We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern hotel in fab location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cosmo City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cosmo City Hotel
Ranked #57 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Modern hotel in fab location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for only a night but it was in a perfect spot. Right next to the Danube river so close to the bridge to cross to the buda side and right in the centre of things to do. We had a lovely modern room, not overly big but we don't spend enough time in our room to need much space. Like others have said breakfast wasn't great but it is a traditional continental and it's always a bonus to get some food thrown into the price. I wasn't expecting a lot as I had paid so little for the hotel but it was really charming and I would definitely stay again. X

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank amy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    352
    86
    14
    2
See reviews for
76
373
35
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. Location was perfect near the Danube and the centre. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and ideal for what we wanted. Breakfast was continental / buffet style but basic. I would recommend they book your transfers as we got ripped off!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RunningC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Location is a winner. Close to everything from fast food restaurants, souvenir shops, Danube promenade, public transport and the Market Hall where you can join the locals enjoy traditional food and alcoholic beverages. This is where we had our goulash soup, not in some fancy restaurants. We purchased the 48h Budapest Card with free use of the Hop On Hop Off tour bus. The hotel is roughly 7 minutes walk to the nearest bus stop (Red Bus Line) or 2 minutes walk (Yellow Bus Line). NOTE: There is no Yellow Bus Line Hop On Hop Off service between 07 Jan - 28 Feb (subject to change). Just in case you miss this info.

Another advantage is the Hop On Hop Off River Cruise on Dock 11 which is roughly 10-15 minutes walk from the hotel. This is included in the 48h Budapest Card. Again, service is limited to 2 trips (2pm & 7pm - without stops, sadly) during the said period.

The hotel is clean and staff really friendly. Front doors of the hotel are kept locked at all times for added security. Don't expect to see a grand reception area.

Free wifi with strong signal. There is a mini bar and espresso machine in the room. No tea making facility. Breakfast ...... well, limited choices and most people will find it rather disappointing. We made sure we had enough to keep us going until lunchtime. Raday Utca is 10 minutes walk from hotel with decent restaurants.

Travelling by public transport from the airport is quite easy. Bus 200E from airport to Kobanya/Kispest Metro Station, take the Metro train and you get off at Kalvin Ter station. Look for a church-like building with a clock and you go on that direction. The road bends to the right. Keep walking until you reach Burger King and then turn right to Vaci Utca.

Enjoy!!!
One last tip: Buying currency at any London airport is strongly not advised because the exchange rate is rubbish. We were better off withdrawing money from our debit card in a bank in Budapest but do your own research. Based on my calculations inclusive of charges/commissions:

London Stansted Moneycorp £1 = 293.186 Hungarian Forints
HSBC Debit Card used to withdraw from bank in Budapest £1 = 320.375 Forints

...... not rocket science eh!!

Room Tip: Room 205 is in the pedestrianized Vaci Utca so expect to hear some noise from jolly people. Good v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMomentHumansBlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Purely by luck found this hotel on the internet and had no idea of locations in Budapest but the Cosmo Hotel is brilliantly located - on Vaci Street the traffic free street on the Pest side where you can pick up souvenirs from the numerous tourist shops and eat in any one of the many restaurants. It is so well located you can walk to all the local sight seeing sights including a boat ride along the Danube and exploring the huge famous Market Hall about 3 minutes away.

Laid out as a boutique hotel with the Reception on the first floor - the rooms are small but new and clean and there is everything you need for a few days stay in a City. The staff were extremely helpful. The only negative was the breakfast but as there are plenty of cafes nearby that wasn't really a problem.

I will definitely stay there again

Room Tip: not sure if there are actually any "good" or "bad" rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ros H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had trouble finding the hotel on a rainy night, but once we found it we were welcomed by friendly staff.

The double bed bedroom we had was spacious and clean. Beds, bathroom and televison were all looking brandnew as well.

This hotel surprised us in a good way. Very good value for the money.

Also Wifi was free of charge.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gekkehuisss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel was in the best area for sightseeing, restaurants, bars and shopping and was only 1 block from the danube. We asked for high floor to minimise noise and we heard nothing. The room and bathroom was modern and comfortable. the bed was large and comfy and bathroom clean with great shower. We asked the hotel to arrange airport transfer which made it easier although a little more expensive, particularly as we had an evening flight back so we knew our bags/passports were safe in the hotel and the taxi arranged. The breakfast was a disappointment, mainly salad with frankfurter sausages and scrambled egg which was nice and fried eggs which were like cold rubber bullets, but the english were in the minority and it did cater for all nationalities. The coffee was terrible, when it worked it was black and even too strong to add cold milk, luckily we took a kettle and coffee sachets which i would recommend. The room did have a coffee machine but only made expresso.We went early november but the bar closed at 9.00pm one night and shut for the winter from then i think. The hotel arranged our tickets for the tour bus/danube cruise which was a good idea for the first day to get our bearings. We did "hop off" at the city park for an hour which was lovely and it was an easy walk to the chain bridge for the funicular.The best street for bars/restaurants in this area was raday utca and we ate in the market restaurant upstairs for authentic hungarian goulash. Because this was the main tourist street, the bars and shops were slightly more expensive but i would definately stay in this area and at this hotel again.

Room Tip: High floor and you can get a river view from the side rooms , which arealso quieter. e.g. 404 and 40...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel is ideally located to explore Budapest.

The staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful.

The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable with nice bathrooms.

The food at breakfast was fine - standard continental breakfast fare - but the drinks were horrible. The orange juice was the most horrible orange colour and certainly didn't taste of orange. The apple juice was seriously watered down and the coffee undrinkable. This is a minor issue as there are loads of good coffee shops around.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GilliCaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Estilo Fashion Hotel
Estilo Fashion Hotel
#48 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#42 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Promenade City Hotel
Promenade City Hotel
#79 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
District V / Inner City
Residence Baron
Residence Baron
#50 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#52 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmo City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmo City Hotel

Property: Cosmo City Hotel
Address: Vaci utca 77 | (entrance is on corner of Havas utca and Vaci utca), Budapest 1056, Hungary (Formerly Cosmo Fashion Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosmo City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel with unique modern design is situated right on the famous pedestrian Vaci Street, just 400m from the Great Market Hall and the National Museum. The chic Cosmo City Hotel features 36 comfortable and well-equipped rooms, ideal for both business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cosmo City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing