We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for joggers and spa lovers... free parking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget
Ranked #69 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Kosice, Slovakia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect for joggers and spa lovers... free parking”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located on the Island of Margaret. It is quite far away from the city center. A really long walk to the center, cca 50min or you can use the local bus (ask for tickets at the reception). The bus was a good choice.
This hotel is perfect for joggers, because of the beautiful nature of the island. The spa is really nice with pool as well.
What I didn't like were the rooms - old rooms with old furniture. Also the staff at the reception wasn't nice, they don't look into your eyes, they had a lot of work :-( And I didn't like that nobody from the staff said to sauna users not to use bathing-suit in the sauna.
On the other side... the reservation was without breakfast, but we received each morning some small croissant and coffee or tea ;-)
Important... Parking is free.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for sharing your opinion about the hotel.
Thank you for your comments on the environment, traffic and staff.
Looking forward to hearing again from you, I remain
with best regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    538
    205
    63
    27
See reviews for
335
546
84
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glastonbury
Level Contributor
106 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

After the floods in June which saw everyone taken of the island where the hotel is for two weeks, I was amazed that my booking wasn't cancelled and that all seemed back to normal.
Yes, the hotel is dated, yes it is oldy worldy, but the staff seem to be part of a family and instead of a hotel, it feels like home: with the benefits and disadvantages of course!
I've stayed here on business many times and so they know me personally and it is nice to be treated as one of the family.
The facilities aren't always in tip top and the ice machine didn't work, but they always try to be helpful.
And as mentioned by others, the running/walking track around the island is great for walking as well as the large public park in the centre.

Room Tip: Rooms all ok because there are no other buildings on the island apart from the hotel and spa in sigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TommyTucker1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for a positive note on TripAdvisor website about your recent stay in our Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget. We are pleased that you have chosen to stay in our hotel. Thanks for your comments like "the staff seem to be part of a family and instead of a hotel, it feels like home "- a big thank you for sharing your interesting experience with other travellers.
Looking forward to hear from you soon and welcoming back to the Grand Hotel,we remain
with best regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed here because we were visiting Budapest on a family holiday and it was my grandmother's choice to stay here - she loved the hotel's oldy worldly charm. I thought it was a bit outdated and reminded me of the hotel in the film 'The Shining', as it is like going back in time!

However, the hotel was clean, our room was huge and the beds were very comfortable. We unfortunately had a noisy guest in the room above us, sounded like they were moving around furniture at 5am, so the sleep quality wasn't great. Our stay also coincided with the World Dog Show and there were therefore a lot of guests with their doggy friends staying in the hotel, which meant noisy barking dogs could be heard! Look out for the heavy swinging doors from reception through to the tunnel that takes you to the other hotel, almost took myself out a couple of times and lost a shoe!

You have to pay extra for the buffet breakfast, which we felt was silly for a 4* hotel. Great buffet selection, just a shame that it's not included in the price of your room. The hotel staff were ok, but nobody went out of their way to make us feel really welcome. The maids are a pain, as they are noisy, come early and knock on your door even though we had put up the 'Do Not Disturb' sign.

The spa facilities in the sister hotel are fantastic and includes an outdoor terrace on the roof and also an outdoor pool. If I was to stay on Margaret Island again, I may try the Danubius Thermal Spa instead, as it's a newer building and therefore more modern.

Good transport links into the city, the bus comes every 10/15 minutes, but finishes quite early at 11pm-ish, so if you have been out late, you need to get a taxi. I enjoyed my stay on Margaret Island, but next time I would personally prefer to stay in a hotel in the city in Pest, just for the convenience of being able to walk to more places and not rely on the bus. The hotel is located at the far end of the island and therefore around half an hour walk from the 24-hour tram stop.

I'm disappointed that I could not give the Danubius Grand hotel a 5* review, but I sadly didn't feel it was anything special at all. So sorry!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 177, which is huge and has 2 spacious single beds pushed together. Rooms 184/5 are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a comment on TripAdvisor website about your recent stay in Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget. We are pleased that you have chosen to stay in our hotel,and it is a pleasure for us to understand that generally you had a good experience in our hotel.
Your opinion on our services is of the utmost importance,and your feedback will help us to improve our services.Being an oldtimer in the hotel it is always .a pleasure for me to read comments like you put it "she loved the hotel's oldy worldly charm."However, the hotel was clean, our room was huge and the beds were very comfortable."
Regarding the buffet breakfast I kindly inform you that we have several rates available on our website, you have the possibility to book with or without breakfast. For those who do not want to eat anything in the morning hours we offer croissant and coffee free of charge.
Thank you again for your very kind comments and we hope we can welcome you back as our guest -maybe with some of your friends-in the near future. Try our neighbouring Health Spa Resort Hotel next time!
Best regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We choose this hotel for its peaceful location and the spa. The spa was wonderful and we spent several hours a day recovering from sightseeing, easing our soar feet .This was our first trip to Hungary, Budapest is stunning city, which we explored with the the help of the number 26 bus which runs through the park connecting to the trams , the most useful being the number 2. Otherwise its a 20/30 min walk to get off the island to start sightseeing.


The hotel room and bathroom were clean,house keeping was efficient and the room was comfortable, if a little cluttered with too many tables. The room was decorated in a classically traditional style.


The hotel staff were helpful in their Hungarian way any problems we had were addresses quickly and resolved with ease. Over the weekend we found that generally Hungarian service is efficient but lacks a smile. ( which makes a refreshing change from false American customer service .)

This hotel has an older clientele so the atmosphere is very sedate. We couldn't really makes use of the park as the weather was terrible, bu tI can imagine its beautiful in the summer, if you are a runner , bring your trainers the jogging track around the island is a must. Overall a great trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for posting a positive review on our Hotel.
We are very happy that you were satisfied with the location of the hotel and you mentioned "Budapest is a stunning city". it is a pleasure for us that you could enjoy our spa and wellness facilities, and that you found the whole staff friendly and helpful.

We are pleased that you had a good experience and a pleasant stay and found the room clean and comfortable.
You are right when you say "can imagine its beautiful in the summer", certainly we all waited the spring time because if we have a good weather, the island shows its best face.
Once again many thanks for your kind feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our hotel.
kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It was my first trip to Hungary and I really like it.
The great plus of this hotel it's location on a beautiful island not far from the center of the city. And of course, spa, that located on a hotel territory and can spend plenty of time there.
Service was really good. All people on reception understand English and some other popular languages like German, Spanish, Italian, French and Russian.
Breakfast was rather good. Also you can drink coffee or tea in a room, at any time.
So I think this hotel have a good services for his price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tetyanochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you very much for posting a positive review on our Hotel and for recommending us to other travelers.
We are very happy that you were satisfied with our professional and friendly staff, as well with our wellness services. We are glad that from the wide range of choice of our delicious breakfast, you were able to find your taste.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you to our Hotel in the future again.

Best regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klausenburg, Transylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Very disappointed about this hotel. If this is all what hungarian tourism can do, than I advise them to start selling groceries.
All that fancy appearances which claim to be of four stars worth nothing if your bathroom stinks of urine and I rather prefer to open the door of the main entrance myself than watching the boy - whose job is this -, hating his whole life having to open doors in front of guests etc. etc. Not to mention that nice little intermezzo when the safe of our room has blocked and it lasted a couple of hours till the personnel of the hotel managed to recover our values from it.
It might be a good choice for retired elderly people who just want to ramble all day long on the floors wearing their white bathrobes before or after their nice and cozy wellness experience, but I'm not going back anymore, that's sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andolini_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry to learn from your comment that not every service were up to your expectations. There is a continuous effort on our side to improve our services and your comments will help us in it.
We do very much hope you will find the time and the opportunity to return to our hotel (perhaps in some years) and that we can regain your confidence.

Best regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere
Level Contributor
127 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

-poor bedding (springy mattress; 2 pillows no resistance; bedding ripped)
-no good connectivity option... wired or wireless is charged, per device (not per room). have tablet, smartphone, and laptop?
-no clothes iron
-cant even get free water
-no free outlets near the table

+spa (i suppose)
+okay service

decor treads precariously between old world opulence and disco era throwaway. ive been in hotels that were completely beat down, but tries to masquerade as "vintage"...... this one is both: the main furnishing (desk, chairs) are decent quality. the closet stack and such are shabby. faded carpet really shows the age. bathroom a tad small. bed blanket had a tear in it with a patch on top and the patch was coming loose. mattress very low quality and you can really feel the springs. no amenities or things of importance for the business traveler: big desk, open outlets near the desk, good value connectivity, and good sleep. overall unmemorable place

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justarandomperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your efforts for having taken your time for a report on TripAdvisor website,concerning your recent stay in our Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget!
We are pleased that you have chosen to stay in our hotel.Your feedback will help us to improve our services,thank you very much for your support.
Referring to your comments about the standard of our rooms:yes they are old, and as you put it"furniture had the charme of the last century.
We definitely hope that after the end of this financial crisis,our owners will be able to raise the funds necessary for a "facelift" of the Grand Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you again at our hotel.
Best regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Margaret Island
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
Danubius Hotel Helia
#72 of 333 in Budapest
1,889 reviews
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
#126 of 333 in Budapest
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#96 of 333 in Budapest
5,785 reviews
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget

Property: Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget
Address: Margitsziget, 1138, Budapest 1007, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Margaret Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget 4.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rest in surroundings fit for an aristocrat A stay at the Grand Hotel Margaret Island will leave you feeling like royalty from the turn of the 20th century. The fin-de-siecle architecture is as elegant as it comes, and huge windows offer stunning views over the Danube or the ancient trees of Margaret Island. If you’re after a little pampering – or indeed treatment for a medical condition – you can take advantage of the wellness facilities at the adjacent Danubius Health Spa Resort Margaret Island, fed by the mineral-rich thermal springs that emerge nearby. The sister hotels are linked by a heated underground tunnel, so you don’t even need to set foot outside. The hotel’s range of top-quality facilities and services, and its leafy location in the middle of the Danube, make it a popular venue for conferences, weddings and other events. Margaret Island’s lush parkland is perfect for relaxing strolls, while sporty types will appreciate the fact there are running paths, tennis courts, bikes for hire and a swimming pool within a stone’s throw of the hotel. Furthermore, the hustle and bustle of the city centre is a short hop away by public transport – you can even take the ferry there! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing