We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel choice for Budapest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Continental Hotel Budapest
Ranked #40 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2014

A well maintained hotel in a great location. The river and central shopping areas are about a 15 minute walk away but the hotel is situated in the Jewish Quarter very close to great bars and restaurants. The rooms are on the small side but were modern and clean. Breakfast was lovely and we found the staff at reception very helpful. Would recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: The taxi that the hotel called for us to take us back to the airport was 2000HUF more than our taxi...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Jemma C,

Thank your for your feedback! Also thank you for your comments about the room andthe breakfast. Regarding taxi fee I would like to inform you, the price depends on the traffic and the duration of ride, that could be the answer for the price difference. There is no fix price, just an estimated price we can give you.

Kindest rgeards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,379)
There are newer reviews for Continental Hotel Budapest
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,865 - 1,871 of 4,379 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014

Great location. New, clean, elegant. We splurged for the buffet breakfast and it was a treat. Lots of variety. Fresh and delicious. No problem with the size of the room. Loved the huge mural in a courtyard that you see when walking down the hallway and from the dining room and the gorgeous entry doors, which remain from original building. Concierge wasn't as helpful as she should have been, though she did get us opera tickets on short notice. For some incomprehensible reason she didn't want to tell us how to catch a streetcar but kept insisting we should use hop on hop off all day service. We couldn't persuade her to tell us what we wanted to know. They still have things to learn about hospitality in Budapest, but it's a lovely city and this is a great hotel to use as a base.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lili-du-Village
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Lili-du-Village,

Thank you very much for your high scores, although you have some complaint about our concierge service. I do apologise for that. I hope she (or he?) had only a bad day. Sorry again. On the other side I was happy to read, that you found our breakfast fresh and delicious. We look forward welcoming you again!

KIndest regarards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

A great place for a relaxing week. The hotel is clean and well appointed with very friendly staff. Lovely rooms. Musical entertainment provided by pianist in the foyer bar. Enjoyed the cocktails too! Some impressive Art Deco features restored.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alibobs27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Alibobs27,

I’m very happy that you were so satisfied with our services. Thank you for your nice comments about the staff, the cleanliness, the piano music and the cocktails. Also thank you for your high scores!

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed for a prolonged weekend at the Hotel Zara. The location is quite neat, close to Metro and in walking distance to the inner City, the synagogue or the opera. Nice quarter also. I found the breakfast very good but I do recommend to order extra coffee, which is a lot better than the nescafe from the machines (hint from trip advisor and definitely worth it). The rooms were tiny but neat and unfortunately the pool costs extra 8 Euro, which is a shame considering the former history of the building having been an art deco spa....
Friendly staff, always helpful.
Did not like: Piano Player in the Lounge, she is far too hasty and way from laid back. Since there are plenty very relaxed pianists in Budapest, get another one, it is impossible to relax while this woman is playing her tour de force through bar music...
A little sad, that it was impossible to even get a cup of tea when checking out early in the morning to catch a flight, considering the fact that there is a coffee maker behind the reception desk and the kitchen was already busy.
Still, a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Madita,

First of all I do apologise for the „tour de France” piano evening, I will talk to the lady, she comes tomorrow. The roof top wellness area is a completely new area of the hotel and has nothing to do with the former Hungaria Bath. Only the lobby remained from the ald bath. The entrance fee is only for the most economical wholesaler rates. The aim of it is to make the hotel as attractive as possible to all clients, since not every guest is using it. Regarding coffee in the morning, we put a coffee machine and also some croissant for our „early bird” guest at 06:00 AM, so you have left us probably earlier than that time, I’m very sorry for that. Fyi, there is no coffee machine behind the desk.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

It's a beautiful hotel with friendly staff, the breakfast was expensive so we eat out but there's a lovely little coffee shop just along the road from it that was excellent, it took us a bit to find it and we did get lost every night trying to find it but I think that's just us being a bit dumb? Although getting lost isent so bad as we found some little gems ie bars,cafes,restaurants so I'd highly recommend it!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Aimee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Aimee T,

Firstly thank you for your recommendation and also for your highscores! Regadring breakfast I would like to inform you, we are just working on the implementation of a’la carte breakfast at our Galery Coffee. I hope at your possible next visit you will try it.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Elegant, with modern amenities and very good friendly service. First rate breakfasts, only 15 mins walk to the Danube and 5 to nearest Metro.
Good choice of local restaurants and area felt safe.
Room not over large but perfectly adequate and bathroom good. Recommend asking for room facing inner court yard, we had one and very quiet.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Easibury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Easibury,

Thank you for your feedback, and also thank you for your high scores. It was good to read, that you have enjoyed the breakfast, and the friendly service. We look forward welcoming you again at our hotel!


KIndest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We spent 3 nights in this splendid hotel where the staff was very helpfull, the restaurant excellent and the room very clean and nice! We also enjoyed the overlooking bar and the beautiful frontdoor!
I should recommand it to everybody for a Budapest break!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Machteld2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Machteld2013,

Thank you for the recommendation! I hope you will return, and you will give a chance to serve you on a five point service level!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
4,832 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 333 in Budapest
2,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#16 of 333 in Budapest
7,232 reviews
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Budapest

Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: $91 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Continental Hotel Budapest 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Continental Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing