We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Budapest City Center
Ranked #57 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsville, New York
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Modern Hotel”
Reviewed April 14, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a six night stay at this hotel.

We had a standard room, which was very modern and new. The bathroom was contemporary and spacious. However, we had a little problem with water leaking out from the shower, which is almost level with the bathroom floor. This design seemed a little awkward. The hotel gave us a notice that we might experience some construction noise, but we never heard a sound. In fact, the hotel was extremely quiet.

As previous reviewers have said, the location of this hotel is very convenient. Is is across from the tram and from a metro stop. Once you figure out the public transit system, it is very easy to use. We purchased multipe day passes, and were able to use them on both systems. The area was very busy, but we felt that it was safe.

We had an excellent room rate, but felt that the hotel overcharged for everything else. At one point, I wasn't feeling well and wanted only to order an ala carte order of tea and toast in the morning. This was impossible to do in their dining room, and I was made to order their continental breakfast for $20.00. It was the most expensive two slices of bread that I have ever had! Likewise, their internet and wifi was quite costly. Follow the advice of previous reviewers, and go across the street to McDonalds for wifi and to an internet cafe to access your e-mail. There is a supermarket around the corner for some snacks and beverages. I know that these charges are typical of any city hotel, but it is a shame that this custom continues.

On a more positive note, the staff at the hotel was wonderful. At all times, everyone was helpful, professional and friendly. They spoke fluent English and made us feel very comfortable.

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel, would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: request a high floor to avoid city noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanleymaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    467
    117
    19
    13
See reviews for
153
408
90
213
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2011

Excellent hotel in a good location near to Metro and tramway. One gripe, as a non smoker be aware that smoking is allowed in some public areas. A bit annoying.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harribaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Excellent stay in this hotel in March 2011. I booked two nights for the week-end, one rewards stay, one paying stay. Was upgraded for both rooms to better rooms in the old building with gold welcome package for both rooms.

Hotel is brand new, very comfortable, with the usual amenities you can expect from a Courtyard, at reasonable prices (85€/night). Very silent, maybe due to the low level of occupancy. Location could be better but is decent and the subway is right at the exit of the hotel. I didn't try the health club/sauna but they were also apparently good, based on the comments of the persons I was travelling with.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lex7500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

I can only recommend this hotel. We only stay one night but I have to say unfortunately. We booked the city center view room but on checking in, they gave us a inner court room. We called the reception and they immediately corrected their mistake, so absolutely no harm done. The city view room was great, very spacy with huge king sized bed. We slept very well, like at home. The only thing to consider is that due to the location of the hotel on the main street to/from the center, the city center rooms can be a bit noisy. Mainly the police or ambulance cars which frequent the main street are loud. But the room has sound-proof windows, so we hardly noticed the noise. But if you are a light sleeper, get the inner court room.
The breakfast was excellent, definitely try the croissant!! The personnel was very friendly but they aren't very helpful when you ask about opening hours of tourist destinations. We asked whether the central market is open on Sunday cause we thought it would be closed and they told us it's open. So we went there and it was of course closed. The location is great, city center can also be reached by foot-around 15 minutes walk. But it's directly on the metro and on trams.
Overall, great experience, super room, definitely recommend!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DiaMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

This hotel was great value - only 59 Euros per room booked directly with the hotel. Stayed here for three nights in January 2011.

Stayed with family in two interconnecting rooms overlooking square below - wonderful view, and no noise from the street. About 15 minutes' walk with luggage from nearby railway station (where the train arrives from Prague and Bratislava) - shorter walk without luggage. Just down the main road from the centre of Budapest (about 15 minutes' walk from the main shopping centre and Danube, although the walk is past shops, restaurants, offices etc). Lots of restaurants and supermarkets in the vicinity of the hotel and right across the road from McDonalds with free Wifi (the Wifi in the hotel is a rip-off (1900 forints or about 7 Euros for one hour!) - avoid it at all costs). Felt safe in the neighbourhood, even at night (can't understand why a previous review questioned the neighbourhood) - hotel is in a busy part of Budapest with lots of trams going by.

Good selection of TV channels in various languages and pay-per-view movies (good to keep the children occupied), although slightly pricey.

Went by taxi from the square below to the airport (about 20 minutes) and paid the 'standard' rate of 4500 forints (16 Euros) - although I imagine that even then we paid more than we should have! Taxi rate offered by the hotel was 24 Euros.

Hotel was clean and modern - would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiwi_Traveller06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constantine, Algeria
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2010

I would like to thank all the staff at the Courtyard Budapest, I have been in more than 15 countries and sleep in hundreds of hotels rooms at almost all the major hotel chains but I can surely said this is one of the best, I would like to remark the professionalisms of the front desk staff as well as the General Manager, definitely this is the place to stay at Budapest.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SergioGRivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

I spent a few days for business purpose in Budapest and stayed in the Courtyard by Marriott because of corporate rate. Staff at reception and bar/restaurant allways very friendly. Had dinner at restaurant, good stuff available. Breakfast was excellent.
Possibility to fill in the minibar from little shop at reception - I find this a very good idea!
Rooms were quite large, very clean, modern and well furnished. Internet worked smoothly. Bathroom also modern and clean, very nice "rain"shower.
Location: in the centre at Blaha Lujza square, tram stop directly in front of the hotel, metro station a 2 minutes walk away.
I would prefer a room to courtyard/atrium, rooms facing the street could be noisy.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dudus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Millennium Court, Budapest - Marriott Executive Apartments
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#31 of 334 in Budapest
2,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#49 of 334 in Budapest
954 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Exe Danube Budapest
Exe Danube Budapest
#17 of 334 in Budapest
165 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#40 of 334 in Budapest
4,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Budapest City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Budapest City Center

Property: Courtyard Budapest City Center
Address: Jozsef korut 5., Budapest 1088, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Budapest
#43 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#51 Family Hotel in Budapest
#52 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Budapest City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the Courtyard Budapest City Center enjoy a convenient location in the centre of the city, on Blaha Lujza Square with its metro, bus and tram stops. Each room in the Courtyard Budapest City Centre offers high-speed wired and wireless internet access, a well-lit work desk and an ergonomic chair. Tea and coffee making facilities can be found in every room as well. The Oléo Pazzo Mediterranean bistro, awaits you for breakfast, lunch and dinner. When you are in a hurry, you can visit the Grab 'n' Go Shop for a snack, open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Budapest City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Budapest City Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing