We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and creative menu.”
Review of ICON Restaurant

ICON Restaurant
Ranked #320 of 3,160 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: District I / Buda
Description: Innovation and tradition meet at Hilton Budapest’s Icon Restaurant. Modern and elegant, the stunning new Icon Restaurant embraces the future and yet pays homage to the history of the Royal Castle District. Icon has introduced warm, fresh and contemporary decor throughout to create a relaxed, friendly and informal atmosphere. The Icon is ideal for getting a taste of a culinary experience or to host a special event in the private dining room. Featuring an upscale 240-seat restaurant with a private salon and 16 panoramic windows guests of Icon can choose from a distinctive Hilton Breakfast to an extraordinary a la carte lunch and dinner menu as well as a sumptuous weekend brunch.
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great views and creative menu.”
Reviewed March 17, 2012 via mobile

Regardless of your views on such a ugly building being built in such a beautiful location I must admit the views from the restaurant where fantastic, over the Danube and parliament.
We visited midweek and got a window seat. The restaurant was quite but this didn't effect our experience.
The menu was creative but still filling enough to replenish the reserves after a busy day sightseeing.
We had two courses, I had the goulash soup and my gf roasted vegetables with beat root sauce, bright pink much to her delight. I then had duck and the gf the salmon. All where very well cooked and well presented.
All enjoyed with a local Hungarian wine.
All in all well worth our visit for the view and for the delicate tastes with our meal.
Well worth an evening out for the food and the after dinner walk around Fishermans Bastion, not sure we would visit again but that's really not as there was anything negative about our experience, more that Budapest seemed to have lots of great restaurants

Helpful?
Thank Davethemint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    56
    27
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Service!”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Very pleasant setting, lovely staff, tasty food and very reasonable!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laffylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Valentine's Day Dinner”
Reviewed February 14, 2012

In one word: Perfect!

The view from our window table had to be THE best in Budapest, and must be one of the best anywhere. The special menu was nicely put together. Our selections were perfect. The wine list has a very reasonable priced Hungarian Egri Bikavér ("Bull's Blood of Eger") with the Hilton's private label. I was very good.
The service was great, the trio in the background was very nice, the Valentines day decorations tasteful, and parking is surprisingly easy. All around a great experience.

Thanks!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wolfgang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
93 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Location great but for a Hilton - very poor”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

The food is average , the prices high and the staff looking for cash tips

Helpful?
Thank BudapestDavidandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Sunday Brunch!”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We were lucky enough to be invited by our "local" friends to have brunch at Icon. It was gorgeous Autumn day, and well, the view from the Castle/Hilton just CANNOT be beat! But the best part? The endless flow of wine! We started out "sparkling" and then tasted a myriad of Reds, Rosés and Whites that tickled our tongues and pair wonderfully with the buffet -

Correction: THE SPREAD

One thing that is difficult to find in Hungary is the iconic American "salad"... and for brunch, there were so many tasty veggies that you could mix with Hungarian style vinegar salads, pickles and the mayonnaise types that it was difficult to stop eating. The soups, fresh baked rolls, seafood.... wow!

The main courses were also incredible. They had an amazing roast aside a a cornucopia of Magyar fusion dishes. We all made our rounds and probably spent four complete hours eating. Besides the free-flowing wine (and beer for the dads!); my favorite was the desert. The chestnut puree is to die for... so many cakes and cookies. *Sigh*... I wish I was there RIGHT NOW.

The restaurant itself is comfortable and the staff is very attentive. There's some live piano music and the clientele range from well dressed socialites to the average traveler. It's a nice excuse to get dressed up!

I highly recommend this experience if you have to meet up with a larger group - or if you have a huge family reunion and no one feels like cooking. It is worth every penny. As the brunch winds down, you can gaze out over the castle to the the view of the Magyar Parliament. It is truly an "Iconic" view... so romantic and pleasing to the eyes.

And after all that gluttony? All you have to do is walk outside and explore the Mátyás Templom, the Vár (Castle) and museums. A healthy walk down the neighborhood steps to the the River and "Lánchíd" (Chain Bridge) will leave you in a blissful state.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RockieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ICON Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to ICON Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing