We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern varied menu”
Review of Bali Cafe - CLOSED

Bali Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, European, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Modern varied menu”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Nice menu, not usual tourist food, must say service from waiters a bit mixed, some very nice and polite, not so others.
Just a note, the service charge of 10% is added to the bill, which is not abundantly clear so don't pay twice !! One waiter actually asked if he could keep the extra change !! Which we thought a bit cheeky, so we refused.
We eat here 3 times and the specials change daily and are all very nicely cooked and quite generous portions.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank lesleydcarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    201
    48
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Czech Republic
Level Contributor
81 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“nice place, friendly staff, good food”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Just wanted to say that this was suggested by our hostel staff and we were very happy with the restaurant. It was a Friday evening and the staff graciously seated us even though the only free table was reserved.

Quality food, nice and quaint restaurant..not touristy. We had the traditional Hungarian stew-goulash with noodles and it was very good.

Definitely a safe bet if you are staying in the area and don't want to have to aimlessly look for a restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tejashombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“lovely food after long jurney”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We got to our hotel after 7pm so were hungry after travelling, we walked along the main road and this iooked open and inviting. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was fab.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gillian e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hungarian food for affordable price”
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Went there today for a late lunch. The staff is friendly and speaks English. I ordered a delicious pork with paprika and potatoes, and my friend ordered chicken paprika with noodles. To top it off some hot chocolate. Watch out : the version with chili is HOT!!!

Helpful?
Thank Julio P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Breakfast voucher”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The hotel I stayed at used them as the breakfast voucher. Ok choice, I had the musli with fruit and yoghurt, they also served tea and coffee and a glass of orange juice.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank droydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bali Cafe also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing