We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic? I dont think so”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Aranybarany - CLOSED

Aranybarany
Cuisines: European, Central European, Hungarian, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: Close to the Kempinski Hotel
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic? I dont think so”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This restaurant is recommended in many guide books, and we were looking for good quality Hungarian cuisine. The venue is central, clean and warm. There's a lots of 'traditional' garb, Hungarian violinist and artefacts. Unfortunately it seems to have veered into the territory of tourist trap. We'd forgive that if the food was up to much but it wasn't. Croquettes bore a stunning resemblance to McCain's frozen variety. Tinned peaches on top of my battered chicken breast with unappetising processed cheese lying in wait. Poor quality produce, badly presented in an unimaginative and 'tourist trap' kind of way. Even the cheese board was 3 cuts of the same cheese. And not cheap. On current form you should avoid the disappointment. Head to cafe kor instead for something Hungarian, great value and buzzing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patsy281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    14
    8
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Next to British Embassy but rather poor food - good violinist!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Family of 4 should have been put off by absence of fellow guests! Atmosphere helped by lovely talented violinist and smiling staff. My duck was rather poor: over cooked, dry and almost inedible. Other family members reported dishes as dull or just not well put together. For a reasonably expensive restaurant, the overall reaction was sadly rather negative! Perhaps we were just unlucky but we all felt that we were eating food that had been in the oven for some time!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Delightful foid & service. Half price.”
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Despite being in tourist area,, was a great find. I had veal with potatoes & mushrooms. He had goulash w bread. Very nicely presented!!! Generous servings. Offered at half price today English speaking staff. Even WiFi if sit in back area. Looked like nobody here.but many more rooms downstairs.
.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelersofers@
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville, New York
Level Contributor
608 reviews
438 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Over the Top!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

What a great place! Real Hungarian cuisine with a variety of very interesting items on the menu, from goose & duck to various game items. I started with a pheasant soup and my main was pheasant with a sauce of currants and puree of potatoes. Wow! It was memorable. My companions ordered a large platter for two of lamb prepared various ways. we shared. It is right off Vigado Square, down from Deak Square...very central in other words. It is catty corner to the famous Gerbeaude Cafe. Go there for coffe and dessert after to make a perfect dinig experience.
I was there for lunch and between 12 & 2 pm there is a 50% discount on the menu. There is also a special tourist menu. you can't beat it and it is real Hungarian. For this quality and variety of authentic dishes in this central area I don't think you could do better either for quality or price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hugh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced and very plain food”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We went here last night to try some Hungarian cuisine, and this place had gotten a nice review in Eyewitnesses Top 10 book. The service was good, but the food was so bland, no flavour, sauces, presentation, with huge prices compared to most places we past by. Our bill was Ft 23640, for 2 starters,2 mains,1 bottle of Hungarian wine,water. The guide listed this place at Ft 10000-15000 for 3 courses and wine. Then they made a song and dance that the 10% service charge wasnt for them and to tip seperately if we wanted. And the violinist was annoyingly trying to get cash out of you all night, and played only a few traditional songs. Save your money and go elsewhere! I would not recommend this place.

Helpful?
1 Thank Farlo9
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Aranybarany also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing