We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“David & Iga”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Continental Hotel Budapest
Ranked #39 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“David & Iga”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Very good hotel, rooms very airy and good facilities. Free good speed of wifi in the room if you need it. Plenty of storage for a city break. Breakfast were very good but can get busy towards the end. Good location river is about 5-10 minutes on foot to Elizabeth bridge and about 15-20 to liberty and chain bridges. Reconmend visit to the indoor market to get some fresh fruit early on your trip. Much to see and if you are keen can be done on foot just early planning advised and a good map. Hotel kindly provide a good one. Would recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank didcro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear didcro,

Thank you for recommendation and also for you high scores! As I can read, your city break to Budapest was a little busy, so we look forward welcoming you again at our hotel!

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,389
    1,482
    284
    48
    28
See reviews for
456
2,210
151
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed at Continental Hotel Zara for a week end and we were impressed by the staff politeness, the care for detail (coffee, chocolate and tea kit in the room) and the perfectly working wifi.
As a further improvement, the wellness area could be organized so that everyone recognizes its own dress and room card and no one risks to mix it up with someone else's one.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessandra_Vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Alessandra_Vienna,

Firstly thank you for your long stay. As I can read, you have mostly enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your nice comments about the politeness of the staff. On the other side I’m very sorry, that someone took your bathrobe from the wellness area. I hope you will return soon, since Vienna is „just a block away” from Budapest!

KIndest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Lovely hotel, polite and helpful staff. Perfect location for all the sights and a good base to have. Spent 2 days in Budapest and it's a great city. Bit misleading about spa and pool as the websites lead you to believe they are included in the price, but there is actually a charge of 8€ per person per usage, so can be quite costly if use more than once! Breakfast was good with wide choice of food and was to a very high standard. There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, which you would expect from a hotel like this (as this comes as standard in most lower star hotels). This is a bit disappointing as after a long day sightseeing a brew in your room is much needed!! That is the only fault I can make and would definitely book again!

Room Tip: Standard is just that - no added extra's
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Suzan T,

Thank you very much for your feedback, although it contatins some criticism as well. I would like to inform you, in a few days we will upgrade the service of our standard rooms with tea and coffee making facilities. The usage of wellness - for the request of some travel agents - is not included in all room prices to keep the rate as low as possible.

Thank you again for your booking, we look forward welcoming you again at our hotel.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield UK
Level Contributor
109 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We had booked a 4 day break and the hotel has been great, rooms are compact but perfectly ok for a short stay. Comfy beds, good shower, wifi, kettle all you could need. Breakfasts are plentiful with a huge choice of food, the hotel is central enough to walk to the many different bars and cafes

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bramwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Bramwells,

Thank you for your review, although I’m a little lovelorn about your rating. I hope you will give us another chance to serve you on „excellent” level, because „very good” is not good enough for us!


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the continental Zara from the 14th-17th march for a long weekend while visiting Budapest.
The hotel is in a great location, 10 minute walk to the Danube. And only a matter minutes from many bars and restaurants.

All staff were very helpful and friendly throughout our entire stay. The rooms were very nice and clean, and not as small as previous reviews had made out.
Breakfast was lovely with a great choice of food, we also had a couple of drinks in the hotel lobby, great atmosphere and yummy cocktails!

Myself and my friend had a very enjoyable stay at the hotel and would defiantly return to this hotel when visiting Budapest again!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank D-zengin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear D-zengin,

Thank you for your high scores. It is good to read, that your stay was so enjoyable. Also thank you for your nice comments about staff, cleanliness, breakfast and location. I think, these are the most important criteria of a good hotel. I hope we don’t have to wait too long for your next visit to Budapest.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We have just come back from a 5 day trip in Budapest and we stayed at the Continental Zara Hotel. The room was a bit small but clean and well mantained; the bathroom was also small but the shower was big enough, with hot water (especially in the evening, in the morning it was a bit cold). The temperature in the room was too high for us (25-27 degrees) and it didn't go down even with the window open.
The breakfast was really good, with everything one can imagine to eat. The staff was nice and always polite and helpful. We didn't have the entry to the SPA area included in our price and we didn't use it (it's 8 euros per day, anyway).
The hotel is located in a central area of Pest, full of restaurants and bars. We would definetly reccomend it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolyGuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear HolyGuys,

Firstly thank you for your review, although it contains some criticism as well. I’m very sorry for the temperature in the room, buti it was good to read that you have so much enjoyed the breakfast. Thank you for your definite recommendation!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

No smile, no I hope you enjoy your stay, these are just the basics of customer service, the porter was really friendly he should be promoted! Reception staff on both check in and check out we're miserable! Work tops in rooms were dusty? The customer service at your hotel really does let your hotel down it would have been a much more pleasant experience if they all just acknowledged you and just gave you a smile, the basics!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Sophie G,

I’m very sorry that you found the staff of reception miserable. I hope it was only a bad time for them. As you can read in other reviews, the staff is one of our strenghts. I sincereley hope you will give us another chance in the close future, so that we can restore your faith in our hotel and the company as a whole.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
4,693 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#20 of 333 in Budapest
7,019 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#16 of 333 in Budapest
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Budapest

Property: Continental Hotel Budapest
Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Continental Hotel Budapest 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Continental Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing