We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Continental Hotel Budapest
Ranked #45 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My mother and I spent 6 nights in Budapest and it was our first visit so we didn't know much. We got bumped up to a junior suite almost as soon as we got there, and the concierge who dealt with us, Levante, was fantastic throughout the week, advising us on what to see, on various cultural activities which were taking place during our stay. As a result we had an unforgettable week and coming back to the hotel, clean, efficient and comfortable was wonderful. We walked everywhere and the Jewish quarter where the hotel is located is very entertaining. Breakfast in the hotel was perfect and very copious. Overall a welcoming, but sophisticated, warm and professional place to stay.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Oceanbaby99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Oceanbaby99,

Thank you very much for your rather long stay! I’am very happy that you have so much enjoyed your stay! I will personally congratulate to Levente for his excellent job! It is good to know that we have such a professional team.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,558)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,071 - 2,077 of 4,558 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights to celebrate our silver anniversary. The buffet breakfast was amazing with all kinds of hot and cold food and it was constantly replaced. There were plenty of waiters and waitresses to clear the tables fast and efficiently as the restaurant was very busy with business people and tourists. The room was of adequate size as it had a 6ft bed but clean and comfortable with goose down duvet and pillows. The staff were very helpful especially when checking out as we had not prebooked the shuttle bus to the airport but this was organised without any fuss. The hotel was excellently located, just a few minutes walk to the stops for all the hop-on hop off buses and the night tour bus. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123Margaret4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear 123Margaret4711,

Firstly congratulations for your silver wedding anniversary! Reading your review I am sure, you will remember this visit for a long time. Thank you for your nice comments about the staff both at the restaurant and at the reception. I hope you will not wait with your next visit to our hotel with your gold anniversary!

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The hotel is well maintained and situated in the Jewish Quarter within easy walking distance of Vachy Street with it's wide variety of shops and eating establishments. I had booked a deluxe room and also a standard room for our two daughters for 4 nights. Upon arrival the staff had upgraded the standard room to a deluxe room free of charge and also on our second night there a bottle of wine was provided in our room by the hotel management gratis as I had mentioned to the lady on reception that we were on holiday to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary. The buffet breakfast was excellent with a wide selection of cereals, fruit, cold meats, breads and hot fare. I wouldn't hesitate at all in staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are larger than the standard rooms, have tea and coffee making facilities and dress...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Derek R,

Congratulations again for your wedding anniversary! I hope your whole big family has a lot of nice memories about our beautiful city as well. Thank you for your nice comments about the rooms and about the breakfast. I hope you will resound one of your future holiday with us again.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Booked this hotel via trivago for £50 a night and got way more than we paid for. Most of the positive reviews here are correct. The service we had was excellent, our bags were taken to our room, our wardrobe door came off the rails but a handyman came in 3mins to fix it. The room and bathroom was slightly small for a 4* Superior but very well decorated and that was the only fault we had. If you want a bigger room, pay the extra for it and it will still be worth it. Although the hotel is located in a lively area, we had no problems with noise. You do have to pay for the wellness centre on top of your room rate but at 8 euros a visit I think that is still good value overall. The cafe on the balcont was very good with a range of beers, coffees and cakes. Breakfast was very good with a good selection of both cold and hot food. If in Budapest again, I would book this hotel without any question. If we can find more hotels of theirs elsewhere, we will book them too.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Busker999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Busker599,

Thank you for all of your commendatory comments! After all you are a Top Contributor of Tripadvisor. I’am very proud that our hotel got one of your excellent reviews! Good to know that you have chosen your Budapest hotel after reading several other reviews, I hope you will have more followers.


Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The nice looking images from the websites did match the reality! Very helpful and friendly staff.

Close to the metro.

The massage was very good and the restaurant has a surprisingly high level of service.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Jacob B,

Thank you for your short but all-in review. I’ am very happy that you were satisfied with all the major services of the hotel: staff, wellness and restaurant. I couldn’t wish more…

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I'm not an avid trip advisor reviewer but I felt compelled to submit a review for the Zara hotel following a fabulous 3 night stay over the weekend gone by (7th to 10th Nov). It would be difficult to capture all the positives in a single review but ill pick out some highlights. From entering the lobby on Thurs eve to the bedroom, "wellness centre", bar etc - everything was top notch. We opted for the package which included Breakfast and use of the wellness centre and we we're so glad we did. The breakfast buffet was as expansive and impressive as I have ever seen with every possible taste catered for. On our last day, we were going out to the Baths and asked if it was possible to delay check out - no problem - girl at desk just asked "until what time?". The hotel is in a nice enough area and within walking distance of many good restaurants and bars so suited us down to the ground.

Being from Ireland, we are quite spoiled with hotels and service levels IMO. However the Hungarians moved this up a level with excellent food, overly generous portion sizes and fantastic service at every touch point if the stay.

Highly recommend to anyone visiting Budapest. It was our first visit to the city and we definitely plan to go back - and we won't be looking at other hotels.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank mcardlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear mcardlem,

Firstly thank you for your brilliant review title, some travelers are just glance down the titles to have a general impression about the hotel. On the other side, one of the most important message of your review, that the level of our service has aging the reputation of the Hungarian hospitality.

Thank you for that. I hope you will keep your promise and you will definitely return to us!

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed there for one night and was satisfied: location in the city center, nice breakfast and rooms. If you would like to try Hungarian cuisine some restaurants are just few steps. Reception stuff speak English very well and ready to help you with anything: call a taxi, give you some advice about the city and etc.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear John S,

Thank you that your first Tripadvisor review is about us and despite you gave us “only” four points. I was good to read that you were satisfied with the reception staff. I hope you will return to us at your next visit to Europe as well.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 336 in Budapest
5,042 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#29 of 336 in Budapest
3,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#18 of 336 in Budapest
7,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Budapest

Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: $68 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Continental Hotel Budapest 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Continental Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing