We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique place, but a little disappointed...”
Review of Mak

Mak
Ranked #131 of 3,205 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $15 - $70
Cuisines: Hungarian, Central European, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Unique place, but a little disappointed...”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The MAK bistro is your new wave of bistros who reach for the "flavor" of food in foams. The menu is very limited with 5 main dishes. From veal, fowl, fish and steak. The meal was very good, yet I walked away a little disappointed. There is no real atmosphere and the service was good, yet average.

The milk mousse was wonderful and I would be tempted to to back, if for nothing other then the desserts.

I would suggest MAK bistro, but would suggest going in with an open mind and realistic expectations.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lcamarena5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    138
    44
    41
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lufingen, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It's the little things!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Went with my wife on Saturday evening and must say it was a good experience. The restaurant itself is basic but welcoming and somewhat artistic. A lot of different wines to choose from. The food choice although limited is different and inventive (note: unfortunately they'd run out of three dishes by the time we ordered). Portion sizes weren't that plenty, but dishes were well-balanced out. The thing that really won us over though was the personality of the staff, especially of our waitress, whose enthusiasm and honest smile was heartwarming and just rubbed off on us, as well as all the (mostly international) guests. Having been to many restaurants in all price ranges in many countries over the years and having experienced all sorts of waiters, I can honestly say this really was a rare treat. The vibe was good, the food was good (enough) and the price was good. Nothing to change here :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pepoque D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place, disappointing food”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The problem with this type of concept of contemporary, minimal cuisine (which is generally passé) is that as long as the food and the flavours are impeccable, then it's a great experience. The problem here is that the food is just not that great. The scallops starter had sand in them, the other starter was two merguez sausages in mustard...yes that's it...The main of swordfish was downright unpleasant and unimaginative and cold. The desserts however were outstanding and in part made up for the disappointing starters and mains. The wine list is also great and the service was just fantastic. I like the place and wish I could recommend it, but the food was such a disappointment. I have no objection to small portions as long as the flavour makes up for the lack of portion, but it just didn't. I hope they get their culinary act together as this could be a great place and probably deserves to be...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moszcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Wonderful outing at the.Mak Bistro”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We visited Maks on a monday night, and can easily understand why the restaurant has won a number of awards; the food was inventive and interesting without alienating less ambitious diners. The service was excellent - with almost all the staff speaking some English (helpful for tourists) - and the restaurant was welcoming with an interesting decor. The food menu was a little limited (3 or 4 choices per course, two for dessert), but what it lacked in variety, it made up for in quality.
We had two and half courses;
* cooked duck pate for me, and goulash for my husband
* pigeon on violet mash for me and rabbit belly on puree for my husband
* chocolate pudding to share
We each had a small glass of palinka (the local fruit brandy), followed by homemade lemonade - best I've ever tasted -, and the final bill including service charge was €90.00; a little more than we would spend on a meal out in the UK or Ireland, and certainly more than we spend on regular visits to Poland. However Maks isn't the local restaurant, but instead aiming itself at higher clientele than the average worker.
I would certainly recommend Maks as a restaurant to visit, especially if you like something a little more unusual than pizza and kebabs!
 
“Deffenatelly worth the price tag

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveN366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“not so good”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Hi, I have heared about this restaurant a lot, but it was disappointing a little. Nothing special taste or food... small, very small portions for lot of money:( but the service was very good...

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mak also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Mak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing