We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Continental Hotel Budapest
Ranked #42 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed for three nights. On arrival we were quite late but great reception and found our deluxe room (135) was rear courtyard and really you could ask no more. We were told we had been upgraded to a deluxe but that was put right as we had already booked a deluxe. Unfortunately this did not lead to a room higher than deluxe. We loved the room and it was as good as anyone would expect or hope for, tea/coffee, very modern bathroom, good security, loved the beds and the duvets and pillows, very quiet and very resting. The breakfasts we found were excellent, plenty of choice. The hotel has a classy feel from when you enter the revolving door. The area itself feels like old eastern block but it has many bars and restaurants within an easy walk. Expect to pay double the price within the hotel bar to outside which in itself is nothing unusual. Walk to Vorosmarty Square was no more than 20 minutes, the river about the same. We used the free walking tour and then gave a good tip, it was well worth it. The underground was easy to use and close to the hotel. Would definitely return to this hotel if we were to revisit Budapest.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms are very quiet in freezing December.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuchananPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear BuchananPlymouth,

Thank you very much for your high scores, and also thank you for your detailed and commendatory comments about the room and the breakfast. You are right, the outskirts of the hotel needs more development, but you should know, we are in the very middle of the old jewish destrict by the dozen of old and scheduled monument buildings, wich very seriously ties all facilities. And truth to tell, the unique ruin bars have a really big magnetism. I hope you will return once at the summer time as well.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,011 - 2,017 of 4,524 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2013

We were looking forward to our stay at this hotel given the recent reviews - we weren't disappointed!

Check in was efficient and we were upgraded to a deluxe room - nice.

The room was really good - comfortable big bed, big bathroom with a decent shower. The only minor gripe was that the quilts in the room were a tad on the small side and singles - personal preference but I prefer a double sized big one, but doesn't everyone.

The breakfast was great - no problem getting a table and always a good selection of foods on offer. Nice sitting in the bar / lobby with a regular piano player and even a singer on one occasion.

The location of the hotel is really good - central enough to walk places and near the metro line if you prefer. Some good eating places nearby as well as some of the famous ruin pubs.

All in all a great stay in a lovely hotel - even better when I think how much we paid per night !

Room Tip: Upper floor - very little street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Destinationdick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear 186349Richard,

I was very satisfied to read your positive review. Many thanks for it! Lucky you for the good deal or the value for money was too good?

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Cant really fault the hotel for the price we paid (got a cracking deal as it was mid-week) but wouldnt want to be paying the full whack!

The hotel itself is brand spanking and a lovely place to stay. Ultra modern but with some fantastic features and the best part is the location. Front desk staff were efficient and polite, but did seem to rush me along when they realised I was not going to take the hotel taxi everywhere (€12 more each-way expensive for airport transers than bookinbudapest). Breakfast wasnt something we went for - Budapest has so much going on and is so inexpensive that the hotel price just seemed silly to pay.

Everything we asked for we got however and I would definately try to stay here if we visited again. Perfect for business or couples.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuAndClareAndBump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear StuAndClareAndBump,

Thank you for your stay and also thank you for your review. I’m very sorry to read that you have had some bad treats with the breakfast and with the taxi prices. I hope you will return once and we will be able to serve you again. We wish to have five points from you as well.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I'd highly recommend this hotel, for a city break or business. It is in a great location for getting to two of the three metro lines, close to two supermarkets and several nice restaurants (including its own very nice ARAZ restaurant) and was excellent value for money.
The whole hotel has had a recent refurbishment and looks beautiful. The rooms are very modern and very comfortable. We found the hotel staff all very friendly and helpful.

All round a great value hotel, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K2Dunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear K2Dunc,

Firstly thank you for your high scores. Also thank you very much for all of your comments about the hotel, about the rooms and the staff, but especially your appreciation of our ARAZ Restaurant.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

.. and great sleep after exhausting meetings!

The service is great, rooms are clean and tidy and very modern. I really enjoyed my business trip as if I was on holidays :)

Just wanted to thank you again for amasing week and really good prices!

All the best!

Ivana

Room Tip: You ll not make mistake with any room you chose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Ivana,

Thank you for your nice review. I’m very happy that even your business was as good as one of your holiday. It is really a big compliment for us.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We were really pleased with this hotel. It is a beautiful hotel, very clean with personnel that is really professional and helpful. The price of the room was really good (for 5 nights 10-15 th of December 240 €). Its location was also very good since it is in a short walking distance from major streets that made our life very easy when moving around the city.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank CoupleFromFinland_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear CoupleFromFinland_10,

Thank you for your nice words about the location and the professional and helpful personnel. Good to read that you were satisfied with the cleanliness of the hotel. I hope you will return to us in the summer time too. Toivotan teille hyvää joulua ja onnellista uutta vuotta!


Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Exclusive hotel. Very comfortable and nice clean rooms. Great service from the moment u enter the hotel. Superb spa area with one indoor and one outside rooftop pool ( amazing views and cool sunbeds). Close to the city center, just few steps from the jewish district. Perfect hotel for the city trip and also great value for money. I truly recommend it!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank zoffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear zoffen,

Thank you for your “truly recommendation”, as a General Manager I couldn’t wish more. Also thank you for your high scores. Dziękuję bardzo!

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 336 in Budapest
4,990 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#17 of 336 in Budapest
7,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#31 of 336 in Budapest
3,550 reviews
K+K Hotel Opera
#41 of 336 in Budapest
3,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Budapest

Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: $82 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Continental Hotel Budapest 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Continental Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing