We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Liszt Restaurant

Liszt Restaurant
Ranked #763 of 3,665 Restaurants in Budapest
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: The region’s historical dishes prepared with innovative technologies for everyday cosmopolitans. The restaurant’s name, Liszt, is a playful nod to two distinct and crucial elements of its foundation: it refers to Ferenc Liszt, one of the world’s greatest classical pianists and a renowned Hungarian musician, and its literal meaning of ‘flour,’ an important ingredient in the bread that is baked fresh on the premises. The menu at Liszt is themed around music. Appetizers are listed as ‘Prelude’ and soups are the ‘Symphony’, while the main courses are known as ‘Concerto.’ Menu items are created with fresh, local ingredients—meats, seasonal vegetables, fruits, fresh bread, dairy products, and cheeses—from farms and purveyors across Hungary, Transylvania, the Dalmatian coast and parts of modern-day Ukraine and Slovakia. Freshly baked bread, salted homemade butter, and in-house filtered water awaits all our guests, to truly arrive and prepare for the new experience.
Reviewed December 2, 2019 via mobile

We are staggered that this restaurant has not made its way onto the Michelin Guide. It has been open for only a short while, but during our visit proved that it is a MUST in Budapest! Michelin star quality without the price tag. Food sublime and perfectly presented. The main concept of the restaurant is to present traditional Hungarian recipes in two different styles; as your grandmother would make it, and in a more modern, refined style. Both exquisite, both beautiful, both gorgeous. The service was on par with the food, completely impeccable. Martin was the perfect host, he was keen to offer information about all plates, guiding us through the must-try dishes on the menu. Thank you very much Martin! We can not recommend this restaurant enough! For anyone interested in a great red, we also recommend the Fantastico Malbec! We will be back, without doubt.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank ildottorebardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamKamaras, Restaurant Manager at Liszt Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2019

Dear ildottorebardi,
It was a pleasure to read your kind words about how much you’d enjoyed your evening with us at Liszt. I’m happy that you liked how we bring traditions and modern techniques together. We believe that memories and feelings have a major role in how we percieve food and therefore we absolutely love to see people get transported back to their childhood after taking a bite of one of our dishes. Thank you for your kind words about Martin too! He was overjoyed to learn that he could help make your evening so memorable.
We hope to host you again in the future!
Best regards,
Adam Kamaras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 25 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2019

The design of the place is fantastic except the big plant in the middle that felt as if it would fall on us.
We loved how the the food combined local traditional flavours with unique modern design.
There were four of us literally eating through the whole menue from starters/soups to deserts.
Although it is not ‘ comme il faut ‘ we all tried each
other’s dishes. I did not like each dish equally, but that’s a matter of taste of course, but the presentation and the food quality was outstanding.
Don’t forget to try the old fashion consomme ( comes with marrow bread crisp ) it goes well with the signature home made bread and butter.
They have a nice selection of spirits, as well, we drank prosecco, martini and port wines.
Certainly recommend the place.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 144peterk144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamKamaras, Restaurant Manager at Liszt Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2019

Dear 144peterk144,
Thank You for telling us about your experience here at Liszt! I was delighted to read that you’d enjoyed your meal and that you’d tried a wide variety of our dishes. We love to see people who come dine with us genuinely enjoy themselves. Even if its not generally „comme il fault”, feel free to try each others food, feel free to sop up the sauce with our freshly baked home made sourdough... Enjoy yourselves and forget about everything else for the evening.
Hope to see you again soon!
Best regards,
Adam Kamaras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2019 via mobile


We are aware of the danger of being too definitive in reviews when speaking from 3 days experience in a city. We had tried a number of cafes/restaurants in the Jewish Quarter and found them all “satisfactory”. We walked past Liszt on our way to the basilica and liked the clean, modern, somewhat eccentric look of the place so came back that evening. Are we glad we did! While the price was a little above average, the food, presentation, wines and service were way above average. Of a high international standard, Listz is simply in a class of its own and not to be missed.

Date of visit: November 2019
1  Thank 2Queenslanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Csaba_Palfi, Assistant Director of F&B at Liszt Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2019

Dear 2Queenslanders,

Thank you for sharing these kind words about your experience at Liszt. I’m thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the design of our venue as well. The contrast between the classic and cozy Library Room and the modern and „eccentric” Mirror Room also resonates well with the concept of our restaurant. Creating a link between history and the present is a very important part of what we do at Liszt. Our menu also offers some of the region’s historical dishes, reimagined in a modern presentation, prepared with innovative kitchen technologies. Thank you again for your compliments and for joining us for dinner! We are looking forward to hosting you again!

Best regards,
Csaba Pálfi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2019

While prices may be higher than other restaurants in the area, the quality of the food and flawless service warranted the difference. We had 3 courses with glasses of wine and paid about $80 US--far better than prices here at home!

Please try the Mangalica pork pate! It was indescribably delicious--perfect with their fabulous bread!

Great evening! Definitely would go back.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank chefsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Csaba_Palfi, Assistant Director of F&B at Liszt Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2019

Dear Chefsteve,

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences at Liszt. I’m delighted to read how much you enjoyed our regional dishes, like the Mangalica Paté, and our friendly service. Our signature service that we welcome our guests with is our „bread and butter” (Pun intended). Our freshly baked, home made sourdough bread, Janet, served with salted butter and our own filtered water are our humble way of keeping the tradition of bread and water alive. I’m happy that they helped make your night memorable. It was our pleasure to host you, thank you for choosing us upon your arrival to Budapest!

Best regards
Csaba Pálfi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2019 via mobile

I beautiful elegant restaurant. It is very personal and the staff is tremendous (To commend one person who made our holiday special....Adam. Knowledgeable and very honest). During our holiday my wife and I ate at Liszt twice. Both incredible experiences.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank ChrisC581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Csaba_Palfi, Assistant Director of F&B at Liszt Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2019

Dear ChrisC581,

Thank you for your kind words about how much you’d enjoyed your nights at our restaurant. I’m ovejoyed that we could make such an impact on your holiday as providing honest and personal service with the right balance of professionalism and fun is one of our most important missions in Liszt. Also, thank you for being adventurous and for letting us introduce you to a variety of flavors and ingredients that are fundamental elements of our heritage and best showcase the diversity of our region’s gastronomy. Hope to see you again during your next visit!

Kind regards,
Csaba Pálfi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liszt Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Liszt Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing