We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Continental Hotel Budapest
Nearby Hotels
$236
$224
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$117
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$116
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$632
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$591
$571
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$269
$202
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$162
$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$118
$112
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$177
$156
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,628)
Filter reviews
4,628 results
Traveler rating
2,585
1,630
316
64
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,585
1,630
316
64
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolcontinental zaraaraz restaurantgallery bargreat hotelrevolving doorjewish quarterwellness centredeluxe roomszimpla kertruin barspillow menutop floorcity breakthe riverspa facilitiesbars and restaurants
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,267 - 2,272 of 4,628 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I stayed here with my MBA cohort. The staff members are wonderful. Three of the staff in particular were extraordinarily helpful. Najat, Gyula and Adam directed me to great restaurants, ruin pubs, and helped arranged for visits to the Gellert and Szechenyi baths.

Watching the sun set from the roof top in a pool is absolutely amazing. The breakfast and BBQ party is delicious. I wish I could stay longer!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

many thanks for your kind review especially in the names you highlighted. It is always very complimenting to read if a guest receives personal care and attention. I was happy to read also, how much you liked our USP the roof top swimming pool with hte breathtaking view on the city.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

I have no idea what kind of people have given this hotel good rating. Either they are friends of the owners/getting very very cheap rates/or has little idea about what a good hotel looks like. We entered the room and it was stinking of stale a. We had to open all windows but it quite does not help. The room size is tiny and dingy. We are paying more than €100 a night for a little box. Although we specified that we want a double room, they have us a twin room. I just checked in and am very disappointed at the size of the room vs the price we are paying per night - in a city where a can ride of 25Km takes € 20! Very very disappointing place.....pls think about value for money before you book this hotel... pls...

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheroo_Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your emotionally overheated review. I hope even you cannot seriously think that the owner can write more than 1200 positive reviews and/or can so many guests pay cheap rates. I am afraid your problem is rather with the size of the room and not with the twin rooms (which was actually booked) and could definitely not with the stinking of stale. We have extra offered you a higher category room with more space and amenities for a surcharge but it was ignored. Wish I had known what you mean on a ride for 20 euros!
I sincerely hope the fruit basket as a gesture of the management for the birthday upon arrival was a surprise and was appreciated. Nevertheless your room rate is also far less than 100 euros.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay, the staff were ultra friendly and helpful. Good position for bars restaurants. and an easy walk to pick up the hop on hop off bus. Room compact but clean and nicely furnished, could have paid more for a larger one, choose not to quite happy for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lotusengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for your feedback. I was happy to read that you liked the location and the friendly staff. Yes, in the city center the size of the standard rooms are sometimes not quite spacious, but we do have several other room types as well.


Thanks for your high scores and best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed here with a friend on a 3 night city break. Fantastic hotel, rooftop pool and spa, plus seperate indoor pool and gym- extra charge payable of 8 euros a day. Gorgeous cocktail bar upstairs too, with well priced wide range of drinks, plus desserts & free nuts/sweets! Buffet breakfast choice was amazing- fresh orange juice you can squeeze yourself! Room was clean with tasteful decor, good complimentary toiletries. Hotel in back streets of old town, close to many bars and restaurants and a short walk from the bridges. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lulucane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

thanks a lot for your detailed review and for going to raptures over our facilities. I also appreciate your kind recommendation and hopefully next time we will receive the highest scores after so many compliments.

Thanks and regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Ideal location in Budapest, close to city centre (only 10 minute walk). Rooms were clean and spacious. Great breakfast set up for you, plenty of choice. Opposite the hotel is a ruin bar, where I would often have an afternoon beer or two. All restaurants and bars are close by.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James-nh03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

many thanks for your feedback. It sounds great how you enjoyed you stay with us and how much you liked the breakfast and the surroundings.

I am especially greatful for all of your ticks!

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews