We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad weather, good food”
Review of Mak

Mak
Ranked #125 of 3,108 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $70
Cuisines: European, Central European, Hungarian, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Budapest
1 review
“Bad weather, good food”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

As I walked along the Danube and clumps of wet snow were sticking to everything, I found refuge in this out of the way spot by the Chain Bridge. The décor caught my eye and the menu with its seafood options was a pleasant surprise. I had a perfectly salmon as my main and a spicy chocolate tart for dessert. Waiters were very pleasant and professional. On par with the quality of the food. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank matemat6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    131
    40
    39
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great bistro in Budapest”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We visited this Bistro, in a pleasant location near the Danube in central Budapest, for a special occasion and it was perfect. Lovely atmosphere, friendly very professional staff and an excellent interesting meal, beautifully presented. The food was an unusual take on often Hungarian food, delicious and very good value (set lunch of 3 courses) followed by good coffee. Marvellous!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“unbelievable food, specific atmosphere”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Shortly ago I traveled with my dad to Budapest, and on our way we found "Mak Bistro", we decided to stop and check this restaurant and we war surprised how this place can be so specific. The food was very good and delicious, friendly and beautiful atmosphere, all was great. When we went it was pretty quiet so we could really relax and enjoy. It was a wonderful experience in eating in that restaurant. If you would only take a look at the pictures you'll see the peacefulness I’m talking about. Anyway, I definitely recommend this restaurant to all of you.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phronyy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
“Best wine dinner ever”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Last week specific rare wines of some famous Hungarian wineries were offered at Mak Bistro. The event was named MAD@MAK, which refers to a special wine region of the country, MÁD. I was told, that these wines have a unique flavour thanks to the individual ground of the area. Well, it was. The delicious food and the wines were in perfect harmony, you could easily see how carefully the items of the menu were picked up. I'm 100% satisfied with the performance and the attitude of the restaurant. Thanks MAK the great experiences :)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank satalun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Zagrebacka, Croatia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent choice with Mak”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I was there with my friends in february 2013. As we first came in it looked like a normal restaurant but it's so much more. We ordered our food and it came fast, that's a huge plus for me and my friends. The food was rich of flavours that combined greatly. The restaurant's ambiance was neat and you could get that central european atmosphere. Service was friendly, always smiling and accepting our requests. Only little remark goes to the beef that was a bit dry. Price was acceptable for all the things you get. So if you sum everyhing up Mak is an excellent choice if you're visiting Budapest.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marjan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mak also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Mak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing