We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Budapest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center
Ranked #59 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed there in the beginning of May 2014. The hotel has a good location, next to Blaha Luiza Metro station and Spar supermarket. It's not in the center of Budapesta, thus not as expensive, crowded but still close to shops and restaurants.
We had a great room on the corner with 2 windows on separate walls overlooking the square.
Breakfast was very great, good variety of food with a bit of a problem with the service once it got crowded.
On the downsides I would mention 3 things: not the best variety of toiletries in the bathroom, very small excercise room with only 2 treadmils!! and lack of free Wifi in the rooms(allthough they had it in the lobby, this is 2014 it is not possible for it not to be available in the room as well...)
Staff was helpful and helped us with all the little questions.
All in all a good location, nice staff but for the money paid I would consider other options as well

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlinF868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferenc H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments here on TripAdvisor.

I am most pleased to read that the team was able to make your stay as enjoyable as you always experience here at the Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future!

Kind regards,

Ferenc Horvath
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

603 - 609 of 1,160 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2014

Stated here for 3 nights on business got a suite upgrade. The room was very clean. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The food served in the restaurant was not bad but there was plenty of room for improvement, hence, the 4 star.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferenc H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

hank you for your comment with regards to your stay with us here at Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center.
I do look forward to welcoming you all back in the future.

Sincerly,

Ferenc Horvath
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Went to Budapest for a long weekend for my other half's 30th. We loved this hotel, the location is brilliant, right next to Blaha Luzija ter metro/tram AND bus stop so easy to get around.

Upon arrival the girl at the front desk was very helpful and spoke excellent English, she gave us tips on transport (we opted for a travelcard - strongly suggest) and told us what she liked the most in Budapest. Every time we saw this girl she smiled and asked how we were...in fact any staff member we saw smiled and said hello!

The room was spacious with everything we needed...shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, soap, tea/coffee facilities, hair dryer and ironing facilities. The bed was huge and comfortable and the shower was so lovely I stayed in there for ages.

Our room looked onto the little square which we nicknamed "Hobo Square" as there were a few people sleeping there etc but it was great to people watch and look out at the views.

The breakfast was lovely, we were spoilt for choice and you can help yourself to anything/everything including hot drinks. Fresh fruit every day, continental and cooked.

The sauna/fitness area was good too, we used the gym and chilled in the sauna/steam room and it wasn't busy, just the two of us and very relaxing, this was included in the cost of the hotel which was a bonus!

Strongly recommend this hotel to anyone!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank EmYellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferenc H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I am happy to learn that you found the hotel such a great place for exploring the city.

I do hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon in our hotel.

Kindest regards,

Ferenc Horvath
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Sitting here writing this review in the lobby having just checked out of the hotel. The courtyard by Marriott Budapest is a really good hotel & would be faultless if it didn't try to cash in on travellers need for a good wifi connection, while free in the lobby, they try charge you if you want it in your room. I have been to much smaller and less prestigious hotels where wifi is provided thou out .
Rooms are above average size & very clean with excellent bathrooms & a free mini safe. A small fridge is also provided which is really handy for chilling some really good (and cheap) Hungarian wines in. I found the beds extremely comfortable.
Breakfast was good, albeit the very same every morning, offering full cooked, continental, pastries, fruit, yogurts,& juices, I personally wasn't a fan of the Hungarian sausages but hey, I guess I'm in Budapest haha
Drinks were a little expensive at the hotel bar, much better value in the small bar next door where you can get 2 large beers for less than 700 florint, (about £1.80) but prices did seem to vary a bit depending what time of the day it was and who served you.
10/10 for location, just a 20 minute stroll to the river, but loads of shops and restaurants in the immediate vicinity, and if you do get stuck there's a McDonald's & Burger King just over the road. You literally walk out the front door to get on a tram &the metro station is just as close . I would recommend buying a 2 or 3 day unlimited travel ticket from the metro station, we had the 3 day at 4150 florint (about £12) this meant we could travel on the trams, metro, buses, and even some river boats, and meant you didn't have to worry about validating your ticket every time you started a journey, simply have it ready for inspection if asked.
Overall a very good place to stay, would I stay here again? ..... Probably not, I would look for somewhere with better wifi coverage, after all this is 2014 ! .

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carNottinghamUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferenc H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I am happy to learn that you found the hotel such a great place for exploring the city.

I do hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Warm Regards,

Ferenc Horvath
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Very nice hotel close to the city center. What I really like is the tea&coffee corner and ironing board in each room, and the fact that you can open the window. On the other hand, don’t expect any bathroom amenities apart from a soap and shampoo. For quiet sleep - ask for the room leading to the inner court, the rooms to the outside of the hotel can be noisy in the morning (overlooking the square with trams and buses lines). Generous breakfasts. Stayed three times.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5mice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferenc H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

I am truly delighted you had such an enjoyable stay and we all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back next time you are visiting Budapest.

Warm regards,

Ferenc Horvath
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Me and my partner stayed here for a long weekend and it was lovely. The room was very spacious, we had a great view over the nearby square with a huge floor to ceiling window so you could see everything going on outside yet there was no noise to keep you awake at night. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The only negative we could find is that it is a 10-15 minute walk to the city centre area. There is plenty to see and do within walking distance but if you want the main sightseeing areas then you have to travel a little (these are all walkable). There is a tram stop directly outside the hotel and a subway station just around the corner so even if walking was an issue for you there is plenty of transport on the doorstep.
Thank you for a lovely stay, I was sad to leave!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Faye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferenc H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us here, we really appreciate it.
I am happy to hear that you really enjoyed our hotel and the super friendly staff.
We’re looking forward to welcoming you back- thanks again!

Best regards,
Ferenc Horváth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

If you want to have a great upscale hotel, yet experience the real Budapest then this is the right hotel for you. Inside the hotel is very clean and well decorated with a nice bar, good restaurant and excellent staff, but when you step outside you are in the real Budapest. It is located directly by public transport if you want to use it, but really everything is within a 30 minute walk unless you have mobility issues. The staff can assist you with any question about tourist sites or just things to do, as well as spa recommendations. For the price, rooms, meals and staff you can't beat it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank All-reviews-for-free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferenc H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you had a most pleasant stay with us and that you found our location to be perfect for your needs during this visit.

Kindest regards,

Ferenc Horvath
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#33 of 336 in Budapest
3,151 reviews
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Millennium Court, Budapest - Marriott Executive Apartments
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel
Novotel Budapest Danube
#66 of 336 in Budapest
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center

Address: Jozsef korut 5., Budapest 1088, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Budapest
#37 Family Hotel in Budapest
#44 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#52 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $76 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the Courtyard Budapest City Center enjoy a convenient location in the centre of the city, on Blaha Lujza Square with its metro, bus and tram stops. Each room in the Courtyard Budapest City Centre offers high-speed wired and wireless internet access, a well-lit work desk and an ergonomic chair. Tea and coffee making facilities can be found in every room as well. The Oléo Pazzo Mediterranean bistro, awaits you for breakfast, lunch and dinner. When you are in a hurry, you can visit the Grab 'n' Go Shop for a snack, open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Budapest City Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing