & it's staff meet all the criteria required for a Michelin starred establishment - but with MORE. As others have said, the welcome is the beginning of a warm but highly professional dining experience. Your waiters not only present themselves to you but are highly knowledgeable in both food & wine. Six course (really 8 with 2 Amuse bouche) with wines was a culinary treat, touched with amusement. Eating porcini ravioli off a "curling stone" was fun, a course with more than the wow factor. I was curious about the maker of the plate, licked my plate clean, turned it over but, out of the blue came a card with the name of the maker written out - the manager did not hover but missed nothing! Yes, expensive but not exorbitant when compared with other Michelin starred restaurants throughout the world & more than worthy of its star rating.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nbsusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Mihalik, Manager at Costes, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Nbsusie,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about your dinner at Costes.
We always try to put our best and give happiness to our guests.

It is a pleasure to read that you spent memorable time with us and
we hope to see you again very soon.

Best Regards,
Costes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costes also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Costes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing