We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Was "Okay" But Would Choose Something Else Next Time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Budapest GuestRooms
Ranked #10 of 190 Budapest B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night. I was looking for a place with ensuite bathroom but not expensive. This is basically someone's apartment and the rented out the rooms. In summary, it was an okay stay but I'd stay elsewhere if I'm ever coming back to Budapest.

Pro:
- Clean, quite modern
- Responsive host if contacted via email, good English
- Location is near tram and one stop away from nearest metro station
- Free sparkling water
- Good wifi

Cons:
- A bit difficult to find even with instruction, but once you know where it is, easy to go around
- The magnetic room card key failed few times for me. I had to try 6 times until it succeed. Its a bit scary as it was midnight that time and the host is living elsewhere. She said if there's anything just call her but tourist for 1 night like me would not bother purchasing Hungarian phone card and I'll have to use my origin country number which will makes it international call! Gah!
- I really had to go to the bathroom and there's no common bathroom at all beyond the private rooms (the host said). - doubt it tho because where would she go if she needs bio break? - think she has another toilet but guests were just not allowed to use it

If you find my review helpful, appreciate if you can press that helpful vote. Thanks!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ti_Chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BudapestGuestRooms, Manager at Budapest GuestRooms, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Thank you for your staying with us and for your review. It helps us to develop to be better and better every day based on our guest requirements.
We are a small charmful B&B in a historical centre part of Budapest called Palace District behind National Museum and the famous Eötvös Lorand University.

What is fact we have no 24 hours reception as we have only 5 uniquely decorated very clean en-suit rooms with air-condition in a 100+ years old building.
However we always are here when our guests arrive as they notify us about their arrival time. We are here to serve their breakfast and we are here to clean the rooms and of course to help in any matter our guests signal to us. We also provide a phone number for emergency case where they can contact us any time and as we have here FREE WIFI connection.they are able to reach us cost effective way as well.

We have a safe door opening system used in hotels with chip card; to handle it easily you have to remember only few basic thinks what we carefully show to you step by step at your arrival time.

As our accomodation have only 5 rooms we have no separate toilet on the common area but naturally every room have own bathroom with private toilet .

In addition if you stay with us you can live here like a local does we provide friendly personal atmosphere and you will have more authentic holiday experience.

Judit Somogyi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 168 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed here between 5th and 10th September 2012. Great location for sightseeing, spotlessly clean rooms, lovely breakfast (great coffee, fruit, cheese, meats, yogurts, super breads, cakes!) and local inside knowledge from Judit who couldn't have been more helpful and spoke fluent English! What more can I say other than thank you Judit for a great introduction to Budapest. We shall be back to finish off the sightseeing we didn't do and to eat the cakes we didn't get to try!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoGo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We had a really nice welcome and great advise for our our 1st visit at Budapest. The guesthouse is really well-situated, close to public transport.
Our room was really spacious, clean and comfortable. We were happy to be there for a rest after a huge day of visit.
Judith, the host, gave relevant advise which allows us to visit nice areas of Budapest.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineK75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed with Judit for 4 nights in Jun and my husband and I absolutely loved the rooms. The rooms were very clean, well-designed and functional. They were also spacious and having a couch in the room was a really good idea as we could sit and relax after a long day of sight-seeing. The bathroom furnishings were of good qualiy and the bedsheets were silky smooth. Judit was very warm, friendly and helpful and she gave us good suggestions to plan our itinerary optimally especially during the last 2 days before we were due to fly off. We enjoyed the breakfast and the conversations we had which helped us to appreciate the Hugarian culture & life. Overall, it was the best rooms we stayed in our 2 weeks trip (went also to Krakow ,Prague & Cesky Krumlov) and we definitely would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grace l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were very pleased with our stay at Budapest GuestRooms. Judit was a great hostess and helped us pre purchase tickets to the Turkish Baths so we could skip the long line!

Breakfast was delicious and hearty. She also has a little closet with addtional toiletries for the rooms in case you run out. The a/c was wonderfully strong and the Wifi signal worked in the guests room and common area. If you didn't have a computer, you could also connect via the in room TV.

A great residential area- easily accesible via train.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MauraFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

My husband and I just stayed four nights with Judit in her Budapest Guestrooms. The building is a residence of apartments with a central courtyard - quite lovely. Judit couldn't have been more gracious when we arrived (a little late), with my husband quite ill with allergies (or a cold, we're not sure). She immediately directed us to a pharmacy that was still open.
When we returned, she gave us all the information we needed about the building, our room, and Budapest, in general. The next morning, she prepared us an ample breakfast - we had paid a little more for eggs, etc.

All in all, we were very pleased with the accommodations - very cheerful with touches of color throughout the room, the bathroom, and the common area. The breakfast area and reception are very small, but our room was very good sized - and very well equipped with a small refrigerator, hot water pot, cups, saucers, teas. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean and sparkling. The bed was very comfortable - and the WiFi easy and quick - the air conditioning worked fine and kept the room comfortable.

We enjoyed the area and found a couple of good restaurants nearby. We traveled to Judit by Metro (that's a unique experience in Budapest) - and were a little confused when we came out of the Metro station, but found the way shortly and easily. The station (Blaha) has some seedy characters hanging around, but we have lived and traveled in many large citiies - they are the same - we didn't feel threatened or unsafe - just walked along confidently.

If you are looking for an intimate, comfortable accommodation conveniently located, you can't go wrong with Budapest Guestrooms and Judit.

Room Tip: Room 3 is off to the side - so you don't hear others coming or going. But the Guestrooms is sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FloridaRetiree2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I stayed here on the 27th April 2012 with my husband and 4 month old son. We contacted the guestrooms to arrange transport from the airport and were glad to see someone holding a plaque with our names in arrivals. We were welcomed by the owner, Judith who was very friendly and spoke exceptionally good English. Judith gave us a map and suggested the best places to visit during our short stay in Budapest. Our room was very clean, modern and far greater than expected. Breakfast was continental with cereals, pastries etc and more than filling for our days walking. The guestroom is located down a quiet street, 3 minutes walk to the main road which heads towards the river Danube and the bridges. There is a Tesco extra near by and other amenities. We didn't use any public transport and choose to walk the entire city. This way we didn't miss anything and burnt off a few calories we were adding from the local beers and ice creams. Overall a great mini trip to Budapest and I would gladly recommend this guesthouse and location to family and friends.
A good tip when traveling to Hungary is to take pounds and get them exchanged over there for a better rate.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Fraser Residence Budapest
#18 of 335 in Budapest
1,219 reviews
Kapital Inn
#1 of 190 in Budapest
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Parliament Penthouse Budapest B&B
House Beletage
#5 of 190 in Budapest
285 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Mango Aparthotel and Spa
Mango Aparthotel and Spa
#8 of 190 in Budapest
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budapest GuestRooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest GuestRooms

Address: Kofarago utca 7. | Palace District, Budapest 1085, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range: $62 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Budapest GuestRooms 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budapest GuestRooms is a family owned, charming, crystal clean, recently refurbished B&B and SUITES with KITCHENETTE in old classical buildings IN THE CITY CENTRE. We offer a perfect solution if you are looking for a convenient and affordable central accommodation in Budapest. We are pleased to feed you with local information, recommend you what is going on in the city and help you to make programs. Our peaceful B&B is located in Kofarago street near to National Museum, Dohany street Synagogue, the famous New York cafe, lively pubs, restaurants etc. Our elegant SUITES with KITCHENETTE are in Erkel street TOP FLOOR near to the river the famous Central Market, Vaci shopping & Raday restaurant streets, Gellert thermal spa etc. Breakfast is optional. We offer FREE WIFI, kettle, coffee, tea, fridge and AIR-CONDITION in each room. You can conveniently reach everything on foot in the center, and public transport is also excellent from us. Our accommodations are in reduced traffic streets, the rooms are QUIET. We have transfer service. There are car parks close to us (about EUR 10/ day). STAY WITH US to feel like home, just BOOK any of our accommodation DIRECTLY at OUR WEBPAGE or via MAIL and you will get real value for your money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Budapest GuestRooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing