We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Budapest
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveler rating
76
29
7
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
76
29
7
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews king size bed bars and restaurants reception team excellent hotel great shower recommend this hotel great location central location within walking distance a great stay jewish quarter barcelo city privacy comfort pillows
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 119 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2019 via mobile

This hotel is perfect for a mini break to Budapest. Our room was very spacious, spotlessly clean and a very comfortable and large bed.
The staff are verh welcoming and helpful.
It's clearly a very new hotel and very modern.
The rooftop bar was not ooen- that was the only minor disappointment in an otherwise fabulous stay!
I highly recommend it.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank sarahsF8930SO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelobudapest, General Manager at Barcelo Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2019

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comment about our hotel.
It is great that you were satisfied with most of our services and our staff and very sorry that we could not opened our skybar. We are working on it and hope that during your next visit you can try!
Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2019

A modern, clean & tidy hotel in an ideal location close to numerous bars and restaurants - the ruin bars are a definite must see!
Staff were approachable and helpful. Breakfast was superb, a range of food available to suit anyone.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank Bertlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelobudapest, General Manager at Barcelo Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2019

Dear Bertlar,
Thank you very much for your review and thank your for sharing with us all your positive experiences. It is true that our hotel is located in the centre of the city and also we do all our effort to serve a superb breakfast!
We hope that next time we can do even better so we will get a 100% score from you.
Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2019

Great week, lovely hotel in a good central location.
Was very pleased with the service and the reception team were warm and welcoming. Not speaking Hungarian was also not a issue at all, would definitely go again!

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank Barnaby_140919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelobudapest, General Manager at Barcelo Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2019

Dear Barnaby,
We were also very pleased when we have seen your great review about your stay with us. Thank you for all your positive comments and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay!
Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2019

My girlfriend booked this hotel for four nights in August, and one of the main reasons was because of the rooftop bar. However we were not told this was no yet open/finished until we got there. Nice. We complained to reception about this but all they did was say sorry. Next problem was the room - the air conditioning wouldn't go any lower than 20 degrees (obviously set like this), which in my opinion isn't cool enough when it's 35 degrees outside. There is also a random green sensor in the ceiling in the room, which you couldn't turn off or cover so it was like sleeping with a bright night light on. One night, there was a lot of noise in the hallway with a neighbour banging and shutting their door for about half an hour at 2:30am. I tried phoning down to reception but it wouldn't work - the next day we asked why and the chap on reception said they had printed the instructions for every room wrong and they were "in the process of correcting them". My advice would be to avoid this hotel and pay a bit more money for somewhere where you will get proper customer service. I am fully expecting a long-winded apology to be written below by the hotel, but no offer of compensation.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Craig_M_L_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelobudapest, General Manager at Barcelo Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2019

Dear Craig M L 23,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and I am really sorry that you could not enjoy your stay in our hotel. As you can see, for us the biggest value is the satisfied guest so we do reply to each comment that we receive and also we always ready to learn and improve our services.
I am really sorry that our skybar was not opened during your stay, we opened our hotel on 15th July and when we were informed by the construction company that we cannot open the bar at the same time we removed all information about, we are sorry that we could not informed all our upcoming guest about it. It is a very unpleasant situation for us as well, but not much we can do just say sorry and not promote it anymore.
You are also 100% right, we set the AC for minimum 20C when the weather outside is over 30C. It is healthy and environment friendly, these are the reasons why we did it, sorry if it was not comfortable for you.
We are quite a large hotel with 179 rooms and we are sorry that some of our guest are noisy during the night, I hope you understand that we do not always have influence on this topic. The small green LED light is a mandatory emergency light above the door of each room, and normally not visible in the bed, it is there to provide 100% safety of our guest. Regarding the phone, you are also right, we just opened our hotel a few weeks ago and we make mistakes, and when we realise than we correct and improve it. This happened also with our room phone, so now all the guests can properly use it.
I hope you see that we already improved what you did not met your satisfaction and really hope to welcome you back next summer when our skybar will be opened.
Finally would like to say sorry that we could not meet your expectations and could not enjoy your stay with us.
Best regards,
Gergő Galla
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2019

Me and my friend stayed in the Barcelo on our last night in Budapest, staff were very welcoming and smiley, reception area and dining areas were beautiful and our room was fantastic. I would definetly recommend the Barcelo.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank swinga680040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelobudapest, General Manager at Barcelo Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2019

Dear swinga680040,
We are very much pleased to read your excellent review and would like to say thank you for that.
It is great to see that you were 100% satisfied with all parts of the hotel.
We hope to welcome you back again.
Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews