We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice modern Hungarian restaurant”
Review of Mak

Mak
Ranked #118 of 3,160 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $15 - $70
Cuisines: Hungarian, Central European, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Paris, France
Level Contributor
1,448 reviews
1,172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 667 helpful votes
“Nice modern Hungarian restaurant”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Strangely enough Buduapest is usuall pretty disappointing on culinary front - few good restaurants, almost nothing modern / fusion / sophisticated. Mak Bistrot brings some nice fresh air, with a simple but good cuisine and nice although a bit too common decoration (old red brick, steel, wood tables &chairs).

Very good service, extensive wine list with almost everything available by glass and menu that changes often - looks like all elements of a good success story. The food is light and modern, without being too complex at he same time: we had great prawns with terragon foam and well grilled scallops followed by some cod or swordfish tempura and delicious steak. Make sure you have some room for desserts as they are very good, especially poppy seed cake.

Nice place I'm sure to revisit soon !

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scipion-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    136
    42
    40
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, New York, United States
1 review
“Great Gourmet Experience!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My very first experience dining in Hungary was the Mak Bistro and it was wonderful. Everything tasted fresh. I had the Scallops with gooseberry which were cooked just perfectly... I also had the sea bass as my main course which was juicy and just great. The food is just high quality the service is equally great. Ive visited many bistro' restaurants here in the states but they've never lived up to my expectations the Mak Bistro did and really hit the mark with every dish.

I love their wine selection it really tied in with the dish nicely. The only thing I really didn't like to much was the Yogurt/ice cream desert it just didn't do it for me next time I'll try something different. The presentation of the desert was great just not something I enjoyed as much as my girlfriend did.

Service. Was great they were very attentive to us. For me service really makes or breaks any place and they were very friendly and on that alone makes me want to return. The atmosphere was just great its a beautiful place. Overall, I had a wonderful experience and I will absolutely visit again on my next trip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“YUMMY”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Wine was scrumptious! The meals were different but were excellent! I can't say enough about this place! I took my wife here and we had a blast! The next time we decide to come to Hungary we definitely will be stopping by here once again! Enjoyed every minutes of this place. If anyone was thinking twice about going here I hope you have read this review about this awesome wonderful place! Thanks for reading!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank willpower30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do not waste your time or your money”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I was very disappointed with Mak Bistro as I had high hopes for the restaurant.

Upon arrival, our party was told that 3 out of 5 of the main courses were sold out and were no longer available. It just so happened that our party only wanted those 3 courses, so we were a bit flustered and disappointed. We were handed old menus, and had a hard time keeping track of what was available and what was not until we were given a new copy 45 minutes later, after we had ordered.

We ordered a squid appetizer and were given microscopic pieces of squid. It was so absurd we that couldn't help but laugh, and all concluded that it was the most pathetic plate of food we had ever seen. We couldn't even pick up the pieces on a fork. The other appetizers were okay, but nothing miraculous.

The main courses were just as minimal, and didn't have enough flavor to make one full. Instead, we found ourselves going through 4 baskets of bread (among 5 of us) so that we could walk away without being hungry. I have been to restaurants with small portions but with tasty flavors. This was not one of them.

The only redeeming quality of this restaurant is the wine selection. But seriously, don't waste your money or time here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KateAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Modern daily menu”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Lunch menu is very affordable. Went there because LP guidebook recommended it. European food with a modern twist. There is a good wine list too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Big_Pangz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mak also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Mak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing