We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget
Ranked #68 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice spa”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Great spa and warm swimming pool for family. The hot water is from hot spring, so we could keep hot inside our body even we went out late night. The hotel is placed a little apart from the city center but it wouldn't be problem if you drive there. The room had enough space for 2 adults and 1 child. I can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AKT0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NGabeli, Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments regarding the great spa.
It is a pleasure for us that you enjoyed your stay with us and recommended our hotel to other travellers.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Danubius Hotel
Best regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    562
    212
    63
    28
See reviews for
349
570
90
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Stayed 6/4/14 - 10/4/14
The reception on arrriving was excellant our bags where taken from the taxi ,checking in took moments .we were then taken by the bell boy to our room. The room thou a little dated ,was clean and spacious with a great view of the Danube.
The restaurant was excellant with live background music in the evenings. The breakfast was self service.
The spa pool was excellant , we didnt take any treatments .
The island has the benefit of being quiet althou remote from the town centre. Once we discovered the local buses on the island ,this was no longer an issue. We then appreciated the serenity of the setting.
If you want relaxation the hotel is ideal. If you prefer to be in the town centre and its attractions ,this hotel is n't for you .
Incidently the spa was a real luxuary so maybe the Gellert would be a good choice

Room Tip: We had a river view ,perhaps spoilt by the high rise appartments on the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NGabeli, Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comment: It is a pleasure for that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our reception, the restaurant and the spa excellent.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Danubius Hotel and perhaps you can try one of our relaxing or rejuvenating treatments as well.
Best regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

The room was clean and comfortable staff helpful and friendly, food good to very good only criticism would be no breakfast tea or milk in the room, there were two tea bags and two tiny pots of creamer delivered on request but that's your lot! if you wanted another cup of tea ring housekeeping and yes two tea bags and two creamers, seems very penny pinching when everything else is fine. We found the room very quiet but hotel not very busy, time of year I suppose.

Room Tip: Overlooking the river is nice and interesting watching the amazing boats going past.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NGabeli, Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comment: It is a pleasure for that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our services good and the staff friendly.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Danubius Hotel
Best regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Beautiful island, nice staff, calm place, relaxing thermals, amazing view.
Need wifi in the rooms also they need improve clean the rooms.
I recomend this place,except for who are allergic (too much carpets).

Room Tip: Ask about the anti allergic rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulogac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NGabeli, Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
We hope you had a safe trip back home and first of all we would like to thank you for having chosen the Danubius Hotel Margitsziget for your last stay again in Budapest. We are pleased that you had a memorable stay with us and you enjoyed our facilities, the beautiful island, the calm place, the relaxing thermal baths and the amzing view and you even found the staff very nice.
I would like to inform you that in some months we can offer free WIFI for all of our guests in the rooms as well. Hopefully you can try it at your next visit.
Thank you very much for your positive comments and hope we can welcome you back next time too.
kind regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

During mid-march I stayed with my girlfriend for 3 nights at this hotel . We visited Budapest and wanted to enjoy a relaxing weekend.
We reserved the deluxe double room .
I am giving this hotel an average score but this is because I consider certain elements crucial while many of you may not.
Problems :
. Soundproofing is very bad. To me, being able to enjoy some quiet time without hearing everything my neighbours whisper is important. Unfortunately this is not possible here . We could hear most of what our next door neighbours talked (and they talked not yelled), their TV , everything in the hallway, and a lot from our neighbours upstairs. So this could be a huge problem if you want to sleep and your neighbours want to stay up and chat or watch TV :)
. Beds, we asked for a kingsize and got 2 bed stuck together. Now this is normally not a problem but these beds had wheels and tended to go their separate ways during the night :).
. No free WiFi in the rooms. These days not providing such a cheap, readily available and sometimes necessary service is just bad.
. Room is a bit worn out with aging furniture (which is actually nice) , rusty heat elements and a partially "impaired" terrace door. No mosquito nets on the windows which could be quite a downside during the summer.

Advantages:
. Beautiful view. Our room overlooked the park and it was beautiful
. Terrace. We had a small classic looking terrace where you could just sit and enjoy the sun and the view. I imagine that in the summer this is even better.
. Helpfull and competent staff. Excellent language skills (I also heard come of them speaking german ). Also very helpful and ,it seemed to me , customer oriented.
. Nice spa section. Small but well kept. Has a swimming pool with cool water and 4 hot water pools plus a kneipp foot bath . Also at the time it had a beautifull cherry tree blooming outside.
. Hotel outside look. Very nice, classic architecture and surrounded by beautiful scenery.

All in all this would have been an excellent location had the room been provided with some soundproofing. As I mentioned , this for me is quite important and having to sleep with ear plugs because of chatty neighbours left me with mixed feelings about the place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SergiuBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NGabeli, Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We appreciate your efforts for having taken your time for a longer report on TripAdvisor website, concerning your recent stay in our Danubius Grand Hotel!
First of all we thank you for your kind words of the environment, the beautiful view from your room, where you could enjoy the sun. It is very important for us that you found our staff helpful and competent with excellent language skills. Your positive words give us energy to be more and more better.
Regarding your sentences about the king size bed, I have to inform you that all of our deluxe rooms are equipped with twin beds, because they are larger and standard rooms have French beds only.
We are very sorry for the soundproofing you were not satisfied with. Next time we are ready to offer you the most silent room in our classical building in order to have a real relaxing time with us. Please indicate this feature on your booking.
In some months we can grant all of our guests free WIFI in the rooms as well and hope you will visit us in the near future to try it.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Danubius Hotel.
Best regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
大阪府岸和田市
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Spa is also great, breakfast supper was delicious!
But Wi-Fi in the room of a pay it was disappointing.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ヒロユキ1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you very much for posting a positive review on our Hotel.
We are very happy that you were satisfied with our services and would like to inform you that our management is already working on offering wifi gratis in the rooms as well.
We hope you can try it in the near future.
Best regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed at this "Grand Hotel" based on a recommendation. It is an older building with tall ceilings and fair size rooms. Our room was comfortable and clean, a little worn but nothing to complain about. The breakfast was held in the dining room and had a fair selection of items. Internet was only free in the lobby. The staff was polite but not overly friendly. Being on an island did limit activities, no quick outings. We did not visit the spa.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelerforever2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for a positive note on TripAdvisor website about your recent stay in our Danubius Grand Hotel. We are pleased that you have chosen to stay in our hotel. It is a pleasure for us that you found your room clean and comfortable, the staff polite.
A big thank you for sharing your interesting experience with other travellers.
Looking forward to hear from you soon and welcoming back to the Hotel,we remain
with best regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Margaret Island
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
Danubius Hotel Helia
#73 of 334 in Budapest
1,944 reviews
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
#127 of 334 in Budapest
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#95 of 334 in Budapest
5,940 reviews
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget

Property: Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget
Address: Margitsziget, 1138, Budapest 1007, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Margaret Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget 4.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rest in surroundings fit for an aristocrat A stay at the Grand Hotel Margaret Island will leave you feeling like royalty from the turn of the 20th century. The fin-de-siecle architecture is as elegant as it comes, and huge windows offer stunning views over the Danube or the ancient trees of Margaret Island. If you’re after a little pampering – or indeed treatment for a medical condition – you can take advantage of the wellness facilities at the adjacent Danubius Health Spa Resort Margaret Island, fed by the mineral-rich thermal springs that emerge nearby. The sister hotels are linked by a heated underground tunnel, so you don’t even need to set foot outside. The hotel’s range of top-quality facilities and services, and its leafy location in the middle of the Danube, make it a popular venue for conferences, weddings and other events. Margaret Island’s lush parkland is perfect for relaxing strolls, while sporty types will appreciate the fact there are running paths, tennis courts, bikes for hire and a swimming pool within a stone’s throw of the hotel. Furthermore, the hustle and bustle of the city centre is a short hop away by public transport – you can even take the ferry there! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing