We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Budapest
Post
Inbox
Search

“An absolute gem worthy of Michelin stars”
Review of Laurel Budapest

Laurel Budapest
Reserve a Table
2
Mon, 2/17
8:00 PM
Ranked #23 of 4,166 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $87 - $195
Description: Laurel Budapest offers fine dining experience introducing Hungary’s treasures with friendly service and cozy ambience. Main ingredients are chosen carefully from local farmers and manufacturers. Adam Mede’s kitchen is based on his experience in various Michelin-starred restaurants and his young team prepares all the meals in a modern, unique style without limitations. We change our menu every three months following the four seasons of the year.
Restaurant details
Description: Laurel Budapest offers fine dining experience introducing Hungary’s treasures with friendly service and cozy ambience. Main ingredients are chosen carefully from local farmers and manufacturers. Adam Mede’s kitchen is based on his experience in various Michelin-starred restaurants and his young team prepares all the meals in a modern, unique style without limitations. We change our menu every three months following the four seasons of the year.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After a long career in food and wine, I am rarely surprised. However chef Ádám Mede bowled us over with his spectacular menu of fresh, exciting, balanced dishes which reflect his Hungarian roots, while providing a contemporary twist on seasonal produce. The wine list is well thought out and represents excellent value for quality with sommelier Péter Tüú providing an impressive and well informed tour of Hungarian greats among other world classics. Service friendly and well timed. Ignore the slightly austere surroundings, this is real fine dining.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norina29, Egyéb at Laurel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Mary D,

We are more than pleased to read your experience you had with us! By working with the bests, we are trying to reach a very high level, so every one of our guests can enjoy the same fine dining experience. Thank your for sharing with us! Hope to see you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited Laurel in Jan 2020. We booked online which was very simple and had a table within the hour.

It was super quiet, and we were actually the only people in the restaurant for most of the meal...what an experience!
We had the chefs 8 course taster menu and a bottle of red wine to share. Every mouthful was delicious and we loved watching each course being carefully prepared through the window.

Thank you Laurel Team for a great last night in Budapest! :)

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank sarahgV9411CN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norina29, Egyéb at Laurel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Sarah G,

We are very happy that we could give you something extra to your last evening in Budapest. The chef menu is always a good choice and our sommeliers are always there to recommend a matching, great wine to the meals. Thank you for your words. Hope to have you as our guests soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2020

My friend and I were dropped off her by one part serendipitous circumstance, and another part Barrel-aged Scottish Wee Heavy from the craft bottle shop across the street. Either way, we were welcomed, introduced, and indoctrinated into what would become one of the more memorable dining experiences of our lifetimes.

The ambiance, service, attention to detail, and of course the food delivered a Michelin-level experience that will linger long in our memory and on our taste buds.

Will be recommending to friends for years to come, and if that omnipresent serendipitous supernova has anything to do with it, a return trip ourselves...

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MJellick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norina29, Egyéb at Laurel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear MJellick,

What a night! We are more than happy to read that we are in your "one of the most memorable dining experience of your lifetimes" list. We were trying to create something special by focusing on all the little details that a person can recognize and what makes the evening more memorable. Hope you see you back with us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020

We had a great experience, very flavorful dishes and attentive service. Highly recommend the tasting menu.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hip0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norina29, Egyéb at Laurel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Hip0101,

Thank you for your words. Our goal is to make every one of our guests think the same and have the same experience that you had with us! Hope to see you soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020 via mobile

Excellent, I want to come back. The attention is great, the food like a Michelin restaurant, the aperitif formidable, I took the chef menu, 8 courses, and goes from less to more. An awesome surprise.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank Foncho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norina29, Egyéb at Laurel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Foncho1,

We are so happy to read our guests experience. We are looking forward you visiting us again! Also, we are changing the seasonal menu in every 3 months. So, if you are ever coming back to Budapest, you can try that as a new surprise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laurel Budapest also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Laurel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing