We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always pleasant stay but ask for a Courtyard room.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Budapest City Center
Ranked #54 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Always pleasant stay but ask for a Courtyard room.”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel on many occasions for business and always found it to be very good.
The staff in particular are a credit to the hotel nod themselves, very friendly and efficient although check in/out can sometimes be a little taxing as there are not many desks for what is quite a busy hotel.
Breakfast is better than I have experienced in other hotels in Budapest with a reasonably wide choice.
Bedrooms are very spacious, well equipped and clean. On my visit last week I was given a room overlooking the street, previously I have always had a Courtyard/internal room.
The noise from the street on the external rooms is certainly enough to disturb you very early in the morning, however when I mentioned this in passing on checkout the receptionist commented that they would make a note of this in my preferences on the system which was a nice piece of customer service.
Would definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Get a Courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 18SCFC83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Budapest, General Manager at Courtyard Budapest City Center, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Gary K!

Thank you very much for choosing Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center again during your last stay in our capital city and writing such a positive review.

I’m pleased to read that you have found the staff friendly and efficient, our hotel will always do its best to serve the guests on the highest level.

Special thanks for the good feedback regarding the breakfast and its wide choice.
I’m glad that you were satisfied with the space, equipment and cleanliness of the bedrooms and you have found the internal room very calm.

Thank you again for your comments and I hope to have the possibility to accommodate you when you travel next time to Budapest!

Best regards,

Ferenc Horváth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    457
    113
    19
    11
See reviews for
150
396
90
209
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay in this hotel with a lovely big room. Everything was perfect and clean and the breakfast buffet had everything you would want. The bar staff were friendly but we found the reception staff to be polite but not very helpful. We had questions about things like train times and the staff wouldn't find them for us, they just told us to ask at the station. This is nitpicking but we are used to 4* hotels going out of their way to help!
But in general a great hotel which is only 15 minutes walk to the centre and 15 minutes to keleti station

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachb911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Budapest, General Manager at Courtyard Budapest City Center, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Rachb911,

Thank you for writing a review on your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center.

I am happy to read that you had a great stay in our hotel and you were satisfied with our spacious rooms, the cleanliness of the hotel, the breakfast selection, our bar staff and the location.

Thank you very much for your comment on your experience with the reception. Our aim is to exceed the expectations of our guests, therefore, please be assured that I will communicate
this issue to our front desk team in order to make the necessary improvements.

Thank you again for your valuable comments and we look forward to accommodate you when traveling to Budapest next time.

Kind regards,

Ferenc Horváth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I will simply list the positives. Sorry I had no negative experiences during my 4 night stay.

- Wonderful bi-level room in what appeared to be the traditional side of the hotel. It felt like an apartment.
- Very helpful and friendly staff.
- Great location on metro stop, tram stop, near grocery store and more local feel (except for the McDonalds). One metro stop from Keleti train station, a few short tram stops from Nyugati train station and on the same metro line as Deli train station.
- You are only a few minutes from downtown by metro, but still away from the heavy tourist zone.
- We loved jumping on and off the ring tram which stops in front of the hotel every few minutes. You are only minutes from Andrassy Ave. and many great restaurants.
- There was reliable plug-in internet in the room and wi-fi in the lobby.
- Crashed the New Years Eve party after midnight so we could dance and hang with fun Hungarians.

Lastly, definitely think about buying a one or three day transportation pass. The Courtyard is at the intersection of the metro into the city and the outer ring tram around the city. Both metro trains and trams run very often. You can fly around Budapest by transport and you will still do plenty of nice walks.

TIP: Take Bus #16 up to Castle Hill from Deak Ferenc or walk across the Chain Bridge and catch it at the Western base of the bridge. The funicular is an overpriced dud and there can be lines.

Room Tip: If you can get upgraded to a bi-level room, it feels like a studio apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcoPolo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Budapest, General Manager at Courtyard Budapest City Center, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear MarcoPolo62,

Thank you for writing such a nice feedback on your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center.

It is always great to read when the expectations of our guests are met. Thank you for your comments on your excellent room experience, the favourable location and reliable Internet service.

We hope to have the possibility to accommodate you soon again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Ferenc Horváth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed three days between Christmas and New Years and got a fine room at a very reasonable price. The location is right on the main tram line and the metro is a block away. Also, you are far enough from the Duna to get more reasonable prices at restaurants. We did not have the breakfast included since the price was outrages even for a hotel. Overall, the rooms were clean and comfortable with a very modern and updated bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen RW W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Budapest, General Manager at Courtyard Budapest City Center, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Stephen RW W,

Thank you for your review on the Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center.

I am happy to read that you like our location with easy access for all modes of public transportation. Thank you for your comments that you have found our rooms and bathrooms clean and comfortable.

When arriving next time to Budapest, I would recommend to book our breakfast inclusive rates, available on weekends where you may enjoy our breakfast buffet with wide a selection of hot and cold items, available till 11AM.

We look further to accommodate you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Ferenc Horváth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rishon le zion israel
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed there for 2 nights in a twin room. A very spatious room with two giant comfortable beds. The interior design is modern and light. Clean room with a kettle in the room. We stayed in a room facing the inner court since the rooms with view are noisy due to the trams very densed traffic. The staff is friendly and breakfast buffet is varied with omlettes, cheese, cold cuts, creals, fruits, vegetables, antipesto, pastries, juices and hot beverages. The next building is a mall and the opposite side of the street there a Mackdonald branch. There is a gym open 24 7.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shlomit6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Budapest, General Manager at Courtyard Budapest City Center, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear shlomit6,

Thank you choosing the Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center while staying in Budapest

I am glad that you liked the interior design of the hotel and that you were satisfied with our breakfast service and our gym faciliites.

We hope to see you soon again in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Ferenc Horváth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Hessen, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Firstly, this is one hotel in Budapest which will gives you price exclusive of VAT. All other hotels provide your VAT inclusive price. So when you are about to pay, you are surprised to shell out additional 20%.
During my stay, the internet at the entire floor wasn't working which wasn't informed to me during check-in and despite that I was given the room at that floor. A change of room was refused. I highlighted this in the feedback, but didn't get a positive response. Room is ok, but for this price you can get much better options to stay in Budapest.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Umang G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Budapest, General Manager at Courtyard Budapest City Center, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear UmangGarg,

Thank you for writing a review. I am delighted to read that your were satisfied with the hotel room.

Thank you for your comment on our Internet service. Whether staying for business or leisure easy Internet access is a top priority for our travelers. For this reason we have upgraded our Internet connection in the past months, moreover Wi-Fi access will be available very soon in all hotel rooms. Please accept my apologies that you were not informed on the Internet outage during your stay and we could not provide you with an other room.

VAT and city tax are excluded from the room rates on our reservation channels. In order to inform our guests about all room charges exact tax amounts are always shown when making your reservation and in our confirmations as well.

We hope we will have the possibility to accomodate you again while staying in Budapest next time.

Kind regards,

Ferenc Horváth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egypt
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

4 star hotel with wide rooms with large bathroom at saturday in the brekfast buffet it was very very crowded we took our breakfast in the lubby too much noises no much varities food it still so crwded saturday and sunday maybe because a lot of people from nearby cities spending their vacation in budapest otherdays its ok but still no much food varities . there is a bus station near the hotel take onlly 3 stations to downtown and to the danube river where you can take a boat trip ( hop on hop off ) near the hotel there is a store for mineral water and foodstuf also there is a pharmacy . rather than breakfast food the hotel is nice .

Room Tip: there are rooms on the main street other on the side , my room was on the side with no much noises...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heshamrateb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Budapest, General Manager at Courtyard Budapest City Center, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on your stay at Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center. I am pleased to read that you have found the location of the hotel convenient. A hop on - hop off boat trip on the Danube is always a very good choice to explore Budapest

Thank you for your comment on your breakfast experience. On weekends usually we have more groups staying at the hotel, therefore, our restaurant can get more busy. Thank you for pointing out the variety of food during breakfast. I will discuss the necessary improvements with our food and beverage team.

When staying next time in Budapest, we hope we will have the possiblity to accommodate you again in our hotel.

With kind regards,

Ferenc Horváth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Millennium Court, Budapest - Marriott Executive Apartments
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#33 of 333 in Budapest
2,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 333 in Budapest
4,231 reviews
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Budapest City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Budapest City Center

Property: Courtyard Budapest City Center
Address: Jozsef korut 5., Budapest 1088, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Budapest
#40 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#51 Family Hotel in Budapest
#52 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Budapest City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the Courtyard Budapest City Center enjoy a convenient location in the centre of the city, on Blaha Lujza Square with its metro, bus and tram stops. Each room in the Courtyard Budapest City Centre offers high-speed wired and wireless internet access, a well-lit work desk and an ergonomic chair. Tea and coffee making facilities can be found in every room as well. The Oléo Pazzo Mediterranean bistro, awaits you for breakfast, lunch and dinner. When you are in a hurry, you can visit the Grab 'n' Go Shop for a snack, open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Budapest City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Budapest City Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing