We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic four star hotel with five star service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center
Ranked #59 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel. The rooms are lovely, the location is great and it is very reasonably priced. What made it particularly noteworthy was the service. The staff at the front desk were extremely helpful and went to great lengths to ensure we had a wonderful stay. They even helped us book last minute Sziget festival tickets. Victoria at the bar was an absolute delight. She makes a great drink, put up with our never ending questions about Budapest and even took the time to teach us a few local words. This establishment had everything I look for in hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momo11Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Budapest, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Let me thank you for choosing Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center and sharing your wonderful experience with us and also with the travelling community. What a fantastic review!

It is always a pleasure to read when a guest leaves the hotel satisfied and with good memories. Special thanks for acknowledging the helpfulness of our staff. We will pass on your appreciation to our team, especially to Victoria at the bar.

Your positive and encouraging words motivate us to continue working with joy and enthusiasms. We hope you had a nice journey back home, and we cannot wait to may welcome you back among us to thank you personally for your pleasant review.

Best regards,

Ferenc Horváth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

661 - 667 of 1,160 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

Great location for getting around Budapest. Across from a tram stop and subway station, you can get around Budapest fairly easily by public transportation or by walking. The hotel is new, clean, modern. A courtyard facing room will not look into a garden or green space, but rather onto the roof of the shopping mall under part of the hotel. Those rooms seem to be larger than those facing the street. Rooms facing the street have walls of glass making the room feel bigger than it actually is, and the views can be nice. Comfortable bed and bedding, plus nice bath with tub and shower combo. Breakfast buffet is served in a small restaurant off the lobby. The hot food was always hot, the cold food cold. They seem to have got the breakfast buffet down. I was told there was free internet and computer in the lobby, but when I asked I was told there would be a charge. I thought it was too high of a charge and skipped checking emails. Overall I liked this hotel and its location. Besides the mall under the hotel, there was a grocery store around the corner, and oh yes, a McDonalds across the street.

Room Tip: Room 327 faced out and had a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Budapest, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Guest,


Thank you for sharing your feedback here on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure reading about your experience at Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center.
We are delighted that you liked the central location of the hotel from where you can simply reach any sights of the city. I am also glad that you liked our hotels trendy style and that you also found it clean.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back among our guests in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ferenc Horváth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights with friends, in 3 rooms. The hotel itself is really nice, big rooms, everything necessary is there. Minus is there is no free wifi in t\he rooms, you have to go to the lobby. And we had problems with payment organization - we have payed for all rooms in advance, but when cheking in money has been withdrawn from credit cards again, and even bigger than the cost of our rooms. The staff couldn't organize money return...Seems we'll have to wait 1 month for the bank to withdraw the block. That is not a good organization in a 4* hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarinaNKyiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Budapest, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and leaving us your feedback. I was delighted to read your generous remarks on the cleanliness and size of our rooms. Our goal is to provide every necessity during your stay at our hotel. Free wireless Internet access can be enjoyed by our guests in the lobby and the public areas. Please receive our most sincere apologies for the difficulties you experienced with the payment at the reception. Based on your feedback we will carefully examine this issue.

I hope to welcome you back in the future and please be ensured that you will receive the level of personal service you are accustomed to.

Best regards,

Ferenc Horváth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The hotel was a bit difficult to reach by car, and if you miss a specific exit you may end up driving a clover route to finally reach the place because of the one way roads.

But having finally reached it, I can say that the hotel is superb - Very clean, nice furnishings, good working airco, good tv, good bathrooms, good breakfast selection (a fine mix of fresh cooked eggs, champignons, and fruit). Room also has good fast internet (which is not free, but was included in my rate...).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Memet_osan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Budapest, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your recent stay at Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center.

We enjoyed reading your compliments on our guest rooms and the facilities which are designed to make your stay as pleasant as possible. I am very proud that the breakfast selection was a pleasure for you.

I hope you would consider to stay at our hotel again the next time when you arrive to Budapest.

My very best,

Ferenc Horváth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Hotel is very good as usually you can expect from a Marriott hotel. Room was excellent, only missing thing for me was that the hotel does not have a lounge. Will definitely stay there when back to Budapest next time.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Aytun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Budapest, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time and leaving us such a positive comment. We are more than happy that we could ensure you every expectation from a Marriott brand. We are also glad that you have enjoyed our spacious rooms. As Courtyard is a select service brand among the Marriott brands, instead of a lounge we offer a modern lobby, where our guests can chat, relax or connect to the Internet with the free lobby WiFi access.

Again, thank you very much for your excellent feedback. We would be more than happy to accommodate you at Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center when your travel brings you back to Budapest.

Best regards,

Ferenc Horváth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The staff was great and always helpful. Right next to the subway at a very central place. The breakfast was excellent, well prepared, with a variety of goods. It was the conference hotel but I would probably choose it anyways.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Budapest, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center and writing such a positive review. I was delighted to read your generous remarks about our staff. I am happy that you have found the breakfast tasty and abundant as well as that you were satisfied with the central location of the hotel.

The employees will be thrilled to know their efforts were acknowledged and appreciated.
Let me thank you once more for your valuable feedback and I cannot wait for the pleasure of welcoming you in the near future which will be hopefully as pleasant as this previous one.

My very best,

Ferenc Horváth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The hotel sits smack at the intersection of the metro (line 2) as well as the tram. Getting in and out and all over town was a breeze. Hotel staff is pleasant but the real fun is at the bar. Daniel and his team make for fun happy hours! Rooms are typical Courtyard--not many bells and whistles. Happy with the amenities for the money I pay. Breakfast spread is very good but I'd be grateful if they'd work on their scrambled eggs. I had dinner there one evening and the foie gras was unbelievably wonderful! Concierge was nowhere to be seen most of my stay even though business cards were all over the place. My four nights at the hotel were most enjoyable.

Room Tip: Perfect springboard for sightseeing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onebigepicurean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Budapest, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Let me thank you for your valuable time taken to share your experiences and write such kind words regarding your recent stay at Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center.

I am glad to learn about your compliments on our rooms and location – indeed we ensure easy access to both metro line 2 and the tram. It fills us with joy that you were happy with the restaurant, especially with the happy hours. Please be assured that we have noted your slight negative comment as well.

Once more, thank you for your generous feedback. We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Best regards,

Ferenc Horvath
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#33 of 336 in Budapest
3,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel
NH Budapest City
#75 of 336 in Budapest
1,560 reviews
District V / Inner City
Millennium Court, Budapest - Marriott Executive Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center

Address: Jozsef korut 5., Budapest 1088, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Budapest
#37 Family Hotel in Budapest
#44 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#52 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $77 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the Courtyard Budapest City Center enjoy a convenient location in the centre of the city, on Blaha Lujza Square with its metro, bus and tram stops. Each room in the Courtyard Budapest City Centre offers high-speed wired and wireless internet access, a well-lit work desk and an ergonomic chair. Tea and coffee making facilities can be found in every room as well. The Oléo Pazzo Mediterranean bistro, awaits you for breakfast, lunch and dinner. When you are in a hurry, you can visit the Grab 'n' Go Shop for a snack, open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Budapest City Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing