We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Stay - Lovely City”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cosmo City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cosmo City Hotel
Ranked #59 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
279 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay - Lovely City”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the Cosmo, have been relocated there from our original hotel, due to a water pipe breakage. The Cosmo was a short distance away and possibly more conveniently situated. The rooms were comfortable if not large and the bed was ok. Our towels were not chnaged in the 3 dys we were there, and it was not clear if we should have left them on the floor, as is normal practice in hotels. Breakfast was typically continental, but the warm food, eggs etc was tepid at best. The coffee machine was very slow and did not produce the best coffee I've ever tasted, far from it. However, everything else was plentiful.

The reception staff were always helpful and courteous. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a good central location. One good thing about the hotel is that is has a no smoking policy throughout.

Room Tip: I don't think any rooms have an advantage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarwickshireMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    352
    86
    14
    2
See reviews for
76
373
35
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
257 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in July & had no problems at all, within walking distance to all attractions, about 10 mins walk to the main bars & restaurants, the ones close by to hotel are poor quality & will try their upmost to get you in there. Wifi in hotel which worked perfectly & also a safe in room which helped. Breakfast was plentiful in the morning, would stay there again if we came back to Budapest

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Colincfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights. Room was modern and clean. Good location, restaurants and shopping nearby. Metrostation was also closeby. Staff was helpfull ja friendly. We got asked to prepay our stay at hotel but that didn't bother us because everything was what we expected it to be. Breakfast was ok. Only complaint was that there were no soundproofing at all. We could hear every word that our neighbours said. That was problem especially at night. Good priced hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelergirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights, room was a bit on the smallish side but we managed. Good location, restaurants n shopping closeby, easy walking distance to sights.

Bathroom had chipped tiles, bedsheets were changed after 3 days, not sure if that is the usual case, we got asked to either prepay our stay (which was not a condition when we booked the room) or leave our passports with the front desk which wasn't gonna happen so we prepaid. Breakfast needs to be worked on, huge fly on bread turned me off completely from eating anything there, stuck to fruit.

Restos in the area are super expensive and average quality so try n head to Raday Utca (sadly we went there our last night there) or the various side streets off the main shopping belt.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KY13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Very good hotel.

The only clear improvement area is the breakfast that could have been a bit
better. Especially coffee and juices served as a part of breakfast were not a
proper quality.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Hotel is located on one of the main tourist streets in Budapest. The rooms are large, clean and well decorated. The hotel has free wi fi which was useful. The breakfast was OK but items that ware supposed to be hot were cold as the warmer was not working properly. Good priced hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AandLBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

A small but very chic boutique hotel on the south end of the touristy Vaci utca. Very new & contemporary décor with the latest facilities in the bathroom – although no bath, only a large and very acceptable shower. Neat rooms come complete with air con., satellite TV, with a small number of English language channels, and minibar, but no tea & coffee making facilities.

However the modernity does not extent to the breakfast room which has wood panelled walls and squeaky floorboards.

Overall, a modern, quiet and tasteful hotel in a good position. We got a very good deal for four nights, mid-week in the early season – but the published tariffs in the hotel suggest it may get expensive later on. However, if I could get a similar deal, I would gladly go back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saltyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Estilo Fashion Hotel
Estilo Fashion Hotel
#47 of 342 in Budapest
1,048 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 342 in Budapest
2,338 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#40 of 342 in Budapest
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Promenade City Hotel
Promenade City Hotel
#80 of 342 in Budapest
804 reviews
District V / Inner City
Residence Baron
Residence Baron
#51 of 342 in Budapest
664 reviews
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#54 of 342 in Budapest
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmo City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmo City Hotel

Property: Cosmo City Hotel
Address: Vaci utca 77 | (entrance is on corner of Havas utca and Vaci utca), Budapest 1056, Hungary (Formerly Cosmo Fashion Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosmo City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel with unique modern design is situated right on the famous pedestrian Vaci Street, just 400m from the Great Market Hall and the National Museum. The chic Cosmo City Hotel features 36 comfortable and well-equipped rooms, ideal for both business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cosmo City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing