We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding reception in Grand Hotel, time of our lives :))”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget
Ranked #68 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We got married on the 4th of May and had the dinner and the party in the hotel.
We had 150 guests, 10 of us stayed at the hotel for a couple of days, too.
It was really the time of our life. We started to organize the event 6 months before the date, we met a fantastic lady, she was a conference sales manager, who was our contact and helped to manage everything. She was professional, very helpful, smart and I don't know a better expression, she just "got us". We didn't have to explain for hours again and again, what we had on mind about the wedding party. She totally understood us, and I'm not talking about speaking of the same language.
She was always there for us, responded asap, when we agreed on something, it just happened.
Anybody who organized a wedding yet, must know how difficult it can be. Ours was just smooth and quite relaxing. I loved it, and can't be thankful enough for making my life so easy that time.

The location is beautiful, the Széchenyi restaurant is just marvellous, elegant, decent with easy access to the terrace.

The dinner, wow :)). Before the wedding we had a tasting lunch, the head chef and the somelier took their time and joined us, we went through all the courses one-by-one, they understood and accepted any suggestions of us. I can't tell you how great relief it was, that everything went just easy and we just simply got what we were asking for. The menu was just perfect, most delicious and nicely presented. All of our guests couldn't tell anything but compliments.

The whole crew was amazing. The waitresses, waiters, the Manager on duty were "invisible", but always appeared when there was anything needed. They were elegant, very thoughtful, professional, created a very enjoyable atmosphere.

One more important thing, when it came to financials there was total agreement. We agreed something at the beginning and we paid the amount as agreed. There were no hidden paragraphs, small type attachments, nothing. It was absolutely a fair and clean pay-off. (I heard from my friends a lot of horrible stories about events when the bill went way too high at the end compared to the starting conditions..)

All-in-all we are very happy to have chosen the Grand Hotel for our "Big day".

The rooms: according to all our friends (from many different countries all over the world) were very happy with the rooms, the service and with the whole atmosphere of the hotel. Please bear in mind, The Grand Hotel is the oldest still functioning hotel in Budapest. Don't expect high end, designer pieces furniture and equipments in the rooms. This hotel is a beautiful example of how you can travel back in time but still enjoy the 21st century's comfort.

I do recommend this place for family holiday, for events or for travellers who appreciate elegance and staying in the very heart of beautiful Budapest without the noise big city life.

Enjoy your stay there :).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katus J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Young Couple!

First of all may I offer our felicitacions to your wedding hold at our hotel in the most beautiful month of the year. It was a big honor for our hotel to be the host for your event.
Thank you very much for your positive comments regarding the organization, the location, the staff, the menu, etc. and we are glad that you very satisfied with all of our services.
Once again many thanks for your kind feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our hotel.
kind regards
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,538)
There are newer reviews for Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

729 - 735 of 1,541 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed in this hotel as it was a venue for a business meeting. The location is close to a bus stop, so you can reach the city quickly, the walk is quite pleasant. Spa is free, but if you are young and/or without kids you may prefer going somewhere else.

Greeted by a rather rude middle-aged receptionist. Toilet in our room was of old hungarian style and stank of urine, no matter how often you flushed it. Although the room was booked for 2, they had taken away the second set of towels and bathrobes. In the evening, upon asking for the missing towel, we were told, "you should have asked for it to the room service. Now the room service is not here, I can't help you" (??!?). Anyway, they sent the towels after all and the problem was solved. One morning, a staff opened our room to ask us whether we had taken anything from the minibar. Highly unprofessional ! The breakfast is expensive (15 euros per person per day, also expensive for the European standards) for mediocre options on the buffet.

The hotel does not deserve four stars, considering old dirty furniture, no free wireless in the room and a rude service. The bar of the hotel has limited options and extremely slow service. Wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask them for a room with a normal toilet.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trineTI92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a relative long comment on TripAdvisor website about your recent stay in Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget. We are pleased that you have chosen to stay in our hotel and it is a pleasure for us that you found at least the location peaceful and your walk was quite pleasant.
We are very sorry to learn from your comment that not every service were up to your expectations. There is a continuous effort on our side to improve our services and your comments will help us in it.
We do very much hope you will find the time and the opportunity to return to our hotel (perhaps in some years) and that we can regain your confidence.

Best regards
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

If you choose this hotel for any other reason than bathing or enjoying the running track going around the Margaret Island, you choose wrong. If that is what you look for in surroundings that have either, old timey charm or that creepy shining feeling, and in either cases lots of velour and elderly people, you choose right.

While staying there, i would avoid highly expensive wi-fi, and also i would recommend planning your days so you could avoid the restaurant in the hotel as much as possible. That can be bit tricky, thanks to the location in an island.

Still, a day or two in there, and in relaxing, warm waters, can reduce your stress levels to the minimum.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xtrttvllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for staying and sharing your feedback with us. You are absolutely right if you say the reason you have to visit us is relaxing, bathing, pampering and reducing your stress level. These are very important points of our life. We know that there are several newer, more beautiful and modern hotels in Budapest and we could put up with some facelifting. We do hope that our English owners will have the possibllity thereinafter to give some bright to the hotel and even our younger guests will be satisfied with all of our services.
I trust we can look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in some years.
Best regards
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located on the Island of Margaret. It is quite far away from the city center. A really long walk to the center, cca 50min or you can use the local bus (ask for tickets at the reception). The bus was a good choice.
This hotel is perfect for joggers, because of the beautiful nature of the island. The spa is really nice with pool as well.
What I didn't like were the rooms - old rooms with old furniture. Also the staff at the reception wasn't nice, they don't look into your eyes, they had a lot of work :-( And I didn't like that nobody from the staff said to sauna users not to use bathing-suit in the sauna.
On the other side... the reservation was without breakfast, but we received each morning some small croissant and coffee or tea ;-)
Important... Parking is free.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for sharing your opinion about the hotel.
Thank you for your comments on the environment, traffic and staff.
Looking forward to hearing again from you, I remain
with best regards
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

After the floods in June which saw everyone taken of the island where the hotel is for two weeks, I was amazed that my booking wasn't cancelled and that all seemed back to normal.
Yes, the hotel is dated, yes it is oldy worldy, but the staff seem to be part of a family and instead of a hotel, it feels like home: with the benefits and disadvantages of course!
I've stayed here on business many times and so they know me personally and it is nice to be treated as one of the family.
The facilities aren't always in tip top and the ice machine didn't work, but they always try to be helpful.
And as mentioned by others, the running/walking track around the island is great for walking as well as the large public park in the centre.

Room Tip: Rooms all ok because there are no other buildings on the island apart from the hotel and spa in sigh...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TommyTucker1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for a positive note on TripAdvisor website about your recent stay in our Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget. We are pleased that you have chosen to stay in our hotel. Thanks for your comments like "the staff seem to be part of a family and instead of a hotel, it feels like home "- a big thank you for sharing your interesting experience with other travellers.
Looking forward to hear from you soon and welcoming back to the Grand Hotel,we remain
with best regards

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed here because we were visiting Budapest on a family holiday and it was my grandmother's choice to stay here - she loved the hotel's oldy worldly charm. I thought it was a bit outdated and reminded me of the hotel in the film 'The Shining', as it is like going back in time!

However, the hotel was clean, our room was huge and the beds were very comfortable. We unfortunately had a noisy guest in the room above us, sounded like they were moving around furniture at 5am, so the sleep quality wasn't great. Our stay also coincided with the World Dog Show and there were therefore a lot of guests with their doggy friends staying in the hotel, which meant noisy barking dogs could be heard! Look out for the heavy swinging doors from reception through to the tunnel that takes you to the other hotel, almost took myself out a couple of times and lost a shoe!

You have to pay extra for the buffet breakfast, which we felt was silly for a 4* hotel. Great buffet selection, just a shame that it's not included in the price of your room. The hotel staff were ok, but nobody went out of their way to make us feel really welcome. The maids are a pain, as they are noisy, come early and knock on your door even though we had put up the 'Do Not Disturb' sign.

The spa facilities in the sister hotel are fantastic and includes an outdoor terrace on the roof and also an outdoor pool. If I was to stay on Margaret Island again, I may try the Danubius Thermal Spa instead, as it's a newer building and therefore more modern.

Good transport links into the city, the bus comes every 10/15 minutes, but finishes quite early at 11pm-ish, so if you have been out late, you need to get a taxi. I enjoyed my stay on Margaret Island, but next time I would personally prefer to stay in a hotel in the city in Pest, just for the convenience of being able to walk to more places and not rely on the bus. The hotel is located at the far end of the island and therefore around half an hour walk from the 24-hour tram stop.

I'm disappointed that I could not give the Danubius Grand hotel a 5* review, but I sadly didn't feel it was anything special at all. So sorry!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 177, which is huge and has 2 spacious single beds pushed together. Rooms 184/5 are...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a comment on TripAdvisor website about your recent stay in Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget. We are pleased that you have chosen to stay in our hotel,and it is a pleasure for us to understand that generally you had a good experience in our hotel.
Your opinion on our services is of the utmost importance,and your feedback will help us to improve our services.Being an oldtimer in the hotel it is always .a pleasure for me to read comments like you put it "she loved the hotel's oldy worldly charm."However, the hotel was clean, our room was huge and the beds were very comfortable."
Regarding the buffet breakfast I kindly inform you that we have several rates available on our website, you have the possibility to book with or without breakfast. For those who do not want to eat anything in the morning hours we offer croissant and coffee free of charge.
Thank you again for your very kind comments and we hope we can welcome you back as our guest -maybe with some of your friends-in the near future. Try our neighbouring Health Spa Resort Hotel next time!
Best regards

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We choose this hotel for its peaceful location and the spa. The spa was wonderful and we spent several hours a day recovering from sightseeing, easing our soar feet .This was our first trip to Hungary, Budapest is stunning city, which we explored with the the help of the number 26 bus which runs through the park connecting to the trams , the most useful being the number 2. Otherwise its a 20/30 min walk to get off the island to start sightseeing.


The hotel room and bathroom were clean,house keeping was efficient and the room was comfortable, if a little cluttered with too many tables. The room was decorated in a classically traditional style.


The hotel staff were helpful in their Hungarian way any problems we had were addresses quickly and resolved with ease. Over the weekend we found that generally Hungarian service is efficient but lacks a smile. ( which makes a refreshing change from false American customer service .)

This hotel has an older clientele so the atmosphere is very sedate. We couldn't really makes use of the park as the weather was terrible, bu tI can imagine its beautiful in the summer, if you are a runner , bring your trainers the jogging track around the island is a must. Overall a great trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for posting a positive review on our Hotel.
We are very happy that you were satisfied with the location of the hotel and you mentioned "Budapest is a stunning city". it is a pleasure for us that you could enjoy our spa and wellness facilities, and that you found the whole staff friendly and helpful.

We are pleased that you had a good experience and a pleasant stay and found the room clean and comfortable.
You are right when you say "can imagine its beautiful in the summer", certainly we all waited the spring time because if we have a good weather, the island shows its best face.
Once again many thanks for your kind feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our hotel.
kind regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Margaret Island
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
Danubius Hotel Helia
#72 of 333 in Budapest
2,111 reviews
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
#126 of 333 in Budapest
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#98 of 333 in Budapest
6,330 reviews
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget

Address: Margitsziget, 1138, Budapest 1007, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Margaret Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: $67 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget 4.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rest in surroundings fit for an aristocrat A stay at the Grand Hotel Margaret Island will leave you feeling like royalty from the turn of the 20th century. The fin-de-siecle architecture is as elegant as it comes, and huge windows offer stunning views over the Danube or the ancient trees of Margaret Island. If you’re after a little pampering – or indeed treatment for a medical condition – you can take advantage of the wellness facilities at the adjacent Danubius Health Spa Resort Margaret Island, fed by the mineral-rich thermal springs that emerge nearby. The sister hotels are linked by a heated underground tunnel, so you don’t even need to set foot outside. The hotel’s range of top-quality facilities and services, and its leafy location in the middle of the Danube, make it a popular venue for conferences, weddings and other events. Margaret Island’s lush parkland is perfect for relaxing strolls, while sporty types will appreciate the fact there are running paths, tennis courts, bikes for hire and a swimming pool within a stone’s throw of the hotel. Furthermore, the hustle and bustle of the city centre is a short hop away by public transport – you can even take the ferry there! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing