We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Choice for Budapest”
Review of Budapest Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Budapest Rooms
Ranked #16 of 191 Budapest B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Balazs is a very cheerful, helpful host.
The first impression of the street and the entrance made us question
our choice at first, but once settled it was a great choice.
Breakfast was lacking a bit.
Parking is an issue, but Balazs worked very hard to help us with overly
diligent "parking police".
Rooms were very clean and location is great.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank splashtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Budapest Rooms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 119 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2011

Balazs was a pleasure to meet and took very good care of us. He went out of his way to find us another place to stay when we extended our trip (as his place was fully booked). He also arranged airport transportation which worked perfectly. The B&B has a very nice homey feel. The rooms are large and nicely furnished. The breakfast is your standard continental with OJ, coffee/tea, cereal, meat/cheese, etc. One thing to note is that the beds are a bit on the firm side (which seems to be the standard with Budapest B&Bs). Highly recommended and a great value!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winecountryfanatics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Budapest Rooms, which is very conveniently located around the corner from the National Museum, in the heart of Buda. Everything is within walking distance and the Astoria and Kalvin metro stops are just blocks away. The proprietor, Balazs, is an excellent host and very helpful. He takes great care of his guests! We appreciated having use of the refrigerator and kitchen to prepare our own light meals, and the continental breakfast was plentiful.

The hotel entrance is very secure, set off from the street, making it mostly quiet. Except for a little early morning noise from other, non-hotel residents, the room was surprisingly quiet given its location in the city center. The only other issue was the peculiar bathroom fan - it turns on automatically with the bathroom light and continues to run after you turn off the light for about 5 min. Not a major issue but could bother a light sleeper like me if turned on in the middle of the night.

We highly recommend Budapest Rooms for travelers who like "penzion" style hotels with a little more convenience and modern touch.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globetrek2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

This is one of the nicest places I have ever stayed. The room was large, clean and had all the amenities of a great hotel. The staff was courteous, pleasant and very helpful. The hostel is centrally located and a short walking distance from the National Museum, as well as the Danube and tourist sites.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nutka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We have just returned from a hot summer weekend in Budapest and stayed at Budapest Rooms for 3 nights. It was an interesting B&B with extremes in terms of the amenities, a s noted below.

Overall, I would recommend it for anyone who wants a safe, pleasant stay not far from the main sights. As it is small (which we preferred), I would not recommend for singles or backpackers who are looking to meet up with others to explore the city). Honestly, the only real negatives were the breakfast and the hard bed, else there isn't really much to complain about! As it is a B&B though, I didn't give it quite 4 stars as other B&B's usually offer hot food options.

Positives
- rooms were decorated beautifully and our room was very spacious with a better-than-average bathroom and a nice strong shower
- general decor was excellent and definitely above-average, from the rooms to the tableware and general layout of the hotel; high ceilings throughout as well
- good location, and short walk to the boat cruises, river, and the andrassy avenue (similar to the Champs Elysees in Paris)
- on a quiet street with little traffic
- very friendly staff especially the breakfast manager who would offer coffee or tea every morning
- good value for money
- excellent communication via email when asking about information and very easy to book transportation to/from the airport with them
- not hard to find, if you're looking for it on a map, compared to some other Budapest locations
- short walk to Vaci Utca, the main pedestrian shopping street
- there is a Tesco and a Spar located very close and convenient for buying drinks or snacks
- only a few minutes' walk from Astoria subway station

Negatives
- no shampoo or shower soap in the bathroom so you just have to remember to bring your own
- we slept with the window open and the street noise was loud at times
- very limited breakfast with no hot foods served and no change of options from day to day:
- only two types of cereal
- plenty of juice, milk, and coffee/tea
- only bread, cheese and slices of ham but not a toaster so you had to eat everything
cold
- there were also different varieties of yogurt laid out
- there is a car park/parking lot behind the B&B and our room looked out onto this lot. So not much of a view and this spot was particularly noisy
- the bed was very hard and both of us had back pain most of the time walking around the city during the day

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol8131111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed as a family at Budapest Rooms for a week in the summer whilst in town for the Hungarian GP.
I can highly recommend this b&b for families, very comfortable and a very helpful host, breakfasts were generous buffet continental and all for a very reasonable price.
The b&b is ideally situated in a quiet part of town but within easy walking distance of the centre or a short stroll to the metro if you prefer. Balazs the host can arrange good value airport transfers if you wish.
We very much enjoyed Budapest as a destination, lots to see and do (the zoo is excellent for younger children and there are fantastic galleries and museums) and being out of the euro zone we found eating out to be excellent value.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
Thank inglist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Loveliest place, with romantic little porch, where you can have a smoke, or sit and have a quiet evening chat. The rooms are very stylish and cosy, and all the common territories (kitchen, hall) are very cosy too. Breakfast is delicious, and the staff is ultrahelpful and nice.
Also, this place is in the city center, yet on a very quiet street, so there are no noises interfereing with your sleep. Fantastic!

Room Tip: Book far in advance, this place is popular.
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CompaneroS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 332 in Budapest
4,826 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#98 of 332 in Budapest
6,315 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 332 in Budapest
2,447 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budapest Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest Rooms

Address: Szentkiralyi utca 15, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 191 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range: $72 - $739 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Budapest Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Budapest Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing