We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish stay in busy Budapest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Continental Hotel Budapest
Ranked #40 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013

A stylish hotel on a seedy street. We chose this particular hotel for the great reviews-it can't help the street its on! Well appointed rooms (apart from having no tea and coffee facilities) and lovely relaxing atrium with a grand piano that is played during the evening. Staff-excellent and knowledgeable. Although it is a large hotel the room was very quiet unlike breakfast time! Excellent range of food offered.There is a rooftop swimming pool and also one inside. Well located but a good ten minute walk to the centre and 15-20 from the River. Would recommend the hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LezliC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your post. I am sorry to read that the neighbourhood was not at your taste. I agree it does not look like very ellegant or grandious, but unlike the outlook of all these old houses the inner courts are real gems and especially in the evenings are the entertainment centre of Budapest. I hope you have visited some of the famous ruin pubs during your stay.
Many thanks for recommending our hotel.

Thanks and regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,051 - 2,057 of 4,452 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

The hotel arranged a taxi from the airport which delivered us from the 38 degree heat through the wonderful copper revolving doors into the air conditioned lobby where we were greeted by the friendly and efficient reception team.

Attila showed us to our room and pointed out the facilities. The room was compact but not small. Everything in the room was good quality and in as new condition.

We ate in the restaurant as we had arrived late. Again the service was impeccable. The food wasn't half bad either!

Refreshed and recuperated we descended for our morning breakfast and were presented with a huge selection of delicacies.

The immediate surroundings of the hotel look a little grotty but this is probably an "up and coming" area as they say.

It's 10 mins walk to the Astoria tube station (and the Tizca Cipo shop!) and 15-20 mins to the river.

We'd certainly stay here again if we return to Budapest

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kommensiecake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

I am very greatful how you have described your arrival and your stay in our hotel. It shows that you were satisfied with the room, with the service, with the restaurant and even with the location. Reading such a nice review me and my colleagues are all very proud for the hotel and for the service we provide.
I hope you will really return to us in the near future and stay with us.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Gorgeous hotel with lovely helpful staff. Excellent location 20- 30 min walk to all attractions. Lots of great bars and eating places nearby. Allowed to keep room till 2 pm on day of departure at no extra cost. Didn't have dinner as only there a few days but menu looked good- breakfast was plentiful and well organised. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HolidayloverGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your time to rate our hotel. Your praises and objective observations are real asset in promoting our hotel on Tripadvisor.

Thanks for it and please come back into our hotel!

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Three night stay - arrived early and were pleased to be able to check into our rooms before heading off to explore. Reception staff very friendly. Rooms small but everything you need (ask for tea/coffee) . Breakfast selection wide but be aware it is busy. Gallery bar was excellent for cocktails and loved the Art Deco / mural / artwork. Location is absolutely fine if reasonably mobile - app 15 minutes walk from centre.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your excellent review. Reading all your compliments I did not quite understand your scores. If guest speak up or read our Guest Service Directory in the room they can easily get tea/coffee making facility even in the standard rooms (in higher category rooms it is part of the amenities).

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed for five nights in September at the Hotel the staff were exeptionally friendly and helpful. The reception is very smart and they have a mesanine level bar which overlooks the reception area, Its a great place for a cocktail and they are reasonably priced for such a nice hotel. We Definately recommend you try one.The rooms are a good size and very clean and well thought out, with well designed ensuite. The breakfast was the best ever with everything you could possibly desire to eat and the girl who welcomed you in was exceptional. The hotel is in a fairly central area with easy access to bars and resturants and Its also close to the trams and metro. So a very good base to get around Budapest. We were very impressed.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

I am imprressed too by your kind review. I was also happy when I read how satisfied you were with the hotel, with hte room, with its location and - what I am very proud of - with the cleaniness.

Many thanks for your feedback and best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have just returned from four nights in Budapest and can thoroughly recommend Continental Hotel Zara. It is in the Jewish quarter and a good location to access all parts of the city. It is a thoroughly modern hotel created in a magnificent historic building which had been one of the many spa baths. We were very fortunate and were given a delux room which was spacious, light and had every convenience, however, some of the standard rooms looked very tight. Breakfast was an enormous buffet with everything you could possibly want to eat. We enjoyed cocktails in the delightful bar every evening. The staff could not have been more charming and helpful and recommendations for sightseeing, restaurants etc were first class. A memorable stay.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a delux room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

It is so complimenting to read when a guest is satisfied with the service and with the facilities. I was delighted to read that the room size was adequate to your needs and you could enjoy our lavish breakfast too.

Thanks for the recommendation and kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here in July Five nights bed & breakfast, it really is a Beautiful Hotel with lots of history. The staff were extremely helpful & polite. We had a lovely room the en suite was beautiful with a bath as well. Quite central 15 minutes walk down to the Danube. The only downside was the use of the pool & roof terrace was extra 8 euros per person per day, I didn't realise it was extra when I booked. I had booked through Jet2 & I was told at the reception that it was because Jet2 buy the rooms at a cheap price & they charge extra for the pool & roof terrace. To be fair we had bought the package from Jet2 hotel & flights for a very reasonable price, we still felt we had got great value for money. We did use the pool & roof terrace one day spent the morning & went back up early evening it was very nice. Budapest is an amazing city, We would like to come back in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaribbeanGirlRedcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your kind review. I hope the entrance fee to the wellness centre did not cause you such a big problem since you seemed to be enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, the very reasonable rate of Jet2.com dos not include the wellness and it is clearly published in the terms and conditions. I am very sorry to hear that you have realized it on the spot only.

Nevertheless I am very gratfeul for your review and for the high scores.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,910 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#15 of 334 in Budapest
7,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
K+K Hotel Opera
#41 of 334 in Budapest
3,303 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#14 of 334 in Budapest
2,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Budapest

Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: $86 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Continental Hotel Budapest 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Splitty, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Continental Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing