We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surpisingly good”

Trofea Grill Restaurant Downtown
Ranked #127 of 3,154 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Trofea Grill Restaurant is an all you can eat and drink restaurant. However you can use our restaurant for different types of events like Birthday party, Meetings, Annual Meeting, Team-building, Bachelorette party, Wedding reception and for Families or for Friends. In every occasion we support you with a cake according to our tradition. Our price includes not just the wide range of delicious foods but the high-quality champagnes and wines as well. Come, and try our traditional meals and the unforgettable atmosphere!!!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Surpisingly good”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I'm not always a fan of all you can eat places but have to say I was pleasantly surprised by this place when we visited a couple of weeks ago. The food was all very fresh and nothing had been left out too long. Lots for meat eaters (and plenty of hungarian food for them), not so much for veggies but a good salad selection and some veggie options.

The service wasn't amazing, but a) it was a very busy Friday night and b) they had a wedding reception on in their private room so I guess those may be reasons.

A bit of advice - the champagne (well sparkling wine) included in the price is better than the wine) so go wild and have that instead....

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sirius67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrofeaGrill, General Manager at Trofea Grill Restaurant Downtown, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Our Dear Guest "sirius 67",

Thank you for sharing your experience here on Trip Advisor.
Yes we are a bit different "all you can eat" restaurant. Besides that here the drinks also included in the price (Törley champagne/ It's a High Quality Champaigne so we are happy to see that you appreciated it./, Hilltop wines, Szalon beer, Coca-Cola and Cappy soft drinks, coffee, mineral water, tea) we are more a restaurant - in terms of quality and service as well as decoration.
We always try to focus on quality in terms of food, drinks and service.
Sorry to hear that the service was not satisfactory for you.
Even so we hope to welcome you again in our restaurant in the near future and we can continue to develop our services and provide you the possible best guest experience.

Best Regards
Tamas Horvath
General Manager
Kiraly Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,183
    633
    217
    67
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stay 3 Hours To Get Your Money's Worth”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

The restaurant's interior is classy, upscale for Budapest.

Once seated, the timer starts.

You have 3 hours to eat, drink, and eat some more.

The selection varied during our 3 hour stint here. There's a chef cooking various meats you select. They call you up to get your food once it's done. There's also the more conventional buffet selections across from the chef.

Some of the foods I tried included:
Cheeses (I enjoyed the edam)
Tapas
Sushi style rolls (generic, but this IS Hungary after all)
Goulash
Beef w/vegetables
Whipped potatoes
Various cuts of poultry, pork, and lamb
Assorted deserts
Cheap beer

My friends and I made the decision to stay the 3 hours. We ate, drank, drank some more, and then ate some more before we were kindly told our 3 hours were up. It seems this is the norm here, staying 3 hours.

I enjoyed Trofea. If you decided to try it out, come hungry and with no plans for the next 180 minutes!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrofeaGrill, Manager at Trofea Grill Restaurant Downtown, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guest "Chris M",

Thank you so much for your apositive feedback and we're glad that you were satisfied with our offer and service.
We are trying for offering wide range of different types of meals and the same high quality all the time.
All you can eat and drink system includes wide range of assortment and beverages like juices, colas, wines and champagne as well for a fix price.
This price is from 3.899 HUF till 5.990 HUF depends on which time period you come. For dinner you can choose a lot of different delicious grills like red tuna, salmon, cuttlefish and so on.

Hope, you will come back soon to try more food from our selection!

Best Regards,
Tamas Horvath
Manager
Trofea Grill Restaurant, Kiraly street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Tavor, Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Only if you are starving”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

it's Nice choice for starving tourists, the food is "OK" and the service is fine but nothing more. If you didn't eat at the last days this place is definitely for you, otherwise there are many excellent restaurant at the surrounding area serving much more quality launch at same price.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yanirgor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrofeaGrill, Manager at Trofea Grill Restaurant Downtown, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Our Guest "yanirgor",

Thank you for your feedback!
We appreciate that you take your time to review Trófea Grill Restaurant at Kiraly street.

All you can eat and drink system includes wide range of assortment and beverages for a fix price. We are offering more than 100 different choice for fix price so we have a wide range of food and drink selection and we always follow the seasons and serve a seasonal specialties all the time.
This price is from 14 Euro till 22 Euro depends on which time period you come. For dinner you can choose a lot of different delicious grills like red tuna, salmon, cuttlefish and so on.
We are a bit different "all you can eat" restaurant. Besides that here the drinks also included in the price (Törley champagne/ sparkling wine, Hilltop wines, Szalon beer, Coca-Cola and Cappy soft drinks, coffee, mineral water, tea)

Even so your opinion we hope to welcome you again in our restaurant in the future!

Best Regards
Tamas Horvath
Trofea Grill Management
Kiraly Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great environment, fantastic range of food, all in price!”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Trofea Grills are our favourite restaurants in Budapest. This is one of three branches in Budapest. It was the first time that we had visited this particular branch. The offer at all of them is a buffet consisting of a huge range of dishes which is charged at the all-in price of 5499 forints (for a weekday evening - more at weekends, less at lunchtime). Beer/wine/soft drinks/coffee served by the waiters are included in the price. Some of the meat/fish dishes are cooked to order by chefs at a separate workstation. The quality of the food is excellent and there is a very good range even for vegetarians. Dishes are regularly replenished when they run low. It was exceptionally busy on the evening that we visited and this branch of the restaurant feels more cramped than the one that we have visited previously, It also meant that we had to wait for our dishes to be cooked by the chefs but only about 5-10 minutes or so. It had a great buzzy atmosphere though. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank streathamtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrofeaGrill, Manager at Trofea Grill Restaurant Downtown, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Our Guest "streathamtraveller",

It was our pleasantness to saw your from London at our Restaurant!

Thank you for your kind sentences and we are proud of showing you that the "all you can eat and drink buffet" can be so delicious, fresh and enjoyable!
We are paying our attention to the offers all the time to reach our guests satisfaction!

You are always welcome here!

Best Regards,
Sales manager,
Trofea Grill Restaurant Király street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
125 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Value and excellent service”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Had a lovely meal at this restaurant. The server was very helpful and friendly. This restaurant is an all inclusive food and drinks and is very good value. The food was of a very high standard and the food was constantly being replenished. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank charlesksc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrofeaGrill, Manager at Trofea Grill Restaurant Downtown, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear "charlesksc",

Thank you for your kind words! We are happy to saw you from London!
We hope that you enjoyed your stay at Budapest and next time when you visit our city, take us again!


Best Regards,
Tamas Horvath
Manager
Trofea Grill Restaurant Kiraly Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trofea Grill Restaurant Downtown also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Trofea Grill Restaurant Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing