We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Budapest City Center
Ranked #57 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Positives: Near to metro station. Two metro stations away from the center. Nice, big, clean rooms (our was at the corner, with big windows and very nice view). Nice breakfast with many choices.
Negatives: Only one, like other travellers we think that the price for the internet is unreasonable high (at the lobby i used the computer for 15 mins and i paid 4,5 euros).
Overall: Excellent hotel - one of the best i stayed in, with very good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Menelaos_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    461
    117
    19
    12
See reviews for
151
403
90
212
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Great hotel, great location, great breakfast. Not much more to say.

Room Tip: The airport hotel transfer service usually stops at this hotel first on this particular route. Journ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_O_M_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Nice clean rooms with comfortable beds and friendly, helpful staff. Fast wi-fi.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reterpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed here after redeye from US, so arrived tired. Staff was helpful. Had a paid reservation and that room class was full so they upgraded me to a suite with terrace overlooking the city. Jet lag meant I slept through breakfast, so cannot comment.
The suite was nice, clean, big bath and the terrace was a real bonus. The location was right on subway and trolley stops. My only negative was the high cost of internet access. Why is it that this is free in lesser hotels but so often costly in nicer ones? I ended up just going to the McDonalds across the street, which had free wifi.

Room Tip: I was on the street side but on a higher floor--the noise did not bother me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Real_value_seeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I am a frequent traveler, as well as the designated "travel agent" for my family. Generally, I am pretty good at assessing what I can expect at any given hotel and hotel chain within the States or internationally. So, I was surprised by our experience at The Courtyard Budapest City Center.
Let me start with the pros. It is centrally located, provides easy access to all the tourist attraction while being part of the real city. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. The front desk crew (with the exception of the young man who greeted us at arrival) is very nice and try to be helpful.
That said, I feel I need to share some of our experiences that were clearly not up to the Marriott Courtyard standards. We arrived to the hotel at 2:10 in the afternoon and since we were aware that check-in time is 3pm, we inquired politely if our room is ready. They took our travel vouchers, thoroughly examined it and informed that they had number of were rooms available for an early check-in fee of 10 Euros plus tax. When we declined, we were told in an overly courteous tone that "as a courtesy we may leave our luggage until we return". By that time it was close to 2;30pm. I have been in situations where arriving somewhat early, they were no rooms available, I was also in situations when arriving four or five hours prior to check in time I was asked for (and agreed to) an early check-in fee, I've never been asked to pay about $20 dollars for the privilege of checking in half hour early.
Also,since I stayed in this hotel a number of times before, I knew that some of the rooms have handicapped accessible toilets, which are so high that my feet dangles a couple inches of the ground (I am not a midget, I am 5.4), before we left I requested that when they assign our room it won't have the handicapped accessible toilet. He said he'll make a note of the request, which he probably did because when we checked in the young lady assured us that she took care of it. Clearly my mistake, I took her word for it and instead of checking it after close to 24 hours on the road I went to sleep. Guess what.....? I ended up using the public bathrooms on the conference floor for our entire six days stay.
Amenities... We were provided with hand soap, bath soap and shampoo. We learned that we could get conditioner at the front desk and body lotion from the housekeeping supervisor. The housekeeping staff only had the shampoo to distribute and they only replenished the supply if we requested at the front desk. The same was true for the coffee, creamer and sweetener, nothing was replenished without daily requests. None of these are "catastrophic" incidences, and have I stayed in a one star motel on the side of the road somewhere in boondocks I would have carried my own supplies, but to the Marriott? Never occurred to me. If that is Marriott's idea of saving money, in my opinion it is not good business.
Last, breakfast was plentiful and tasty and there were more than enough "trainees" to clear the plates and occasionally pour coffee. However, some of them need a bit more training.... One morning I made a plate eggs, bacon and potatoes for myself and as I started to eat it I discovered a couple of inches long hair in my eggs. One of the trainees were standing right there waiting for my husband to finish his fruit plate,so she can clear it. She saw me pulling the hair out of my eggs, gave me a disgusted smile, but never occurred to her to say "i am sorry can I get you another plate?" or just "I am sorry".
The long and short of it, location is great, rooms are clean, the service "needs improvement".

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not have handicapped accessible toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NewYorkVeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Marriott Courtyards can be a mixed bag, but this hotel was much more like a Marriott. Very modern, clean room, nice bathroom, comfortable bed. The front desk staff was quite helpful. The location is a bit far from the river, but it is walkable. The hotel itself is a bit sprawling.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Brad_K_NY_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oradea
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Great hotel!
We enjoyed a great weekend in this hotel, and we had the best of time!
Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alinateorean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Millennium Court, Budapest - Marriott Executive Apartments
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#32 of 334 in Budapest
2,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#40 of 334 in Budapest
4,274 reviews
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#79 of 334 in Budapest
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Budapest City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Budapest City Center

Property: Courtyard Budapest City Center
Address: Jozsef korut 5., Budapest 1088, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Budapest
#43 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#51 Family Hotel in Budapest
#52 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Budapest City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the Courtyard Budapest City Center enjoy a convenient location in the centre of the city, on Blaha Lujza Square with its metro, bus and tram stops. Each room in the Courtyard Budapest City Centre offers high-speed wired and wireless internet access, a well-lit work desk and an ergonomic chair. Tea and coffee making facilities can be found in every room as well. The Oléo Pazzo Mediterranean bistro, awaits you for breakfast, lunch and dinner. When you are in a hurry, you can visit the Grab 'n' Go Shop for a snack, open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Budapest City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Budapest City Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing