We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fanastic first stay in budapest!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cosmo City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cosmo City Hotel
Ranked #56 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fanastic first stay in budapest!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

it was my first visit to the wonderful city of budapest, i can not fault this hotel at all, for the four days i was there, the room as clean, super service and the staff were excellent nothing was too much for them, breakfast was nice more than suitable for myself and my hungarian friend who also joined me for breakfast, lovely view of the street, toursit stops very close brillant wifi, i will be back to beautiful budapest next year and shall be staying at this hotel, thank you all for a very lovely break full of good memories.

Jenny From Malta

Room Tip: just request a double bed if needed, i did and it was very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 141jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borbala_Soos, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmo City Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear 141jenny,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your review of your stay with us.
I really delighted to read that our service team was friendly and attentive throughout your stay and we that we had a chance to contribute to make this nice memories of Budapest . It was our pleasure to serve you. Your kind words will be shared with our entire team.

We are looking forward to host your again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    345
    83
    14
    2
See reviews for
75
365
34
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
486 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

we stayed four nights at this wonderful hotel right in the centre of Budapest (pest side) and couldn't want for more. From our arrival to our checkout everything was great. Right on a main street with hundreds of restaurants (including one at the hotel where breakfast was served) it was a foodies paradise. Couldn't fault anything and really hope to get back there to stay again. recommend to anyone who wants to be where the action is.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slwityk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

we just came back from a 3 nights stay. the room (302) has big room and bathroom. very clean . we saw the danube from our room . the staff was very helpful. the breakfest is very basic. for me it was o.k, but for my daughters,had nothing to eat. the excellent location allowd us to walk to a lot of attractions ( even the chain bridge). we enjoyed our stay and we will come back again

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dafna g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Spent two nights here in June and I couldn't find any faults. Big bedroom, comfy bed plenty of towels. Great air con which was well needed due to the heatwave when I was there. Safe in the room, mini bar, hairdryer, shampoo all the usual stuff. Breakfast was very basic help yourself (croissants, meats, cheese, eggs, cereals, juices and loads of types of tea). I brought my own tea being Irish just in case. Staff were very helpful in organizing a taxi to pick us up at the airport and bring us back. Taxi was expensive about E30 each way but we didn't want the hassle of buses or trains. We also arrived late so wanted to get into the city sooner rather than later. The hotel booked us a bus tour which included a boat trip on the Danube which was well worth it. About a 10 minute walk from the hotel up Vaci Utca there is a lovely square with shops and a hard rock cafe. Nice at night with the street performers and little market stalls. All in all it's a great hotel and I would highly recommend it and it's such a beautiful city

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anninero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borbala_Soos, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmo City Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Anninero,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments and for choosing Cosmo City Hotel on your recent visit to Budapest.
Your detailed feedback is highly appreciated.
It was a delight to read that you were satisfied with the hotel and the service.
Many thanks for your recommendation and your kind words about our city. I hope that we can welcome you back in the not far future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had just one day and night in Budapest and wanted to be centrally located for sight seeing and an easy trip to the airport. The Cosmo was clean and well managed - the staff could dircet you to all of the popular destinations, oredr your taxi and even change currency. The decor is 'funky' and the aircon welcoming. For £60. it was very good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PenelopeThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borbala_Soos, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmo City Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Penelope,

Thank you for taking time to post a review on Tripadvisor.
We certainly appreciate your feedback and I will make sure to share your comment with our team.
We hope you come visit us again, and we can welcome you back during your longer visit of Budapest in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

On arriving at the hotel from the airport, 40 minutes, I was quite surprised at the little entrance to the hotel.
It is situated down the side street and up a few stairs. The reception staff were helpful when prompted.
Hotel room was on the 4th floor. This is where things got better.
The room had great air conditioning which was welcoming as it was at least 30 degrees outside!
Loved the room and the bathroom was ok too.
View not great as it was on the side street. I would recommend going for a view on the main street. Vaci.
The location was great. In amongst all the restaurants and shops. Vaci Square is a ten min walk from the hotel.
We took the tour bus which was the normal stuff.
If you are thinking of getting a boat ride, don't bother going to dock 11 to catch your boat in the evening. This was thrown in with th bus tour. Very busy and you will struggle to find a seat. Best bet is to get a vintage Limo for a 2 hour trip 15000 HUF for two people (can fit six). a day trip and an evening trip to see the sun go down over Pest from Buda.

Breakfast was not great at the hotel, sorry to stay.

Would I stay thee again?
The room says yes if it had the Vaci street view. Go for room only and get a breakfast over the road.

Room Tip: Try to get a room looking over Vaci sq. By the way, the Danube is a 1 minute walk away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Interlaken1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borbala_Soos, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmo City Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Interlaken1,

Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts. Your opinion is really important for us, and it helps us to highlight how to improve our service. I am very sorry to read that the breakfast did not meet your expectaions.

Besides I am glad to hear that you were satisfied with the personal service, the hotel room facilities and the location of the hotel as well.

We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.

Warm regards from Budapest,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Cosmo Hotel is on Vaci utca St. which is full of restaurants and shops. The location of the hotel is very silent. Tuna river is few steps away. You can easily reach main attractions by walk,tram or bus.
The room i stayed is a bit small but very comfortable.

Totally recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MuratOk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borbala_Soos, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmo City Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Murat,

Thank you so much for visiting us at Cosmo City Hotel and for highlighting the outstanding location of the hotel.
We appreciate your kind remark.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in the heart of Budapest.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Estilo Fashion Hotel
Estilo Fashion Hotel
#51 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,315 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#41 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Promenade City Hotel
Promenade City Hotel
#76 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
District V / Inner City
Residence Baron
Residence Baron
#50 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#52 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmo City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmo City Hotel

Property: Cosmo City Hotel
Address: Vaci utca 77 | (entrance is on corner of Havas utca and Vaci utca), Budapest 1056, Hungary (Formerly Cosmo Fashion Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosmo City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel with unique modern design is situated right on the famous pedestrian Vaci Street, just 400m from the Great Market Hall and the National Museum. The chic Cosmo City Hotel features 36 comfortable and well-equipped rooms, ideal for both business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Cosmo City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing