We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay here! Made our trip. Beautiful rooms, excellent service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Continental Hotel Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Continental Hotel Budapest
Ranked #37 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay here! Made our trip. Beautiful rooms, excellent service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

On arrival the grand piano was playing, we were greeted and taken care of from the minute we walked in to the moment we left. The best service we had on our 3 weeks away around central europe. We received an upgrade to a suite. The room was extremely clean and modern. As was the whole hotel. We used the gym every day which was great. The buffet breakfasts were fantastic (though very busy) and the location was good. We would highly recommend this hotel, worth spending the $ on, and would stay here again. This hotel made our trip to Budapest even more special.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZedSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, October 10, 2010
Dear ZedSydney,
I can imagine how pleasant it could be when you arrive to the hotel and the pianist was playing in the grand lobby. We do a lot of efforts to make the breakfast a real good start for the day and it looks you enjoyed it. It was also good to read that this hotel was the best what the service is concerned. I hope you will have chance to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,321
    1,443
    269
    47
    27
See reviews for
445
2,147
144
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

My husband and I have just returned from fantastic break in this magical city. Unfortunately I cannot say the same about this hotel. The reception staff and concierge in particular were incredibly unfriendly and dare I say patronising. The breakfast is a total free-for-all; I could not make up my mind if it was the sheer numbers of persons, the dimensions of the restaurant or lack of staff awareness..but buffet breakfast does not mean searching for your own cutlery and cleaning your own table. It got to a point where I was dreading going down! Mind you, once I got down the food was good and plenty of it. One word of warning..the coffee comes out of a self-service machine (lots of queues) and was not terribly good. The rooms were well equipped, but on the small size. In our standard room, instead of one large duvet we had two single duvets which did not make for a good nights sleep as the draughts ke[pt getting in! My biggest gripe with this hotel was the attitude of reception..on our first night (23-Sep) it was their grand-opening (i though this hotel was open in June?!). The facilities were closed (incl bars, restaurants, gym etc) early to PAYING GUESTS to accomodate this very plush event. When we returned from a night out, we were met by (I would call them) bouncers who asked if we were hotel guests and then said we could not go in the front door but had to go into the hotel via the restaurant at the side. Since when was a PAYING GUEST not good enough to enter through the front door? Without me and the rest of you, there would be no Hotel Zara. The hotel staff should remember that. I will and I won't be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gplGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, October 10, 2010
Dear gplGlasgow,
I was reading with great dissapointment your review about the different arrangements in conjunction with the Grand Opening party. Hotels usually hold such events once in their life and never on the day when the first guest checks in. Due to the high profile of the invited guests there were some security measures in place. Although we made every efforts not to bother our paying guests, I had to read from your comments, there was at least one exception. I do apologize for all the conveniences it caused for you. Double duvets are very seldom liked by guests, they on on requests only. Such a start definitely influenced your overall stay, since the breakfast next morning was again not at your satisfaction neither. I do appreciate however that the coffee was not terrible good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langdorp
Level Contributor
158 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

We were welcomed with a smile and the smile stayed throughout our stay!
hotel is beautiful and has everything you need.
We took a wellness package and this was real value!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikLangdorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, October 10, 2010
Dear mikLandorp,
short but excelent overall opinion, I am especially greatful for observing the smile of the staff. I receive good feedbacks about our wellness package, one of our most popular product. I appreciate all your positive remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

It was our first time in Budapest and were lucky to get an upgrade from their sister hotel, after checking out the hotel on the internet we knew we were in for a nice surprise. The moment we arrived at the hotel we were not dissapointed service superb, rooms small (but perfectly formed), only down side no radio, kept meaning to mention it but never got around to it. I am not a very confident swimmer but ventured into the open air hot pool, on the roof top very magical as the sun set, spa staff very helpful and explained everything clearly, with a smile. Breakfast excellent choices enough to suit most people, although a bit busy at times, a quiter area at the rear with seats always available, our choice for most days. The staff on reception very knowledgable on places to go, everyday things like where to get tram tickets. On arriving back on a couple of nights lady placing piano in reception area ,nice touch. We booked taxi with hotel for return trip to airport worth every penny, driver gave us an interesting insight into life in Budapest, arrived before time and was eager to help. Would love to stay in Continental Hotel Zara again.
Dennybrown Norfolk England

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dennyb15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, October 16, 2010
Dear Dennyb15,
thanks for taking your time and write such a nice review about your experiences in Continental Hotel Zara. Bathing in the sunset in the open air pool on the roof top, knowledgable staff at the desk, soft piano music in the lobby - all these nice touches make the difference, make your stay - hopefully - unforgattable and make you to return to Budapest and to Continental Hotel Zara. I hope you will return shortly and stay with us again. Thank you for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

My partner and I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. We loved the heated open air swimming pool on the roof, the all you can eat breakfast set us up perfectly for the day and the service was outstanding. The only downside was some traffic noise from a nearby main road as we chose to sleep with the window open rather than use the A/C. The concierge service went beyond what we would have expected in sorting out our airport transfer.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, October 16, 2010
Dear Simon1066,
reading your review - a General Manager cannot be happer!. You might enjoyed very much your stay - this is my and the entire staff's duty! Facilities are important in hotel selection, but the service makes the difference. It was a pitty that you could not sleep well with open windows in the heart of the downtown, but if we had known about it we could have changed it to a room facing the courtyard. A good reason to return to us!
Many thanks for recommending Continental Hotel Zara for the readers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

We had a cracking special deal opportunity with Malev tours which brought us to Budapest for the first time, Hotel Zara was above expectation. From the door man and reception area first impression was very strong. Rooms were very clean, modern clean designs, everything seemed to work and generally in excellent condition. I understand is very new so explains it, hope it stays this way. Gym & Pool were in good clean condition. Location wise, i had read on this site the near area was full of beggars, drunks, prostitutes and homeless, this was not at all true, at least during the day. The Hotel Zara is parallel to the main street and the nearest metro station is on that street, like all cities there are often beggars and homeless people at the busier parts of town, this was no different.

Negatives ? Biggest for me is the first night we ate in the restaurant, all was going excellently until we waited 20minutes for the dessert to arrive, by then we had gone of the idea so i went to chase up 'kitchen mixup', was duly cancelled and an apology given. Apart from that nothing of real note, breakfast seemed a bit of a scrum with the room layout putting tables right next to the buffet areas so you often had to squeeze past people to get your excellent varied breakfast. Reception desk were not the friendliest bunch but not at all rude or dismissive, oh and tried to read at night once and the funky bedside lamp made reading difficult.

All in all, we want to come back and won't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 77oria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, October 16, 2010
Dear BigDutchNo1,

many thanks for your positive description on the facilities of Continental Hotel Zara which description from an experienced guest makes our hotel more attractive and trustworthy to the readers. I was however very surprised reading your incident in the restaurant which was certainly a one time case and I really apologize for it. The crowd at breakfast has changed for a better recently with the change of the mix of guests. I do appreciate your overall scores and your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2010

We stayed for two days this week after our Scenic Cruise tour from Amsterdam. A brand new hotel rebuilt from the old Turkish Bath. Wonderful service, thanks Szilvia, Adam and Adam Juhasz for being so caring. Excellent pools and saunas.
Within walking distance of just about everything and one block from busy Rakosi Ave (Ut). Very reasonable rates which include a substantial and varied breakfast. Staff training has been excellent. All the best for the future. I will be back one day.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xpata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,546 reviews
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#17 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Budapest

Property: Continental Hotel Budapest
Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Continental Hotel Budapest 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Continental Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing